We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
586
84
31
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
586
84
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake ouachita mountain harbor horseback riding hot tub boat rentals family reunion fishing guide great view of the lake catfish guest rooms relaxing stay back porch home away from home the cottages condo lodge pati
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 718 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed last fall... They went out of their way to accomodate our date and need for handicapped accessibity! The restaurant was awesome! Such a variety and intimate! Beautiful views! The dog policy is awesome... As long as your dog doesn't act mean to others, they can run around while you watch them! Our dog loved it! The party barge was awesome! We had such fun on the lake... stopped at a few islands! The cabin was perfect! The hot tub was so relaxing... It was clean and well furnished and stocked! The spa is great! Nice people and a great massage! I just loved the different choices for cabins! Some close to the people and some off to yourself! We would recommend it to everyone! Cannot say more about how nice and accomodating everyone was!

Room Tip: Talk to them about what your expectations are... They can recommend what is best for you!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenmtntrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We so enjoyed reading about your experience here at Harbor! It is a great place to bring your dog, isn't it! Many of our staff have friendly dogs who accompany them to work, so we guess you could say that being pet friendly is just as important to us as to our guests. There's nothing quite like sitting back in a bubbly hot tub and enjoying the tranquil lake view and that's just what we had in mind when we built our cottages. We hope that you will find many, many more opportunities to come and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from MVH and it was just about the best experience ever. My husband and I went there for their Valentine special. The entire MHV family (just doesn't feel right calling them staff) made our trip a very memorable trip. It's like their goal in life is to make everyone that is their guest as welcome as possible. I don't see how anyone could not rate this place a 9 1/2 and I only say that becauce you have to pay for any additional firewood. Any problems that came up was dealt with immediately, which was our fault. We locked ourselves out but they came immediately and let us back in. Everyone was very friendly and seemed to go out of their way to please. At the special dinner our waitress was Heather and she was exceptional. She told you exactly what everything was and stayed on top of taking care of everyone that was in her section. She had helpers that took care of refills or clearing the plates. They were all great. We are looking forward to coming back in the spring and can't wait. Thanks ya'll for making this a fantastic get-a-way. See you soon.

Room Tip: It depends on if you want to look at the lake or the woods. We stayed in C10 which faces the water. The views are spectacular.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIMLOU12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We so much enjoyed having you here and you couldn't have picked a better weekend! Our crew really goes out on Valentine's Weekend to make it special for all of our guests and your review just made everyone so happy! We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Heather. Hope you can plan on coming back to see us again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited for Thanksgiving. The entrance takes you through a bunch of mobile homes that are part of the resort. Not what we had in mind. We arrived to find the restaurant is quite small and offered basic fried foods in an overpriced buffet. The room was dark and kinda spooky out in the woods. We left early and will not be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveled_1665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We are so very sorry that you were not happy with your experience at our resort! We especially hate it that we didn't have an opportunity to address your dissatisfaction while you were our guest. We never want anyone to feel that they did not get the experience that they were expecting and your satisfaction with us is so important! Mountain Harbor encompasses over 950 acres and the area that you stayed in was just one small part of our resort. Our location on a wilderness lake, surrounded by national forest does place us in a very rural location. Everyone has different tastes and expectations and we certainly want to accommodate each and every guest. If we had known that you didn't like the location of your unit and that you thought it was dark and spooky- quite understandable, given the wooded location, we would have gladly offered you a very different type of accommodation in a different area. Your satisfaction with your stay is our number one priority and it is so important to us - it's our job, and our life here at Harbor is about taking care of our customers. We are also very disappointed that you did not enjoy the restaurant menu. We take pride in the many great reviews of our resort and our restaurant and while we do offer many menu items that are fried, we also offer most of those charbroiled, steamed or grilled for lighter options. In addition to our hand battered fried fish and chicken tenders for instance, we also offer grilled fish and chicken with a variety of season options and sides of steamed vegetables or baked potatoes and we have a wonderful, fresh salad bar with homemade soups. Our steaks are hand-cut and we have a wide range of sandwich options with a range of fresh breads, including whole wheat. Our hearty breakfast buffets on weekends include an all-you-can eat venue with assorted breakfast cereals, fresh fruits and yogurt, juices and skim milk and our most popular breakfast staples – bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, fresh, hot biscuits, sausage gravy, Potatoes O’Brien and other breakfast treats that we change out – French toast sticks, pancake wrapped sausages on a stick, etc. We strive to offer variety and as well as healthy options in every menu offered. We would love to visit with you personally about your stay and talk with you about how we can better serve our customers. We would like an opportunity to welcome you back to show you all of Harbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a fishing trip on beautiful Lake Ouachita and spent a full week in one of the timber view cottages. We have been making this trip for over 8 years and found Mountain Harbor to easily be head and shoulders above anywhere we have stayed in the local area. We wanted for nothing and I cannot tell you how great the fireplace, private hot tub, and a sizzling steak off our patio grill felt and tasted after 11 hours of hard fishing every day for a week. We will be back time and again, I recommend MHR to everyone looking for home-like atmosphere, beautiful scenery, wildlife, crystal clear water, and great fishing!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowrider45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thanks for the terrific review! It was such a pleasure to have ya'll here with us! The winter months are such a great time to get into some great fishing here on Ouachita and we especially enjoy having the flexibility then to offer some spectacular rates and complimentary upgrades. We are excited about welcoming you back again this year, so be sure to give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great scenery, loved the condo, and liked the candles they sold. Those 3 things were the only good part. The restaurant was OK at best. But overall Arkansas doesn't really have that foody appeal. Unless you want something greasy and/or fried everyday. They have an awful dog policy that not everyone seems to be aware of, so if you own a supposedly aggressive dog, ( they ONLY list Pit-Bull on the paper in the room), you can't bring it with you. I was not told this upon my first call to the resort. It was mentioned when I called the second time to set up my reservation. You cannot say you are dog friendly if you discriminate against breeds. Yellow labs have the most reported attacks and chihauhau's are considered the most aggressive breed. I would not come back here solely because of this doggy racism.

Room Tip: The condos are awesome.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wward1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us and share your experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful lake environment. We are very sorry that you were disappointed in our pet policy. While Harbor strives to welcome all pets (hey, we are tremendous dog lovers ourselves and many of our staff bring their four legged family members to work with them) we still have a responsibility to strike a balance between welcoming pets and protecting the safety of our guests. Our guidelines were worked out with input from our insurance carriers, standard and widely accepted lodging guide lines and, perhaps most importantly, what our hearts and experience told us was the best balance of acceptance and thoughtful caution. We appreciate your business so much! Thank you for staying with us and for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews