We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Girlfriend Spa Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
Texarkana, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Girlfriend Spa Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from a perfect girlfriend get together at Mountain Harbor Resort. We stayed in a beautiful cabin on the shores of Lake Ouachita. The cabin was perfect in every way and had all of the conveniences of home with a spectacular view! We spent Friday morning in the Turtle Cove Spa. All of us had a massage and some other treatments as well. We ate at the lodge restaurant which served the best mushroom cheeseburger I've ever eaten!
We topped the weekend off with a cruise on a 25 ft. party barge! The staff was exceptional and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. I hope we can return for another reunion at some point. Can't say enough good things about the all around friendliness of the staff at this place!!!

Room Tip: All of the cabins seemed to be built to provide plenty of privacy. We had a great view of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingteacher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
298
134
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great time. Thanks.
Nice and clean, missed some salt & pepper, coffee filters and just a basic scrubby to do the dishes.
Everything was just PERFECT. Next time include some charcoal for the grill and a MAP of the resort. My goodness, we almost missed the beautiful settings and bridge over the lake y'all had.
Let stayers know about all that extra benefits..
UR just perfect.
God bless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakkieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Mountain Harbor in November 2012. It was a great trip. The staff was amazing- literally the best customer service I've ever seen. We even got random phone calls from the office to make sure we were happy and didn't need anything. Fall is a great time to go to Mountain Harbor since all the leaves are changing color and the weather is really nice. The cabin we stayed in was wonderful. It even had a hot tub on the deck. They have a lot of activities on site including fishing, boat rentals, trails, horseback riding, a spa, and a restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We printed it out and posted it for all of our staff to enjoy - especially our Reception staff who call all of our guests every day to check on them. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Harbour House in the resort with another couple. The house was lovely, very spacious with almost everything you needed. We'd stocked up at Walmart on the way but the kitchen was missing a bread knife, scissors, a chopping board and a wooden spatula. It had a large deck overlooking the water and its private dock, with a BBQ, fire pit and hot tub. Our friends found the heating noisy and overpowering the first night so we turned it off the second night and it was still warm enough. As they were expecting an ice storm the staff brought us a torch, oil lamps and extra wood for the fire. The weather wasn't good so 2 nights was probably enough but had it been dry we'd have wanted to stay longer

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Wow! Your wonderful review just blew us away! We loved having you here (your beautiful accent was enchanting!). Thank you so much for posting such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed last fall... They went out of their way to accomodate our date and need for handicapped accessibity! The restaurant was awesome! Such a variety and intimate! Beautiful views! The dog policy is awesome... As long as your dog doesn't act mean to others, they can run around while you watch them! Our dog loved it! The party barge was awesome! We had such fun on the lake... stopped at a few islands! The cabin was perfect! The hot tub was so relaxing... It was clean and well furnished and stocked! The spa is great! Nice people and a great massage! I just loved the different choices for cabins! Some close to the people and some off to yourself! We would recommend it to everyone! Cannot say more about how nice and accomodating everyone was!

Room Tip: Talk to them about what your expectations are... They can recommend what is best for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenmtntrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We so enjoyed reading about your experience here at Harbor! It is a great place to bring your dog, isn't it! Many of our staff have friendly dogs who accompany them to work, so we guess you could say that being pet friendly is just as important to us as to our guests. There's nothing quite like sitting back in a bubbly hot tub and enjoying the tranquil lake view and that's just what we had in mind when we built our cottages. We hope that you will find many, many more opportunities to come and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSIER CITY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from MVH and it was just about the best experience ever. My husband and I went there for their Valentine special. The entire MHV family (just doesn't feel right calling them staff) made our trip a very memorable trip. It's like their goal in life is to make everyone that is their guest as welcome as possible. I don't see how anyone could not rate this place a 9 1/2 and I only say that becauce you have to pay for any additional firewood. Any problems that came up was dealt with immediately, which was our fault. We locked ourselves out but they came immediately and let us back in. Everyone was very friendly and seemed to go out of their way to please. At the special dinner our waitress was Heather and she was exceptional. She told you exactly what everything was and stayed on top of taking care of everyone that was in her section. She had helpers that took care of refills or clearing the plates. They were all great. We are looking forward to coming back in the spring and can't wait. Thanks ya'll for making this a fantastic get-a-way. See you soon.

Room Tip: It depends on if you want to look at the lake or the woods. We stayed in C10 which faces the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMLOU12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We so much enjoyed having you here and you couldn't have picked a better weekend! Our crew really goes out on Valentine's Weekend to make it special for all of our guests and your review just made everyone so happy! We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Heather. Hope you can plan on coming back to see us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited for Thanksgiving. The entrance takes you through a bunch of mobile homes that are part of the resort. Not what we had in mind. We arrived to find the restaurant is quite small and offered basic fried foods in an overpriced buffet. The room was dark and kinda spooky out in the woods. We left early and will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveled_1665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are so very sorry that you were not happy with your experience at our resort! We especially hate it that we didn't have an opportunity to address your dissatisfaction while you were our guest. We never want anyone to feel that they did not get the experience that they were expecting and your satisfaction with us is so important! Mountain Harbor encompasses over 950 acres and the area that you stayed in was just one small part of our resort. Our location on a wilderness lake, surrounded by national forest does place us in a very rural location. Everyone has different tastes and expectations and we certainly want to accommodate each and every guest. If we had known that you didn't like the location of your unit and that you thought it was dark and spooky- quite understandable, given the wooded location, we would have gladly offered you a very different type of accommodation in a different area. Your satisfaction with your stay is our number one priority and it is so important to us - it's our job, and our life here at Harbor is about taking care of our customers. We are also very disappointed that you did not enjoy the restaurant menu. We take pride in the many great reviews of our resort and our restaurant and while we do offer many menu items that are fried, we also offer most of those charbroiled, steamed or grilled for lighter options. In addition to our hand battered fried fish and chicken tenders for instance, we also offer grilled fish and chicken with a variety of season options and sides of steamed vegetables or baked potatoes and we have a wonderful, fresh salad bar with homemade soups. Our steaks are hand-cut and we have a wide range of sandwich options with a range of fresh breads, including whole wheat. Our hearty breakfast buffets on weekends include an all-you-can eat venue with assorted breakfast cereals, fresh fruits and yogurt, juices and skim milk and our most popular breakfast staples – bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, fresh, hot biscuits, sausage gravy, Potatoes O’Brien and other breakfast treats that we change out – French toast sticks, pancake wrapped sausages on a stick, etc. We strive to offer variety and as well as healthy options in every menu offered. We would love to visit with you personally about your stay and talk with you about how we can better serve our customers. We would like an opportunity to welcome you back to show you all of Harbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
22.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
22.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
#1 of 1 in Hot Springs Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Property: Mountain Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957-1268
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing