We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$69
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daisy Motel(Kirby)(Great Value!)
$68
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn Lake Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Motel(Hot Springs)
$55
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
580
84
31
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
580
84
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake ouachitamountain harborhorseback ridinghot tubboat rentalsfamily reunionfishing guidegreat view of the lakecatfishguest roomsrelaxing stayback porchhome away from homethe cottagescondolodgepati
Filter
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 712 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our group just spent the weekend at Mountain Harbor Resort in two lovely condos. We also spent the morning at the Turtle Grove Spa.
Our experience at both places was wonderful. Everyone was so courteous and helpful. The resort was beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was great.
I would recommend this resort to everyone. I plan to take my family one day including my five year grandson.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samhero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just spent three nights at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa as we have been driving from New York to California. We picked this resort for two reasons: One, we wanted to make a stop between Little Rock, AR and Dallas,TX and two, we read the great reviews on Trip Advisor.

Upon our arrival, Julie at the front desk was very warm and friendly. We were allowed an early check-in, which was a sign of their welcoming accommodations. Our double bed room was spacious and had a nice view of the lake. However, the balcony was not gated in and since we are also traveling with two cocker spaniels, we were afraid that they would spend their time chasing after squirrels. Well, all it took was a phone call to Julie, who immediately took care of it. She spoke to Patty Brown, her boss. Ms. Brown came to our room within minutes and was incredibly accommodating. She showed us another room with a private balcony, which we fell in love with immediately.

The hospitality we received at Mountain Harbor surpassed our expectations. We spent the most relaxing three nights of our entire trip across the country thus far. Thank you Ms. Brown and your entire staff for making this trip a beautiful and relaxing get away from all the stress of traveling!

We will forever remember this awesome stop. And yes, we will most definitely return~

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARACELY2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We so much enjoyed having ya'll here with us as well as Chelsea and Tess. It's always our pleasure to to find a way to please our guests, especially when they are as nice as all of you. Please come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

When I was a kid, my family visited Lake Ouchita every year as our family vacation. We camped at the Joplin campground and visited the "fancy" Mountain Harbor Resort for the marina and the restaurant (anything with tables seems fancy when you are 10 and spending 2 weeks in a tent!) Now, 30 years later, Mountain Harbor doesn't seem "fancy," but it is beautiful and still a lot of fun.

For our family reunion we decided to leave the campground in our memories and spring for one of the nice new Harbor North Cottages over Memorial Day Weekend. We booked C17, a three bedroom cottage on the water's edge, but the first nice surprise was that we were offered a larger three bedroom unit, C24, at no additional cost.

This cottage was absolutely stunning - far nicer than I expected and exactly what I had hoped for. The rooms are enormous, immaculate and nicely decorated. Every bedroom has its own bathroom, and the bedrooms with two queen beds are large enough to comfortably accommodate a family of four. The large deck on the back has patio tables to seat 14, a nice hot tub, and still lots of room to walk around. Stairs from the back deck allow access to the "backyard" - a private, gently sloped, wooded area that extends down to the lake. This area is unique to C24 and was perfect for all the young children in our group who wanted to play outside, throw rocks in the water, etc just like we did when we came here as kids. And the highlight of the "yard" was the fire ring - how can you have a lake vacation without a camp fire and s'mores? We walked around and looked at all of the other Harbor North Cottages - C24 is really the only one with such great lake access.

The only thing that would have made the vacation even better would be better access to swimming. The cottage does have great lake access, but it is right across from the marina and along a boating channel, so it is not great for swimming. There is not really any swimming within walking distance. We had to drive to the swim beach in the campground or to one of the pools on the other end of the resort. We rented a boat one day and had fun swimming off the boat.

It was also pretty expensive. The cottage is beautiful, has many wonderful amenities, and is probaly "worth" what they are charging....but it is just more than I expect to pay for the casual comfort of a lake vacation in Arkansas. If this particular resort on this particular lake did not hold so much nostalgia for my family, I don't think I would have considered it.

Room Tip: C24 is the only cottage with private, gently-sloped access to the lake - an absolute MUST for large groups with small kids.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kebr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort! Your experience in our Harbor North Cottage, C24, is everything that we had hoped for as we designed, built and furnished this unit. For over five decades we have had the privilege of serving families just like yours and it never gets any better than hearing about happy times at Harbor. Thank you for your review - we hope you come back again...and be sure to ask us about our Lodge cottages. Beautifully remodeled and about half the price of our fabulous Harbor North cottages but still with all the nice touches - new bamboo flooring, stainless steel appliances in the newly remodeled kitchens, native stone fireplace,and, of course, that great hot tub on the back deck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location near the water! The staff was very friendly (this seems to be the norm for this part of Arkansas). My one complaint is the lack of daily towel service.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theuncola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your response! We like to think that our staff is so friendly because we have such wonderful customers - just like you! We're sorry you were disappionted in not getting towels delivered each day. We do try to keep our costs down to make our lodging more affordable for you, but next time you come, just let us kow you'd like your towels delivered! We are always happy to take care of special requests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Mt Harbor Resort for two nights in early April 2012 while visiting Mt. Ida area. We stayed at the lodge which was built in the 60's but has been refurbished recently. The room was quite spacious with a sitting area including a couch and desk. There is a nice patio off each room that was very nice to sit out on for early morning coffee or late afternoon relaxation. Our room had a comfortable king size bed and the bathroom was spacious and clean. The Mt Harbor coffee was an added bonus!!!

We ate at the restaurant for two breakfasts and two dinners and were very satisfied with the food and service. Really enjoyed watching the purple martins take care of the mosquitos.
Everyone we had contact with was very very friendly and helpful.

The resort was very quiet and I'm sure this was due to the time we were there---not really tourist season yet.

Certainly we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We especially liked that you enjoyed our custom blended coffee! We would love to have you return! Be sure to mention your TripAdviser review and we'll be delighted to give you a complimentary bag of our coffee to take home with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews