We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
586
84
31
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
586
84
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake ouachita mountain harbor horseback riding hot tub boat rentals family reunion fishing guide great view of the lake catfish guest rooms relaxing stay back porch home away from home the cottages condo lodge pati
Filter
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 718 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. We had never had the pleasure of visiting Lake Ouachita before, and thoroughly enjoyed it with our two older teenagers. We stayed at Mountain Harbor Resort in Mount Ida, in a 2 BR 2 BA (unit 88A ) which was huge! The decor was '80s but immaculate. The balcony view of the lake was beautiful. We arrived on Saturday late afternoon, and just enjoyed the pool and property as well as the benefit concert being held in the nearby public park (think four wheelers and BBQ ribs-- raised lots of $$ for fallen constable families). Homestyle breakfast the next morning was a big hit. We rented jet skis through Dreamchaser, at the marina. On Sunday, we traveled to Ouachita State Park to rent a ski boat with a top (and a much better rate). What a wonderful day! July 8th with only a few boats on the water and the lake almost to ourselves. Incredible! Only the Brady Resort and the Mountain Harbor seem to be visible from the lake. All others are accessible from various coves. We stopped at the restaurant at Crystal Springs for lunch, which was lovely. We'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Condo 88 A is huge with very large living, dining, and kitchen areas. The master and second bedrooms are also very spacious. The unit is the lower left of a four-plex at the end of Turtle Cove. Very short walk to the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family had its reunion here the weekend before the 4th of July. Three families rented homes and one family stayed in the lodge. All of our houses were great and fit our needs perfectly. They were also close in proximity and near the lake. Everything was clean and in good order. Also, the staff was friendly and attentive. One family had an upstairs commode stop up and the staff promptly fixed it and left champagne and a box of chocolates. Another family's choice of lodging had some buckling issues with the den floor and was offered an upgrade to a different house at check-in. All the houses had spacious living areas and decks. Ours was a 3 bedroom/3 bath unit that fit us perfectly. We all ate in the lodge restaurant one night with great results. The food was delicious and the staff handled our large group very well. All agreed that this was the best place we've been for our reunion. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Just call the Lodge staff and they'll help you choose the right lodging for your group.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We love family reunions! Thank you for bringing your family here to Harbor! From all of the staff and families of Harbor, we appreciate your business and we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located in the Ouachita National Forest on Lake Ouachita, thirty minutes from Hot Springs, AR, Mountain Harbor has everything you might be looking for.... boating, fishing, swimming, spa, etc. It is a well maintained and tightly controlled area with rentals spanning from hotel type lodgings to condominiums of various sizes.

Room Tip: Highly recommend one of the North Basin cabins or a condominium owned by the resort. Cabins at the Lodge are newly renovated, clean but small, pillows and mattresses could be improved on.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We loved having you with us. Harbor is our home and our family is dedicated to offering the very best in services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have many, many more opportunities to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend stay and were very happy with Mountain Harbor. Upon check in, we found that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to slightly larger cabins (C15/C16). The cabins were very spacious and well maintained. It had everything we needed to enjoy a family reunion. The view from the deck was really nice, it was especially neat to see the full moon over the water. The guys at the marina were very helpful - they helped load and unload all of our stuff onto the 29' party barge we had rented for the day. Spending the day on Lake Ouachita was a lot of fun - would definitely recommend a boat rental. The shoreline was really steep and rocky around the cabins. Having smaller children, we wished there had been beach access other than the Joplin Campground. We used the pool near the Lodge, but it would have been nice to have a swimming area closer to the cabins. Overall, we thought everyone at Mountain Harbor was very nice and the accommodations met our needs. We would definitely recommend staying at Mountain Harbor in the Harbor North Cabins.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reading glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we were expecting a much more upscale property -- especially for $180 a night in rural Arkansas. It is a throwback to the motels of the 1950s/60s and doesn't look like it's been updated since then. We could have overlooked that fact if we had the beautiful views that were promised, but the views from the rooms in the main lodge overlook the corrugated roofline of the marina, which obscures the natural beauty of the lake and mountains. WAY overpriced for the no-tel motel room. Worth about $59 a night.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank MM75220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for posting your review. Even though we were very disappointed that you were so unhappy with your room, it’s important that we get feedback from our guests. That’s how we improve our services and facilities.
First of all, let me begin by apologizing. We are so sorry that you didn’t like your unit and felt that it was overpriced and outdated. We so very much wish that we could have had the opportunity to address your disappointment while you were our guests. Nothing feels worse than feeling that you have overcharged or mislead. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the view from your room, and we would have been happy to move you to a different unit with a different view had we only known.
Our property was built in 1955, as you can readily see by the original roofline when you pull up to our Lodge. Many things about Mountain Harbor are very much as they were when our founder, Hal Barnes, first built our Lodge. And, I will say, we like that way. It’s one of the unique qualities of our resort that welcome and delight many of our guests. Under the leadership of Hal’s son, Bill, the Barnes family has worked very hard to maintain Hal’s legacy while updating the things that our guests expect from a great resort. So while the original Lodge calls back to the 1950’s with its exterior design, inside our guest rooms you will find brand new flat screen TV’s, new mini-fridges and microwaves, new AC/heat units, hair dryers, coffee makers and in-room amenities like free wireless internet, coffee, hot cocoa and popcorn. Our comfy bedding and furniture are fairly new, replaced every few years and we pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness and maintenance.
Everyone’s tastes are different and we recognize that what we find charming and full of our own personal history, someone else might find outdated. That’s why we have also built beautiful new, modern condominiums and luxury, rustic cottages.
We saw that you booked your unit on line through our reservations system and you may not have had the advantage of asking one of our staff about the details of what you were reserving. The photos on our website are taken by us with regular cameras of our units and we take great care in making sure that nothing is misleading. In addition to photos of your room on our website, we also have photos of the exact view from your unit. We do have a lot of information on line – photos of all of our cottages, condominiums, studios, cabanas and guest rooms – and if you are looking at everything all at once, it can be confusing if you have not stayed with us before. And…our property is spread out over 950 acres. When you pull up to the Lodge you can only see a small part of our property.
We are very proud of the many wonderful reviews that we have received from Trip Advisor reviewers and we want you to know that we appreciate your review as much as any of them. We know that you were posting your honest feelings about your disappointment – we only wish that you would have given us the opportunity to address those issues while you were here. We never want anyone to come to our resort and be disappointed and we will do whatever it takes to make sure that our guests are happy and taken care of – if we know a problem exists.
We invite you to contact us about your unhappiness with your stay. Even though you have already checked out, you are still one of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us! We would welcome an opportunity to talk to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews