We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is my home away from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is my home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I will and have always loved you guys. I have been on Lake Ouachita since I was a baby this is my home away from home my children know everyone on Dock S and everyone in the office, and at the Marina. You are really a part of the family. When my father passed away a year ago. I came strait here and hid out for 2 weeks too deal with it left to get my affairs in order for a week and came back another 2 week. You helped the kids and myself and husband more than you will ever know. I could feel him with us the whole time we where there. I went to chrystal as well, because this is where my dad became in love with Lake Ouachita, we had a home away from home a originally had one of the boats Tommy is very close to our family as well. I can say that I love Mt.Harbor just as much, nothing beats this place during the 4 of July. Everyone is nice and I love the fact that my puppy can stay with you guys in the office she loves you too! When we want to go straight to the restraunt after we get docked and dont have to go straight to the Condo to drop her off I know she is getting spoiled beyond repair. At the Marina it is just as wonderful everyone is very nice and really care about you it is not just a job to you guys, you treat everyone like family. You can see that you are doing your best to keep this a place to remember. Thankyou and see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samurai111617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review! You've touched on everything that we try to accomplish in our service and our committment to our customers - especially our desire to nurture the feeling of family in everything we do. We are a big family and many of our staff have been here 20+ years. It's a huge matter of pride to us when someone calls us family. From all of the staff and families of Harbor, thank you for being a friend...and thank you for being a part of our Harbor family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
298
134
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at Mountain Harbor. We originally booked a King Studio at the Lodge but were able to take advantage of a condo special and upgrade to one of the 2-bedroom, 2 bathroom condos. Everyone (staff and guests alike) were very friendly; it definitely felt like we were being welcomed into part of a family. Here are some specifics:

1. The condo. We stayed in one of the condos in East Harbor by Turtle Cove Spa. There were four units in each building with parking in front. Once inside the condo, you felt completely secluded and surrounded by the beautiful trees. It was nice to be able to step outside and realize you were only a short walk from the spa, the lake, and the workout circuit. We met one of the owners of the other condos while unloading our car and they were very friendly and invited us to knock on their door if we needed anything. I think this speaks to the hospitality of the area. There was also a pool by the spa, but we choose to swim at the Lodge pool since there seemed to be more children for our son to play with. The kitchen was very well stocked. The dishes were newer, and there was dish detergent and dishwasher cubes. My only complaint about the room was that it had a slightly "musty" odor when we first arrived. I think this is to be expected (given the rustic setting and proximity to the lake), and a few sprays of Febreze took care of it. The shower pressure was wonderful and the AC (it was just under 100 degrees the weekend we were there) was cold. There was also a deck outside with a grill and table with four chairs. We didn't use the deck because we were so busy and it was hot. If you want to use the deck at night I would recommend some type of bug spray or repellent since you are literally sitting in the trees.

2. The Lodge. Up at Lodge there are two pools - a tiny kiddie pool and a larger pool in back between the Lodge and the marina. The restaurant is in the Lodge and the food is really good. They have a nice soup/salad bar that comes with most entrees or can be ordered separately. It was nice to be able to keep my family filled up with veggies - so often during vacation we eat unhealthy meals. At least one night try the huge sundae with the fudge brownie - YUM!! Across the parking lot from the Lodge is a laundry room and a small playground for kids. One of my favorite spots was on the deck outside the restaurant; I took a few minutes and sat outside with a glass of wine on a rocking chair overlooking the lake. Beautiful!! The Lodge also has "supplies" for purchase - we forgot bug spray and were able to stock up. Other than the outer deck area, I didn't see a "common" area that you find in some lodges (with a fireplace, chairs for socializing, books/videos to borrow, etc.) This area might exist but we didn't see one.

3. The Marina. Wow - the floating store and Subway are really great. Over the course of the weekend we purchased gallons of water for taking onto the lake, snacks, paper cups, sandwich bags, and two life jackets for our son (a traditional one and one for water play.) They also had convenience groceries, water sports supplies, and fishing supplies. It seemed very well-stocked, which is helpful because the nearest store is several miles away (and honestly, is not as well stocked.) Another favorite experience was taking our Subway sandwiches out onto the back dock and taking in the million-dollar view. You cannot help but relax in that setting. Obviously the prices are higher since it is on resort property but we it was worth the convenience.

4. The grounds. We drove around and explored the grounds our first morning. Make sure to check out the view from Micah's point (North Harbor). The Joplin campground area has a nice swimming area; we saw several families with young children swimming there. I'm sure there are many more neat spots but we didn't have time to see it all.

5. The lake. Another wow! I grew up boating on several lakes in Phoenix, AZ. None of those can compare to the beauty of Lake Ouachita. It really is stunning and peaceful. To save money, we drove about 30 miles to Lake Ouachita State Park and rented a 16-ft. fishing boat from the marina ($70 for a full day). The state park also has a pontoon boat for rent that is much cheaper. It took us about 45 minutes to get there one way, but was worth the money savings for us. Even though we weren't renting a boat from the Mountain Harbor marina, the staff at the marina took several minutes to tell us about the lake and recommend places to visit. They are the reason we went out to Hotel Island, which was perfect - easy to find and shallow water for swimming.

All in all a great family getaway! Here are a few more tips that we will remember for next time:

- remember all the supplies (ice chest, sunblock, hats, bug spray)

-remember it is a rustic setting - we went in the middle of the late-summer "spider" season. We could tell the condo had been treated for pest control because many of the "critters" we saw inside were dead, but we did have to share the condo with several 8-legged friends. I am more calm about this now than I was then! Next time I head into relative "wilderness," I will bring peppermint essential oil (as I have heard it repels the spiders).

-even if you are newbies like us you should probably bring some basic camping supplies to spend the day on the lake (e.g. a snake bite kit). We were talking to some fellow guests at the pool who saw some cottonmouths out on the lake. We didn't see any but it pays to be prepared.

-Remember MH is in a dry county. If you do not bring your own wine/beer/etc., you can head out to Lewis Liquor, about 8 miles back down the 270 and over the county line.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms seem to be more in the center of activity but have a few of the lake/marina. The co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have visited Mountain Harbor for 3 years and just love it! I am about to make other reservations for a fall trip. The folks there are so friendly and professional and the cabins are so clean and comfortable! Cant wait to get back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtreegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for the terrific review! We're so glad you're coming back to see us this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I recently spent 4 days on Lake Ouachita @ Mountain Harbor Resort (MHR) with my wife and sons. The cabin we stayed at on the lake was very clean, quaint, convenient and "just right" for what we needed for the stay. The A/C worked very well even though temps during our stay routinely topped 100 degrees. The hot tub on the back porch was clean, new and operationally perfect. We enjoyed using it every night. Other strong points on the cabin was its comfortable furniture, clean and useful kitchen, and better-than-expected WiFi performance. The family room TV had a DVD player, as did the master bedroom. The upstairs spare room did not however (not a huge deal). The convenience of this property in relation to the main reason for our visit - water recreation on the lake - was perfect. We rented a speed/ski boat at the local marina (which we could see from our deck), and were able to leave the cabin and be in the boat on the lake in less than 15 minutes. The marina people were all friendly and helpful. The boat was practically brand new and performed well for our entire stay. We also used another provider at the marina for some wave-runner rentals. The wave-runners were fun, but a little pricey, especially compared to the hourly price of the ski boat. Also, one of the wave-runners we rented was damaged and the handle bars/starter-button behaved erratically - but still a good time, if not, once again, pricey (for the wave-runners). The marina had a built-in Subway and very well stocked convenience store, which came in very handy for supplies of food, H&B aids, suntan lotion, etc. If you rent a ski boat, be advised that they do NOT come with canopies, so you will be completely exposed to the sun while on the lake - I highly recommend SPF 50+. We could return to the marina in the middle of the day, the staff would meet us at tie-off our boat (there were also free slips you could use that were covered) and we could cool off, have some lunch and relax, then return to the boat for more fun to complete the day - very enjoyable. The lake water was a little low due to the overall drought in the area, but very manageable and no major impact whatsoever. The staff alerts you to areas of particular concern for the lower-water. That said, the lake was HUGE and most of the lake was very deep, so areas over 100'. The lake water was also cleaner than many other locations I've been, probably due to it being within a national park with little private or commercial development along the lakefront itself. We ate one night at the local "Mount Ida Café" which had gotten some suggestions and positive comments on-line. It was just fine with a friendly waitress and comfort-food menu. They don't take credit cards. Another night we ate at the resort's restaurant and it was very similar to Mt. Ida Café. The food was good and the service was friendly; they do take credit cards. Keep in mind this is all a very rural, country setting so the overall patrons at the restaurants was very, very casual - too casual for my liking in one case at the resort's restaurant where we saw a couple of people waiting to be seated in wet bathing suits and no shirts. To be honest, outside our cabin itself, the entire property has more of a "summer camp" feel rather than any sort of "resort" I've ever been to. But that's not necessarily a bad thing as the cabin was perfect, clean and super convenient, friendly. Just don't expect a bunch of high-end environment. If you're coming for a good time on a very nice lake, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I personally liked the more single, isolated cabins ... maybe a little further from the marina, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 80sTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Your review is exactlly what we enjoy so much about our relationship with Trip Advisor! Great feedback for us and pertinent information for readers from a customer's viewpoint ! We're certainly looking forward to cooler temps next week! We were concerned about the comment about guests in line for seating in the restaurant without appropriate clothing (wearing only wet bathing suits). This is strictly against our policy, however, since our lobby serves both our restaurant and our lodging area, sometimes guests from the pool are in the lobby. We did want to assure that we do not seat guests in swimwear in the dining room without appropriate cover-ups. That being said - you are so right about our casual atmosphere. We love being the place where everyone feels comfortable! Thank you for your review! We're sure that your readers will enjoy it as much as we did. Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenney tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were picking up our grandson at a camp located near this hotel and was so glad that I found this on Trip Advisor. I had originally booked Embassy Suites in Hot Springs. The food was all delicious, I highly recommend the cheeseburger and onion rings. My husband had a massage at the spa and loved it. We were in a lodge room which was roomy and had a patio with a view of the lake, so relaxing. In the room description it had said "cozy", which usually means tiny, but was pleasantly surprised. The pool was never crowded and in general the property was very serene. We'll be back if he returns to camp in the area. A must see in Hot Springs is the Blade Maxwell magic and comedy show, great family entertainment.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms were close to the lodge/restaurant, could walk and enjoy the quite surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycountryheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were looking for a quick trip to go somewhere for our birthday and honeymoon and I called mtn harbor to see if they had anything for one night and they were running a special on their condos! When we got there we loved it. It was spacious, quiet, and very nice. We also decided to get a massage from the spa and that was AMAZING!!! Best massage I've ever had and my husband who had never had one loved it and we can't wait to come back!! All the staff was so friendly, and we also ate at the lodge for dinner and breakfast and it was so good. We will for sure be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our group just spent the weekend at Mountain Harbor Resort in two lovely condos. We also spent the morning at the Turtle Grove Spa.
Our experience at both places was wonderful. Everyone was so courteous and helpful. The resort was beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was great.
I would recommend this resort to everyone. I plan to take my family one day including my five year grandson.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samhero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
22.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
22.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
#1 of 1 in Hot Springs Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Property: Mountain Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957-1268
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing