We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
582
84
31
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
582
84
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake ouachitamountain harborhorseback ridinghot tubboat rentalsfamily reunionfishing guidegreat view of the lakecatfishguest roomsrelaxing stayback porchhome away from homethe cottagescondolodgepati
Filter
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 714 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a pleasant stay at Mountain Harbor. The amenities are great and the ease of getting around the resort is excellent. There's not a bad view from any of the facilities. The food at the restaurant was very good. We stayed in a cottage which was clean, and had everything we needed to feel like home. We grilled on the back deck and enjoyed the jacuzzi. We cooked indoors and enjoyed movies on the big flat screen at night with our kids. The lake is by far the most beautiful I have ever put my boat on. No matter where you on the lake the views are amazing. Ultra clean water and deep, cool coves offer a peaceful float or rip up the calm waters tubing and wake boarding. The only suggestion i have would be to add some outdoor ceiling fans on the decks of the cottages. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Not a bad view from any of the facilities. Cottages have everything you need to feel like its home away from home.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGreg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this terrific review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The lake is so beautiful, isn't it? After your departure, we noticed that the fan on the deck was missing and we have replaced that. Now you just need to come back and sit in the breeze with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My family first visited Mountain Harbor Resort on gorgeous Lake Ouachita near Hot Springs, Arkansas in 2007 for a weekend wilderness trip - boating, fishing, trail riding. We were immediately charmed by the family-oriented, village-like charm Mountain Harbor offers. So much so, that in 2008, we purchased a home in Harbor South one of the resorts' cozy neighborhoods surrounded by the pristine Ouachita National Forest. In addition to being steps away from one of the clearest and most untouched lakes in the country, Mountain Harbor has provided our family with a TRUE home away from home. Swimming pools, pavillions for parties, trails to hike or trails to ride, a full-service marina, a fantastic gourmet restaurant, a beautiful spa - all designed to enrich our experience at Mountain Harbor. Special community events at July 4th, Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and even a "blessing of the fleet" on the water the first official weekend of boating season have endeared this special place to our family. The staff at the Lodge Restaurant, the security personnel, the spa crew - all of them - go out of their way to say hello and make us feel special in so many ways. We have formed lifelong friendships as a result of our years at Mountain Harbor, and we are so happy that our daughter, and some day her family, will carry on the traditions we have started. If you haven't thought about Arkansas for a vacation, you should, and you should come visit Mountain Harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFrazior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Wow! This is more than a review - it's a beautiful story about your family and we love it! Many of our staff have been here for over 30 years and it is our pleasure and our honor to have the privilege of serving fine families just like yours! Thank you! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented a two bedroom, two bath condo, and received a great rate as one of their summer package specials. The condo (22B NC) has a wooded view, which was very lovely from the deck. The condo itself was nicely kept, though a little older. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the housekeeping staff left a good supply of towels and washcloths. They also did a great job cleaning, as everything looked wonderful when we arrived! Overall, the lodge/restaurant staff was helpful. The restaurant food is very good, food portions for dinner are very large, and they will package for carry out or delivery. As we were there to dig in the local mines, this was very convenient, because on a couple of days we were just tired and ready for showers and food without going to eat in the restaurant in the evening. Watch their website for their package deals, and their FB page for last-minute specials. We enjoyed our stay there, and would recommend it to others! This would be a great place for a large family group to stay together, as some of the condos adjoin, and some of the rentals are large enough for a family group. With the location on the lake, and proximity to the local mines, there is plenty to do...fish, boat, jet ski, kayak, horseback ride, dig for quartz crystals, and hike.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for being our guests and thank you for your wonderful review! We love it when folks find our deals and packages on line and take advantage of the great savings. You should come back this fall - we have some more really great deals! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. We had never had the pleasure of visiting Lake Ouachita before, and thoroughly enjoyed it with our two older teenagers. We stayed at Mountain Harbor Resort in Mount Ida, in a 2 BR 2 BA (unit 88A ) which was huge! The decor was '80s but immaculate. The balcony view of the lake was beautiful. We arrived on Saturday late afternoon, and just enjoyed the pool and property as well as the benefit concert being held in the nearby public park (think four wheelers and BBQ ribs-- raised lots of $$ for fallen constable families). Homestyle breakfast the next morning was a big hit. We rented jet skis through Dreamchaser, at the marina. On Sunday, we traveled to Ouachita State Park to rent a ski boat with a top (and a much better rate). What a wonderful day! July 8th with only a few boats on the water and the lake almost to ourselves. Incredible! Only the Brady Resort and the Mountain Harbor seem to be visible from the lake. All others are accessible from various coves. We stopped at the restaurant at Crystal Springs for lunch, which was lovely. We'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Condo 88 A is huge with very large living, dining, and kitchen areas. The master and second bedrooms are also very spacious. The unit is the lower left of a four-plex at the end of Turtle Cove. Very short walk to the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family had its reunion here the weekend before the 4th of July. Three families rented homes and one family stayed in the lodge. All of our houses were great and fit our needs perfectly. They were also close in proximity and near the lake. Everything was clean and in good order. Also, the staff was friendly and attentive. One family had an upstairs commode stop up and the staff promptly fixed it and left champagne and a box of chocolates. Another family's choice of lodging had some buckling issues with the den floor and was offered an upgrade to a different house at check-in. All the houses had spacious living areas and decks. Ours was a 3 bedroom/3 bath unit that fit us perfectly. We all ate in the lodge restaurant one night with great results. The food was delicious and the staff handled our large group very well. All agreed that this was the best place we've been for our reunion. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Just call the Lodge staff and they'll help you choose the right lodging for your group.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We love family reunions! Thank you for bringing your family here to Harbor! From all of the staff and families of Harbor, we appreciate your business and we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews