We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area, great place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located in the Ouachita National Forest on Lake Ouachita, thirty minutes from Hot Springs, AR, Mountain Harbor has everything you might be looking for.... boating, fishing, swimming, spa, etc. It is a well maintained and tightly controlled area with rentals spanning from hotel type lodgings to condominiums of various sizes.

Room Tip: Highly recommend one of the North Basin cabins or a condominium owned by the resort. Cabins at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We loved having you with us. Harbor is our home and our family is dedicated to offering the very best in services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have many, many more opportunities to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
298
134
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend stay and were very happy with Mountain Harbor. Upon check in, we found that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to slightly larger cabins (C15/C16). The cabins were very spacious and well maintained. It had everything we needed to enjoy a family reunion. The view from the deck was really nice, it was especially neat to see the full moon over the water. The guys at the marina were very helpful - they helped load and unload all of our stuff onto the 29' party barge we had rented for the day. Spending the day on Lake Ouachita was a lot of fun - would definitely recommend a boat rental. The shoreline was really steep and rocky around the cabins. Having smaller children, we wished there had been beach access other than the Joplin Campground. We used the pool near the Lodge, but it would have been nice to have a swimming area closer to the cabins. Overall, we thought everyone at Mountain Harbor was very nice and the accommodations met our needs. We would definitely recommend staying at Mountain Harbor in the Harbor North Cabins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reading glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we were expecting a much more upscale property -- especially for $180 a night in rural Arkansas. It is a throwback to the motels of the 1950s/60s and doesn't look like it's been updated since then. We could have overlooked that fact if we had the beautiful views that were promised, but the views from the rooms in the main lodge overlook the corrugated roofline of the marina, which obscures the natural beauty of the lake and mountains. WAY overpriced for the no-tel motel room. Worth about $59 a night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MM75220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for posting your review. Even though we were very disappointed that you were so unhappy with your room, it’s important that we get feedback from our guests. That’s how we improve our services and facilities.
First of all, let me begin by apologizing. We are so sorry that you didn’t like your unit and felt that it was overpriced and outdated. We so very much wish that we could have had the opportunity to address your disappointment while you were our guests. Nothing feels worse than feeling that you have overcharged or mislead. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the view from your room, and we would have been happy to move you to a different unit with a different view had we only known.
Our property was built in 1955, as you can readily see by the original roofline when you pull up to our Lodge. Many things about Mountain Harbor are very much as they were when our founder, Hal Barnes, first built our Lodge. And, I will say, we like that way. It’s one of the unique qualities of our resort that welcome and delight many of our guests. Under the leadership of Hal’s son, Bill, the Barnes family has worked very hard to maintain Hal’s legacy while updating the things that our guests expect from a great resort. So while the original Lodge calls back to the 1950’s with its exterior design, inside our guest rooms you will find brand new flat screen TV’s, new mini-fridges and microwaves, new AC/heat units, hair dryers, coffee makers and in-room amenities like free wireless internet, coffee, hot cocoa and popcorn. Our comfy bedding and furniture are fairly new, replaced every few years and we pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness and maintenance.
Everyone’s tastes are different and we recognize that what we find charming and full of our own personal history, someone else might find outdated. That’s why we have also built beautiful new, modern condominiums and luxury, rustic cottages.
We saw that you booked your unit on line through our reservations system and you may not have had the advantage of asking one of our staff about the details of what you were reserving. The photos on our website are taken by us with regular cameras of our units and we take great care in making sure that nothing is misleading. In addition to photos of your room on our website, we also have photos of the exact view from your unit. We do have a lot of information on line – photos of all of our cottages, condominiums, studios, cabanas and guest rooms – and if you are looking at everything all at once, it can be confusing if you have not stayed with us before. And…our property is spread out over 950 acres. When you pull up to the Lodge you can only see a small part of our property.
We are very proud of the many wonderful reviews that we have received from Trip Advisor reviewers and we want you to know that we appreciate your review as much as any of them. We know that you were posting your honest feelings about your disappointment – we only wish that you would have given us the opportunity to address those issues while you were here. We never want anyone to come to our resort and be disappointed and we will do whatever it takes to make sure that our guests are happy and taken care of – if we know a problem exists.
We invite you to contact us about your unhappiness with your stay. Even though you have already checked out, you are still one of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us! We would welcome an opportunity to talk to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Mountain Harbor. Since we decided to stay in one of the more expensive cabins, we were only able to stay two nights which was too short of a visit. Being from the Dallas area, we were really appreciative of the beauty and especially the quiet of C18. The deck in the early morning was a true gift. The decor was absolutely beautiful and we were extremely impressed that it was so clean and that the air conditioning kept us very cool with no noise!
Our only blip in the radar was that when we arrived, we found that the free wireless would not connect. I did not feel that a real effort was made to help with that problem. As it turned out, we didn't even miss it. However, had we really needed it for business or other purposes, it would have been a problem. Since the cabin was so expensive, I felt that ammenities that were offered on the web should have been provided. I suggested that they get the internet problem taken care of before their week-end guests came, especially if they included teenagers. :) For us, it turned out that we found we could survive without it, which was good for both of us.
We will return but will probably choose to do so in the fall. We cannot imagine not staying in C18, so we will start a vacation fund in order to do so! The only staff we met was the lady at the desk and she was very nice. The owners should be proud of this fabulous property. I would highly recommend it.
Ron and Rosie Alexander

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlietchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so excited that you are already planning on returning!
We are so sorry that the wireless was not working on your unit while you were here. Actually, the wireless on C18 is still not up and running. When you called about the problem, we did check out the equipment and attempted to reset everything but found that lightning from a storm had run in on the equipment in your cabin and well, actually….it’s toast. As you may have noticed from the dish and the other equipment on the cabin, it is fairly sophisticated equipment and has to be custom ordered and programmed. We are in a very rural location and because a wireless service was not available to us for our rental units, we built our own system. It really upsets us that we have invested so much in this system and then you didn’t have it when you wanted it! We felt very badly about your cottage being without wireless for your stay, but replacing all of the equipment is a somewhat involved process. We had some severe weather just prior to your stay with us. We were unaware that you were so unhappy about the situation and we feel just terrible. Our staff thought that you were happy with your stay and that you were satisfied with using the free wireless available at our marina and Lodge. I do apologize that I did not visit with you in person to give you a full explanation. Your satisfaction with your stay – all of it- are so important to us!
We assure you that we will have everything up and running for your next visit! We so value your business and we want every aspect of your stay with us to be perfect. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is so important!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from a perfect girlfriend get together at Mountain Harbor Resort. We stayed in a beautiful cabin on the shores of Lake Ouachita. The cabin was perfect in every way and had all of the conveniences of home with a spectacular view! We spent Friday morning in the Turtle Cove Spa. All of us had a massage and some other treatments as well. We ate at the lodge restaurant which served the best mushroom cheeseburger I've ever eaten!
We topped the weekend off with a cruise on a 25 ft. party barge! The staff was exceptional and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. I hope we can return for another reunion at some point. Can't say enough good things about the all around friendliness of the staff at this place!!!

Room Tip: All of the cabins seemed to be built to provide plenty of privacy. We had a great view of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingteacher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great time. Thanks.
Nice and clean, missed some salt & pepper, coffee filters and just a basic scrubby to do the dishes.
Everything was just PERFECT. Next time include some charcoal for the grill and a MAP of the resort. My goodness, we almost missed the beautiful settings and bridge over the lake y'all had.
Let stayers know about all that extra benefits..
UR just perfect.
God bless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakkieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Mountain Harbor in November 2012. It was a great trip. The staff was amazing- literally the best customer service I've ever seen. We even got random phone calls from the office to make sure we were happy and didn't need anything. Fall is a great time to go to Mountain Harbor since all the leaves are changing color and the weather is really nice. The cabin we stayed in was wonderful. It even had a hot tub on the deck. They have a lot of activities on site including fishing, boat rentals, trails, horseback riding, a spa, and a restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We printed it out and posted it for all of our staff to enjoy - especially our Reception staff who call all of our guests every day to check on them. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
22.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
22.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
#1 of 1 in Hot Springs Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Property: Mountain Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957-1268
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing