We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure-Must Love Quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure-Must Love Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Mountain Harbor is off the beaten path, but if you find it, you won't be sorry. The food, lodging and staff combine for the perfect weekend getaway or vacation. Understand you are nowhere near the amenities of urban life, but if you seek a pastoral retreat with swimming, boating, fishing, hiking or time in a world-class spa, Mountain Harbor is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRHappyWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We love it that you really get us! We hope that you cwill return soon....and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
298
134
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a pleasant stay at Mountain Harbor. The amenities are great and the ease of getting around the resort is excellent. There's not a bad view from any of the facilities. The food at the restaurant was very good. We stayed in a cottage which was clean, and had everything we needed to feel like home. We grilled on the back deck and enjoyed the jacuzzi. We cooked indoors and enjoyed movies on the big flat screen at night with our kids. The lake is by far the most beautiful I have ever put my boat on. No matter where you on the lake the views are amazing. Ultra clean water and deep, cool coves offer a peaceful float or rip up the calm waters tubing and wake boarding. The only suggestion i have would be to add some outdoor ceiling fans on the decks of the cottages. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Not a bad view from any of the facilities. Cottages have everything you need to feel like its home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WGreg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this terrific review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The lake is so beautiful, isn't it? After your departure, we noticed that the fan on the deck was missing and we have replaced that. Now you just need to come back and sit in the breeze with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My family first visited Mountain Harbor Resort on gorgeous Lake Ouachita near Hot Springs, Arkansas in 2007 for a weekend wilderness trip - boating, fishing, trail riding. We were immediately charmed by the family-oriented, village-like charm Mountain Harbor offers. So much so, that in 2008, we purchased a home in Harbor South one of the resorts' cozy neighborhoods surrounded by the pristine Ouachita National Forest. In addition to being steps away from one of the clearest and most untouched lakes in the country, Mountain Harbor has provided our family with a TRUE home away from home. Swimming pools, pavillions for parties, trails to hike or trails to ride, a full-service marina, a fantastic gourmet restaurant, a beautiful spa - all designed to enrich our experience at Mountain Harbor. Special community events at July 4th, Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and even a "blessing of the fleet" on the water the first official weekend of boating season have endeared this special place to our family. The staff at the Lodge Restaurant, the security personnel, the spa crew - all of them - go out of their way to say hello and make us feel special in so many ways. We have formed lifelong friendships as a result of our years at Mountain Harbor, and we are so happy that our daughter, and some day her family, will carry on the traditions we have started. If you haven't thought about Arkansas for a vacation, you should, and you should come visit Mountain Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFrazior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Wow! This is more than a review - it's a beautiful story about your family and we love it! Many of our staff have been here for over 30 years and it is our pleasure and our honor to have the privilege of serving fine families just like yours! Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented a two bedroom, two bath condo, and received a great rate as one of their summer package specials. The condo (22B NC) has a wooded view, which was very lovely from the deck. The condo itself was nicely kept, though a little older. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the housekeeping staff left a good supply of towels and washcloths. They also did a great job cleaning, as everything looked wonderful when we arrived! Overall, the lodge/restaurant staff was helpful. The restaurant food is very good, food portions for dinner are very large, and they will package for carry out or delivery. As we were there to dig in the local mines, this was very convenient, because on a couple of days we were just tired and ready for showers and food without going to eat in the restaurant in the evening. Watch their website for their package deals, and their FB page for last-minute specials. We enjoyed our stay there, and would recommend it to others! This would be a great place for a large family group to stay together, as some of the condos adjoin, and some of the rentals are large enough for a family group. With the location on the lake, and proximity to the local mines, there is plenty to do...fish, boat, jet ski, kayak, horseback ride, dig for quartz crystals, and hike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for being our guests and thank you for your wonderful review! We love it when folks find our deals and packages on line and take advantage of the great savings. You should come back this fall - we have some more really great deals! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. We had never had the pleasure of visiting Lake Ouachita before, and thoroughly enjoyed it with our two older teenagers. We stayed at Mountain Harbor Resort in Mount Ida, in a 2 BR 2 BA (unit 88A ) which was huge! The decor was '80s but immaculate. The balcony view of the lake was beautiful. We arrived on Saturday late afternoon, and just enjoyed the pool and property as well as the benefit concert being held in the nearby public park (think four wheelers and BBQ ribs-- raised lots of $$ for fallen constable families). Homestyle breakfast the next morning was a big hit. We rented jet skis through Dreamchaser, at the marina. On Sunday, we traveled to Ouachita State Park to rent a ski boat with a top (and a much better rate). What a wonderful day! July 8th with only a few boats on the water and the lake almost to ourselves. Incredible! Only the Brady Resort and the Mountain Harbor seem to be visible from the lake. All others are accessible from various coves. We stopped at the restaurant at Crystal Springs for lunch, which was lovely. We'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Condo 88 A is huge with very large living, dining, and kitchen areas. The master and second bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family had its reunion here the weekend before the 4th of July. Three families rented homes and one family stayed in the lodge. All of our houses were great and fit our needs perfectly. They were also close in proximity and near the lake. Everything was clean and in good order. Also, the staff was friendly and attentive. One family had an upstairs commode stop up and the staff promptly fixed it and left champagne and a box of chocolates. Another family's choice of lodging had some buckling issues with the den floor and was offered an upgrade to a different house at check-in. All the houses had spacious living areas and decks. Ours was a 3 bedroom/3 bath unit that fit us perfectly. We all ate in the lodge restaurant one night with great results. The food was delicious and the staff handled our large group very well. All agreed that this was the best place we've been for our reunion. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Just call the Lodge staff and they'll help you choose the right lodging for your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We love family reunions! Thank you for bringing your family here to Harbor! From all of the staff and families of Harbor, we appreciate your business and we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located in the Ouachita National Forest on Lake Ouachita, thirty minutes from Hot Springs, AR, Mountain Harbor has everything you might be looking for.... boating, fishing, swimming, spa, etc. It is a well maintained and tightly controlled area with rentals spanning from hotel type lodgings to condominiums of various sizes.

Room Tip: Highly recommend one of the North Basin cabins or a condominium owned by the resort. Cabins at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We loved having you with us. Harbor is our home and our family is dedicated to offering the very best in services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have many, many more opportunities to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
22.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
22.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
#1 of 1 in Hot Springs Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Property: Mountain Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957-1268
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing