We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Kept Secret in the South -Mountain Harbor Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in the South -Mountain Harbor Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My family first visited Mountain Harbor Resort on gorgeous Lake Ouachita near Hot Springs, Arkansas in 2007 for a weekend wilderness trip - boating, fishing, trail riding. We were immediately charmed by the family-oriented, village-like charm Mountain Harbor offers. So much so, that in 2008, we purchased a home in Harbor South one of the resorts' cozy neighborhoods surrounded by the pristine Ouachita National Forest. In addition to being steps away from one of the clearest and most untouched lakes in the country, Mountain Harbor has provided our family with a TRUE home away from home. Swimming pools, pavillions for parties, trails to hike or trails to ride, a full-service marina, a fantastic gourmet restaurant, a beautiful spa - all designed to enrich our experience at Mountain Harbor. Special community events at July 4th, Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and even a "blessing of the fleet" on the water the first official weekend of boating season have endeared this special place to our family. The staff at the Lodge Restaurant, the security personnel, the spa crew - all of them - go out of their way to say hello and make us feel special in so many ways. We have formed lifelong friendships as a result of our years at Mountain Harbor, and we are so happy that our daughter, and some day her family, will carry on the traditions we have started. If you haven't thought about Arkansas for a vacation, you should, and you should come visit Mountain Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFrazior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Wow! This is more than a review - it's a beautiful story about your family and we love it! Many of our staff have been here for over 30 years and it is our pleasure and our honor to have the privilege of serving fine families just like yours! Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
298
134
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented a two bedroom, two bath condo, and received a great rate as one of their summer package specials. The condo (22B NC) has a wooded view, which was very lovely from the deck. The condo itself was nicely kept, though a little older. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the housekeeping staff left a good supply of towels and washcloths. They also did a great job cleaning, as everything looked wonderful when we arrived! Overall, the lodge/restaurant staff was helpful. The restaurant food is very good, food portions for dinner are very large, and they will package for carry out or delivery. As we were there to dig in the local mines, this was very convenient, because on a couple of days we were just tired and ready for showers and food without going to eat in the restaurant in the evening. Watch their website for their package deals, and their FB page for last-minute specials. We enjoyed our stay there, and would recommend it to others! This would be a great place for a large family group to stay together, as some of the condos adjoin, and some of the rentals are large enough for a family group. With the location on the lake, and proximity to the local mines, there is plenty to do...fish, boat, jet ski, kayak, horseback ride, dig for quartz crystals, and hike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for being our guests and thank you for your wonderful review! We love it when folks find our deals and packages on line and take advantage of the great savings. You should come back this fall - we have some more really great deals! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. We had never had the pleasure of visiting Lake Ouachita before, and thoroughly enjoyed it with our two older teenagers. We stayed at Mountain Harbor Resort in Mount Ida, in a 2 BR 2 BA (unit 88A ) which was huge! The decor was '80s but immaculate. The balcony view of the lake was beautiful. We arrived on Saturday late afternoon, and just enjoyed the pool and property as well as the benefit concert being held in the nearby public park (think four wheelers and BBQ ribs-- raised lots of $$ for fallen constable families). Homestyle breakfast the next morning was a big hit. We rented jet skis through Dreamchaser, at the marina. On Sunday, we traveled to Ouachita State Park to rent a ski boat with a top (and a much better rate). What a wonderful day! July 8th with only a few boats on the water and the lake almost to ourselves. Incredible! Only the Brady Resort and the Mountain Harbor seem to be visible from the lake. All others are accessible from various coves. We stopped at the restaurant at Crystal Springs for lunch, which was lovely. We'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Condo 88 A is huge with very large living, dining, and kitchen areas. The master and second bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family had its reunion here the weekend before the 4th of July. Three families rented homes and one family stayed in the lodge. All of our houses were great and fit our needs perfectly. They were also close in proximity and near the lake. Everything was clean and in good order. Also, the staff was friendly and attentive. One family had an upstairs commode stop up and the staff promptly fixed it and left champagne and a box of chocolates. Another family's choice of lodging had some buckling issues with the den floor and was offered an upgrade to a different house at check-in. All the houses had spacious living areas and decks. Ours was a 3 bedroom/3 bath unit that fit us perfectly. We all ate in the lodge restaurant one night with great results. The food was delicious and the staff handled our large group very well. All agreed that this was the best place we've been for our reunion. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Just call the Lodge staff and they'll help you choose the right lodging for your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We love family reunions! Thank you for bringing your family here to Harbor! From all of the staff and families of Harbor, we appreciate your business and we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located in the Ouachita National Forest on Lake Ouachita, thirty minutes from Hot Springs, AR, Mountain Harbor has everything you might be looking for.... boating, fishing, swimming, spa, etc. It is a well maintained and tightly controlled area with rentals spanning from hotel type lodgings to condominiums of various sizes.

Room Tip: Highly recommend one of the North Basin cabins or a condominium owned by the resort. Cabins at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We loved having you with us. Harbor is our home and our family is dedicated to offering the very best in services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have many, many more opportunities to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend stay and were very happy with Mountain Harbor. Upon check in, we found that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to slightly larger cabins (C15/C16). The cabins were very spacious and well maintained. It had everything we needed to enjoy a family reunion. The view from the deck was really nice, it was especially neat to see the full moon over the water. The guys at the marina were very helpful - they helped load and unload all of our stuff onto the 29' party barge we had rented for the day. Spending the day on Lake Ouachita was a lot of fun - would definitely recommend a boat rental. The shoreline was really steep and rocky around the cabins. Having smaller children, we wished there had been beach access other than the Joplin Campground. We used the pool near the Lodge, but it would have been nice to have a swimming area closer to the cabins. Overall, we thought everyone at Mountain Harbor was very nice and the accommodations met our needs. We would definitely recommend staying at Mountain Harbor in the Harbor North Cabins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reading glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we were expecting a much more upscale property -- especially for $180 a night in rural Arkansas. It is a throwback to the motels of the 1950s/60s and doesn't look like it's been updated since then. We could have overlooked that fact if we had the beautiful views that were promised, but the views from the rooms in the main lodge overlook the corrugated roofline of the marina, which obscures the natural beauty of the lake and mountains. WAY overpriced for the no-tel motel room. Worth about $59 a night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MM75220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for posting your review. Even though we were very disappointed that you were so unhappy with your room, it’s important that we get feedback from our guests. That’s how we improve our services and facilities.
First of all, let me begin by apologizing. We are so sorry that you didn’t like your unit and felt that it was overpriced and outdated. We so very much wish that we could have had the opportunity to address your disappointment while you were our guests. Nothing feels worse than feeling that you have overcharged or mislead. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the view from your room, and we would have been happy to move you to a different unit with a different view had we only known.
Our property was built in 1955, as you can readily see by the original roofline when you pull up to our Lodge. Many things about Mountain Harbor are very much as they were when our founder, Hal Barnes, first built our Lodge. And, I will say, we like that way. It’s one of the unique qualities of our resort that welcome and delight many of our guests. Under the leadership of Hal’s son, Bill, the Barnes family has worked very hard to maintain Hal’s legacy while updating the things that our guests expect from a great resort. So while the original Lodge calls back to the 1950’s with its exterior design, inside our guest rooms you will find brand new flat screen TV’s, new mini-fridges and microwaves, new AC/heat units, hair dryers, coffee makers and in-room amenities like free wireless internet, coffee, hot cocoa and popcorn. Our comfy bedding and furniture are fairly new, replaced every few years and we pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness and maintenance.
Everyone’s tastes are different and we recognize that what we find charming and full of our own personal history, someone else might find outdated. That’s why we have also built beautiful new, modern condominiums and luxury, rustic cottages.
We saw that you booked your unit on line through our reservations system and you may not have had the advantage of asking one of our staff about the details of what you were reserving. The photos on our website are taken by us with regular cameras of our units and we take great care in making sure that nothing is misleading. In addition to photos of your room on our website, we also have photos of the exact view from your unit. We do have a lot of information on line – photos of all of our cottages, condominiums, studios, cabanas and guest rooms – and if you are looking at everything all at once, it can be confusing if you have not stayed with us before. And…our property is spread out over 950 acres. When you pull up to the Lodge you can only see a small part of our property.
We are very proud of the many wonderful reviews that we have received from Trip Advisor reviewers and we want you to know that we appreciate your review as much as any of them. We know that you were posting your honest feelings about your disappointment – we only wish that you would have given us the opportunity to address those issues while you were here. We never want anyone to come to our resort and be disappointed and we will do whatever it takes to make sure that our guests are happy and taken care of – if we know a problem exists.
We invite you to contact us about your unhappiness with your stay. Even though you have already checked out, you are still one of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us! We would welcome an opportunity to talk to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
22.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
22.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
#1 of 1 in Hot Springs Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Property: Mountain Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957-1268
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing