We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
582
84
31
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
582
84
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake ouachitamountain harborhorseback ridinghot tubboat rentalsfamily reunionfishing guidegreat view of the lakecatfishguest roomsrelaxing stayback porchhome away from homethe cottagescondolodgepati
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 714 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend stay and were very happy with Mountain Harbor. Upon check in, we found that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to slightly larger cabins (C15/C16). The cabins were very spacious and well maintained. It had everything we needed to enjoy a family reunion. The view from the deck was really nice, it was especially neat to see the full moon over the water. The guys at the marina were very helpful - they helped load and unload all of our stuff onto the 29' party barge we had rented for the day. Spending the day on Lake Ouachita was a lot of fun - would definitely recommend a boat rental. The shoreline was really steep and rocky around the cabins. Having smaller children, we wished there had been beach access other than the Joplin Campground. We used the pool near the Lodge, but it would have been nice to have a swimming area closer to the cabins. Overall, we thought everyone at Mountain Harbor was very nice and the accommodations met our needs. We would definitely recommend staying at Mountain Harbor in the Harbor North Cabins.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reading glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we were expecting a much more upscale property -- especially for $180 a night in rural Arkansas. It is a throwback to the motels of the 1950s/60s and doesn't look like it's been updated since then. We could have overlooked that fact if we had the beautiful views that were promised, but the views from the rooms in the main lodge overlook the corrugated roofline of the marina, which obscures the natural beauty of the lake and mountains. WAY overpriced for the no-tel motel room. Worth about $59 a night.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank MM75220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer, thank you for posting your review. Even though we were very disappointed that you were so unhappy with your room, it’s important that we get feedback from our guests. That’s how we improve our services and facilities.
First of all, let me begin by apologizing. We are so sorry that you didn’t like your unit and felt that it was overpriced and outdated. We so very much wish that we could have had the opportunity to address your disappointment while you were our guests. Nothing feels worse than feeling that you have overcharged or mislead. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the view from your room, and we would have been happy to move you to a different unit with a different view had we only known.
Our property was built in 1955, as you can readily see by the original roofline when you pull up to our Lodge. Many things about Mountain Harbor are very much as they were when our founder, Hal Barnes, first built our Lodge. And, I will say, we like that way. It’s one of the unique qualities of our resort that welcome and delight many of our guests. Under the leadership of Hal’s son, Bill, the Barnes family has worked very hard to maintain Hal’s legacy while updating the things that our guests expect from a great resort. So while the original Lodge calls back to the 1950’s with its exterior design, inside our guest rooms you will find brand new flat screen TV’s, new mini-fridges and microwaves, new AC/heat units, hair dryers, coffee makers and in-room amenities like free wireless internet, coffee, hot cocoa and popcorn. Our comfy bedding and furniture are fairly new, replaced every few years and we pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness and maintenance.
Everyone’s tastes are different and we recognize that what we find charming and full of our own personal history, someone else might find outdated. That’s why we have also built beautiful new, modern condominiums and luxury, rustic cottages.
We saw that you booked your unit on line through our reservations system and you may not have had the advantage of asking one of our staff about the details of what you were reserving. The photos on our website are taken by us with regular cameras of our units and we take great care in making sure that nothing is misleading. In addition to photos of your room on our website, we also have photos of the exact view from your unit. We do have a lot of information on line – photos of all of our cottages, condominiums, studios, cabanas and guest rooms – and if you are looking at everything all at once, it can be confusing if you have not stayed with us before. And…our property is spread out over 950 acres. When you pull up to the Lodge you can only see a small part of our property.
We are very proud of the many wonderful reviews that we have received from Trip Advisor reviewers and we want you to know that we appreciate your review as much as any of them. We know that you were posting your honest feelings about your disappointment – we only wish that you would have given us the opportunity to address those issues while you were here. We never want anyone to come to our resort and be disappointed and we will do whatever it takes to make sure that our guests are happy and taken care of – if we know a problem exists.
We invite you to contact us about your unhappiness with your stay. Even though you have already checked out, you are still one of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us! We would welcome an opportunity to talk to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Mountain Harbor. Since we decided to stay in one of the more expensive cabins, we were only able to stay two nights which was too short of a visit. Being from the Dallas area, we were really appreciative of the beauty and especially the quiet of C18. The deck in the early morning was a true gift. The decor was absolutely beautiful and we were extremely impressed that it was so clean and that the air conditioning kept us very cool with no noise!
Our only blip in the radar was that when we arrived, we found that the free wireless would not connect. I did not feel that a real effort was made to help with that problem. As it turned out, we didn't even miss it. However, had we really needed it for business or other purposes, it would have been a problem. Since the cabin was so expensive, I felt that ammenities that were offered on the web should have been provided. I suggested that they get the internet problem taken care of before their week-end guests came, especially if they included teenagers. :) For us, it turned out that we found we could survive without it, which was good for both of us.
We will return but will probably choose to do so in the fall. We cannot imagine not staying in C18, so we will start a vacation fund in order to do so! The only staff we met was the lady at the desk and she was very nice. The owners should be proud of this fabulous property. I would highly recommend it.
Ron and Rosie Alexander

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlietchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so excited that you are already planning on returning!
We are so sorry that the wireless was not working on your unit while you were here. Actually, the wireless on C18 is still not up and running. When you called about the problem, we did check out the equipment and attempted to reset everything but found that lightning from a storm had run in on the equipment in your cabin and well, actually….it’s toast. As you may have noticed from the dish and the other equipment on the cabin, it is fairly sophisticated equipment and has to be custom ordered and programmed. We are in a very rural location and because a wireless service was not available to us for our rental units, we built our own system. It really upsets us that we have invested so much in this system and then you didn’t have it when you wanted it! We felt very badly about your cottage being without wireless for your stay, but replacing all of the equipment is a somewhat involved process. We had some severe weather just prior to your stay with us. We were unaware that you were so unhappy about the situation and we feel just terrible. Our staff thought that you were happy with your stay and that you were satisfied with using the free wireless available at our marina and Lodge. I do apologize that I did not visit with you in person to give you a full explanation. Your satisfaction with your stay – all of it- are so important to us!
We assure you that we will have everything up and running for your next visit! We so value your business and we want every aspect of your stay with us to be perfect. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is so important!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from a perfect girlfriend get together at Mountain Harbor Resort. We stayed in a beautiful cabin on the shores of Lake Ouachita. The cabin was perfect in every way and had all of the conveniences of home with a spectacular view! We spent Friday morning in the Turtle Cove Spa. All of us had a massage and some other treatments as well. We ate at the lodge restaurant which served the best mushroom cheeseburger I've ever eaten!
We topped the weekend off with a cruise on a 25 ft. party barge! The staff was exceptional and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. I hope we can return for another reunion at some point. Can't say enough good things about the all around friendliness of the staff at this place!!!

Room Tip: All of the cabins seemed to be built to provide plenty of privacy. We had a great view of the lake in C-3!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingteacher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great time. Thanks.
Nice and clean, missed some salt & pepper, coffee filters and just a basic scrubby to do the dishes.
Everything was just PERFECT. Next time include some charcoal for the grill and a MAP of the resort. My goodness, we almost missed the beautiful settings and bridge over the lake y'all had.
Let stayers know about all that extra benefits..
UR just perfect.
God bless.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakkieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews