We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would say the owners are very rude (SPECIFICALLY the lady owner)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Buffalo Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would say the owners are very rude (SPECIFICALLY the lady owner)”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The place could be relly great. I didnt get to see the deluxe cabins, but stayed in one of the camper cabins. If the deluxe is a step up from the camper cabins it will need to be a major step! The camper cabins are small and the beds are as far from comfort as you could get. I can say the staff was relly great till i dealt with the owners. They could not keep track of any thing between them and both wanted me to pay my bill several times after i had payed it! After staying, paying for parking ($3 a day), and shuttle for floating the buffalo it all added up to several hundred dollars. Once
we were done i went to get my truck keys from the office (and i owed no more money) the lady owner gave me a talking to for taking to long on the shuttle 3 days before that! Im warning you if you CAN stay anywere else you should! That is unless you like places that just take your hard earned money in return for substandered facilities and rudeness.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floater13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Olwell, Owner at White Buffalo Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We’re truly sorry to hear that you left our establishment under these circumstances. Hospitality is our number one goal and we do absolutely everything within our power to make sure our customers are happy and feel that their hard-earned money is being spent wisely. We unfortunately find ourselves a little short staffed after an employee quit unexpectedly a few weeks ago- the only reason making grocery stops during a float trip shuttle would cause alarm in our office. We’re running a little ragged these days, and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have felt. Please feel free to e-mail us directly at whitebuffaloresort@gmail.com and we will set you up with a free full day jonboat rental the next time you’re in our area. We hope that you’ll give us another opportunity to prove our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The best and only place to stay on the White!! The cabins are located right on the river. The bluff is is amazingly beautiful. And cannot even begin to say enough great things about the owners, John and Eileen and their staff. No need to look anywhere else this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuggerFishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been going White Buffalo resort for the last three years and the guys I go with have been coming here for 10 years. This resort is awesome, the scenery is absolutely beautiful. The staff is excellent and very helpful. Whether you are a pro fisherman or this is your first time they will accommodate you in every way. You don't have to worry about being a expert fisherman the staff will set you up with everything you need. We usually get a guide that takes us up river and lets us off at the resort at the end of the day. The guides White Buffalo Resort works with are great, they do everything for you. You literally fish all day and never touch a fish as the guides will bait your hook and take the fish off for you. We also generally rent a boat right from the dock at White Buffalo and fish a day or two without a guide. Either way you go you will be guaranteed to have fun trip you will remember forever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been coming to The White Buffalo Resort for over 25 years and I can say without any doubt that this place is truly Heaven on Earth. The resort is at the confluence of the White and Buffalo Rivers with beautiful 600 foot bluffs right in front of the resort and a magnificent view of the river from the porch of your cabin.
The resort has several very nice cabins to choose from. All are well furnished and equiped for cooking (fresh caught Trout) or just relaxing and watching the Bald Eagles catching trout from the river. The Trout fishing here can not be understated.....come prepared to catch lots of Trout!!
The resort is owned and operated by John and Eileen Olwell who do a fantastic job of making sure you feel like you are their only guest and are always there on site to make sure your experience is relaxing and fun.
The resort has a boat dock with boat rentals, fishing guides and a full time dock attendant, Joey, who makes sure all of your needs and safety issues are met.
I have been to a lots of places that are very beautiful; however, this is still my favorite place on earth.....I just keep coming back year after year.
Once you get there you won't want to leave and go back to the real world!

Room Tip: All the cabins are great but, because of the location of the resort in the mountains, there is no go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkansastraeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for a company retreat and had a PHENOMENAL time! It is set on one of the most beautiful spots on the river - clear water, huge bluffs, and lots of fish! The owners were very friendly and helpful too. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

While having used their shuttle service for kayaking/ canoeing down the White River, my husband and I took a camp/float trip based from here last summer and it was great!
The resort was able to accommodate our 32' travel trailer away from the regular RV spots. We were right on the river, had a huge tree stump and a large boulder for tables- it was really neat!

Our weekend was very quiet, the staff is really very pleasant, and if we'd had our kids with us, I know they would have loved the pool. The staff even drove our truck with our kayaks to our put-in for a small charge, which was nice. No need to go back for that other car or ride the shuttle bus, and that was pretty awesome.

The bluffs, the river, the beauty of the land the resort is on... I feel so lucky to live nearby such an amazing get away, and hope to take the family soon!

Room Tip: You can choose from a furnished Vacation Home, a small camper cabin, or rv and primitive camping sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiyaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is amazing we had a group of 9 the came up from all over the south and spent 2 great days and Fishing and relaxing. The Rainbow and Smallmouth fishing was great and so were the accommodations. The setting makes this place seem more remote than it is and the fact there no cell phone service is even BETTER.Thanks for sharing such a beautiful place with us and the fire pits are great.we are already planning a return trip, I can't wait.. See ya soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Home
13.3 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#5 of 16 in Mountain Home
429 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
280 reviews
11.3 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
320 reviews
20.4 mi away
Norfork Lake Ozark Mountain Lodge
15.3 mi away
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
#5 of 5 in Lakeview
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Buffalo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Resort

Property: White Buffalo Resort
Address: 418 White Buffalo Trl, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mountain Home
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Buffalo Resort rents 9 riverfront cedar log Cabins & Lodges, 6 Camper Cabins, 7 shady Full Hook-Up RV sites & 17 Campsites all overlooking the beautiful White River. We rent jonboats, canoes and kayaks. Whether you come for the legendary trout fishing or the premier small mouth fishing or just to escape to the beauty of the Ozarks, you'll make memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing