We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$69
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Inn(Mount Ida)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joplin Inn(Mount Ida)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
580
84
31
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
580
84
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake ouachitamountain harborhorseback ridinghot tubboat rentalsfamily reunionfishing guidegreat view of the lakecatfishguest roomsrelaxing stayback porchhome away from homethe cottagescondolodgepati
Filter
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 712 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I recently spent 4 days on Lake Ouachita @ Mountain Harbor Resort (MHR) with my wife and sons. The cabin we stayed at on the lake was very clean, quaint, convenient and "just right" for what we needed for the stay. The A/C worked very well even though temps during our stay routinely topped 100 degrees. The hot tub on the back porch was clean, new and operationally perfect. We enjoyed using it every night. Other strong points on the cabin was its comfortable furniture, clean and useful kitchen, and better-than-expected WiFi performance. The family room TV had a DVD player, as did the master bedroom. The upstairs spare room did not however (not a huge deal). The convenience of this property in relation to the main reason for our visit - water recreation on the lake - was perfect. We rented a speed/ski boat at the local marina (which we could see from our deck), and were able to leave the cabin and be in the boat on the lake in less than 15 minutes. The marina people were all friendly and helpful. The boat was practically brand new and performed well for our entire stay. We also used another provider at the marina for some wave-runner rentals. The wave-runners were fun, but a little pricey, especially compared to the hourly price of the ski boat. Also, one of the wave-runners we rented was damaged and the handle bars/starter-button behaved erratically - but still a good time, if not, once again, pricey (for the wave-runners). The marina had a built-in Subway and very well stocked convenience store, which came in very handy for supplies of food, H&B aids, suntan lotion, etc. If you rent a ski boat, be advised that they do NOT come with canopies, so you will be completely exposed to the sun while on the lake - I highly recommend SPF 50+. We could return to the marina in the middle of the day, the staff would meet us at tie-off our boat (there were also free slips you could use that were covered) and we could cool off, have some lunch and relax, then return to the boat for more fun to complete the day - very enjoyable. The lake water was a little low due to the overall drought in the area, but very manageable and no major impact whatsoever. The staff alerts you to areas of particular concern for the lower-water. That said, the lake was HUGE and most of the lake was very deep, so areas over 100'. The lake water was also cleaner than many other locations I've been, probably due to it being within a national park with little private or commercial development along the lakefront itself. We ate one night at the local "Mount Ida Café" which had gotten some suggestions and positive comments on-line. It was just fine with a friendly waitress and comfort-food menu. They don't take credit cards. Another night we ate at the resort's restaurant and it was very similar to Mt. Ida Café. The food was good and the service was friendly; they do take credit cards. Keep in mind this is all a very rural, country setting so the overall patrons at the restaurants was very, very casual - too casual for my liking in one case at the resort's restaurant where we saw a couple of people waiting to be seated in wet bathing suits and no shirts. To be honest, outside our cabin itself, the entire property has more of a "summer camp" feel rather than any sort of "resort" I've ever been to. But that's not necessarily a bad thing as the cabin was perfect, clean and super convenient, friendly. Just don't expect a bunch of high-end environment. If you're coming for a good time on a very nice lake, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I personally liked the more single, isolated cabins ... maybe a little further from the marina, but quieter and more personal. Our cabin was obviously built with handicapped people in mind. Wide doors, walk/roll-in shower, ramps, etc. Not sure if this was just the one cabin or perhaps something related to code.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 80sTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Your review is exactlly what we enjoy so much about our relationship with Trip Advisor! Great feedback for us and pertinent information for readers from a customer's viewpoint ! We're certainly looking forward to cooler temps next week! We were concerned about the comment about guests in line for seating in the restaurant without appropriate clothing (wearing only wet bathing suits). This is strictly against our policy, however, since our lobby serves both our restaurant and our lodging area, sometimes guests from the pool are in the lobby. We did want to assure that we do not seat guests in swimwear in the dining room without appropriate cover-ups. That being said - you are so right about our casual atmosphere. We love being the place where everyone feels comfortable! Thank you for your review! We're sure that your readers will enjoy it as much as we did. Come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were picking up our grandson at a camp located near this hotel and was so glad that I found this on Trip Advisor. I had originally booked Embassy Suites in Hot Springs. The food was all delicious, I highly recommend the cheeseburger and onion rings. My husband had a massage at the spa and loved it. We were in a lodge room which was roomy and had a patio with a view of the lake, so relaxing. In the room description it had said "cozy", which usually means tiny, but was pleasantly surprised. The pool was never crowded and in general the property was very serene. We'll be back if he returns to camp in the area. A must see in Hot Springs is the Blade Maxwell magic and comedy show, great family entertainment.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms were close to the lodge/restaurant, could walk and enjoy the quite surroundings.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycountryheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were looking for a quick trip to go somewhere for our birthday and honeymoon and I called mtn harbor to see if they had anything for one night and they were running a special on their condos! When we got there we loved it. It was spacious, quiet, and very nice. We also decided to get a massage from the spa and that was AMAZING!!! Best massage I've ever had and my husband who had never had one loved it and we can't wait to come back!! All the staff was so friendly, and we also ate at the lodge for dinner and breakfast and it was so good. We will for sure be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our group just spent the weekend at Mountain Harbor Resort in two lovely condos. We also spent the morning at the Turtle Grove Spa.
Our experience at both places was wonderful. Everyone was so courteous and helpful. The resort was beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was great.
I would recommend this resort to everyone. I plan to take my family one day including my five year grandson.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samhero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just spent three nights at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa as we have been driving from New York to California. We picked this resort for two reasons: One, we wanted to make a stop between Little Rock, AR and Dallas,TX and two, we read the great reviews on Trip Advisor.

Upon our arrival, Julie at the front desk was very warm and friendly. We were allowed an early check-in, which was a sign of their welcoming accommodations. Our double bed room was spacious and had a nice view of the lake. However, the balcony was not gated in and since we are also traveling with two cocker spaniels, we were afraid that they would spend their time chasing after squirrels. Well, all it took was a phone call to Julie, who immediately took care of it. She spoke to Patty Brown, her boss. Ms. Brown came to our room within minutes and was incredibly accommodating. She showed us another room with a private balcony, which we fell in love with immediately.

The hospitality we received at Mountain Harbor surpassed our expectations. We spent the most relaxing three nights of our entire trip across the country thus far. Thank you Ms. Brown and your entire staff for making this trip a beautiful and relaxing get away from all the stress of traveling!

We will forever remember this awesome stop. And yes, we will most definitely return~

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARACELY2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We so much enjoyed having ya'll here with us as well as Chelsea and Tess. It's always our pleasure to to find a way to please our guests, especially when they are as nice as all of you. Please come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews