We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suberb!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Suberb!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for a Leadership Retreat. We had codo accomodations. There were two bedroom condos, each bedroom had a bathroom. The condo was spacious, and top notch. Super cute were the little towel creatures created on the beds.
The service was great, we had the food that was catered at the convention area, and it was delicious! Their guaacamole was especially great!
We had rain, since it was September, but I could imagine this place would be amazing in the summer.
The pool, although we didn't swim, was the cleanest bluest pool ever.
Very great stay, can't wait to bring family here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
298
134
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've been going to Mountain Harbor Resort for years and always have an exceptional experience, regardless of the season. After traveling to many beautiful places in the world, Mountain Harbor has a special place in our hearts. The resort is surround by natural beauty of the Ouachita National Forest and is situated on the shoreline of Lake Ouachita. The lake is pristine clear water and is considered the cleanest in America. The resort is family operated, their staff is very accommodating and they always make sure that anything we would need would be taken care. The staff is not only very well train, but their professionalism is exceeded in every detail. They have accommodations for every budget. We prefer to stay in the Harbor North overlooking the lake but the condominiums are also very nice. We did not have a chance to stay in the lodge but the rooms have recently been refurbish. Cottages provide luxurious comfort, they are gracefully decorated in rustic style and the kitchens are completely furnish. The beds are very comfortable and that is very important for us. Great view of lake from the huge deck, complete with furniture, grill and a large hot tub. The deck provides great views of the sunset and sunrise. Cleaning staff alway does a good job. We enjoy the Pavilion, located on a little peninsula overlooking the lake. One time we had a concert for about hundred people there. Again, the staff was very helpful. Because of its beautiful location, the Pavilion can be used for weddings and family gatherings. There are a lot of things to do around Mountain Harbor like horseback riding, nature trails, crystal hunting and the main attraction, the lake. The Marina is centrally located with a floating store and a Subway restaurant. It's great to be able to grab a quick bite to eat and sit in the marina overlooking lake. Summers are always busy but you still can relax and have a good time. The Marina is well equipped with ski boats, party barges and anything you would need on the lake. If you need something bigger you can rent houseboat for few days and that is a lot of FUN. Not as expensive as most people think. The restaurant provides decent food, their catfish is really tasty (I am not crazy about fry food). Just remember, if you enjoy wine or beer you have to buy it on your way into Mountain Harbor, the entire county is dry. If you are concerned about safety, the MHR is very safe but like anywhere else don't leave anything in your car in plain view. I've seen security driving around and walking on the dock, day and night. Never had any problems. On few occasions, we had the opportunity to enjoy spa treatments in Turtle cove spa. It looks rustic outside but has lovely interior and top notch equipment. Always had great massages and other treatments. Staying in MHR will make you feel like your visiting long lost family, always relaxing and the best time ever! When you stay there you will daily see the owner with simple name tag, Bill. We had the pleasure of talking with him on many occasions. He made us feel like family right away. Our only regret is we don't spent enough time in Mountain Harbor. I should written this review a long time ago but I don't like crowds but I have to be fair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zdenek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

our family stayed at the Lodge and rented a boat with driver to take us out on Beautiful Lake Ouchita in Mountain Harbor. totally worth the drive to Mt Ida, Arkansas. the pristine water, untouched lake surrounded by national Forrest. we will certainly go back. the restaurant was good. Next time I hope to have a cabin with kitchen and or grill so I don't have to eat there every day. but it was great. I also recommend the subway for a quick and easy breakfast sandwich. First time fishing for our boy and he loved it. hoping to go back for another Fall or spring weekend getaway! thank you mountain harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Mountain Harbor is off the beaten path, but if you find it, you won't be sorry. The food, lodging and staff combine for the perfect weekend getaway or vacation. Understand you are nowhere near the amenities of urban life, but if you seek a pastoral retreat with swimming, boating, fishing, hiking or time in a world-class spa, Mountain Harbor is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRHappyWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We love it that you really get us! We hope that you cwill return soon....and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a pleasant stay at Mountain Harbor. The amenities are great and the ease of getting around the resort is excellent. There's not a bad view from any of the facilities. The food at the restaurant was very good. We stayed in a cottage which was clean, and had everything we needed to feel like home. We grilled on the back deck and enjoyed the jacuzzi. We cooked indoors and enjoyed movies on the big flat screen at night with our kids. The lake is by far the most beautiful I have ever put my boat on. No matter where you on the lake the views are amazing. Ultra clean water and deep, cool coves offer a peaceful float or rip up the calm waters tubing and wake boarding. The only suggestion i have would be to add some outdoor ceiling fans on the decks of the cottages. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Not a bad view from any of the facilities. Cottages have everything you need to feel like its home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WGreg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this terrific review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The lake is so beautiful, isn't it? After your departure, we noticed that the fan on the deck was missing and we have replaced that. Now you just need to come back and sit in the breeze with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My family first visited Mountain Harbor Resort on gorgeous Lake Ouachita near Hot Springs, Arkansas in 2007 for a weekend wilderness trip - boating, fishing, trail riding. We were immediately charmed by the family-oriented, village-like charm Mountain Harbor offers. So much so, that in 2008, we purchased a home in Harbor South one of the resorts' cozy neighborhoods surrounded by the pristine Ouachita National Forest. In addition to being steps away from one of the clearest and most untouched lakes in the country, Mountain Harbor has provided our family with a TRUE home away from home. Swimming pools, pavillions for parties, trails to hike or trails to ride, a full-service marina, a fantastic gourmet restaurant, a beautiful spa - all designed to enrich our experience at Mountain Harbor. Special community events at July 4th, Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and even a "blessing of the fleet" on the water the first official weekend of boating season have endeared this special place to our family. The staff at the Lodge Restaurant, the security personnel, the spa crew - all of them - go out of their way to say hello and make us feel special in so many ways. We have formed lifelong friendships as a result of our years at Mountain Harbor, and we are so happy that our daughter, and some day her family, will carry on the traditions we have started. If you haven't thought about Arkansas for a vacation, you should, and you should come visit Mountain Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFrazior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Wow! This is more than a review - it's a beautiful story about your family and we love it! Many of our staff have been here for over 30 years and it is our pleasure and our honor to have the privilege of serving fine families just like yours! Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented a two bedroom, two bath condo, and received a great rate as one of their summer package specials. The condo (22B NC) has a wooded view, which was very lovely from the deck. The condo itself was nicely kept, though a little older. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the housekeeping staff left a good supply of towels and washcloths. They also did a great job cleaning, as everything looked wonderful when we arrived! Overall, the lodge/restaurant staff was helpful. The restaurant food is very good, food portions for dinner are very large, and they will package for carry out or delivery. As we were there to dig in the local mines, this was very convenient, because on a couple of days we were just tired and ready for showers and food without going to eat in the restaurant in the evening. Watch their website for their package deals, and their FB page for last-minute specials. We enjoyed our stay there, and would recommend it to others! This would be a great place for a large family group to stay together, as some of the condos adjoin, and some of the rentals are large enough for a family group. With the location on the lake, and proximity to the local mines, there is plenty to do...fish, boat, jet ski, kayak, horseback ride, dig for quartz crystals, and hike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for being our guests and thank you for your wonderful review! We love it when folks find our deals and packages on line and take advantage of the great savings. You should come back this fall - we have some more really great deals! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
22.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
22.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
#1 of 1 in Hot Springs Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Property: Mountain Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957-1268
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing