We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were looking for a quick trip to go somewhere for our birthday and honeymoon and I called mtn harbor to see if they had anything for one night and they were running a special on their condos! When we got there we loved it. It was spacious, quiet, and very nice. We also decided to get a massage from the spa and that was AMAZING!!! Best massage I've ever had and my husband who had never had one loved it and we can't wait to come back!! All the staff was so friendly, and we also ate at the lodge for dinner and breakfast and it was so good. We will for sure be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    70
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
298
134
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our group just spent the weekend at Mountain Harbor Resort in two lovely condos. We also spent the morning at the Turtle Grove Spa.
Our experience at both places was wonderful. Everyone was so courteous and helpful. The resort was beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was great.
I would recommend this resort to everyone. I plan to take my family one day including my five year grandson.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samhero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just spent three nights at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa as we have been driving from New York to California. We picked this resort for two reasons: One, we wanted to make a stop between Little Rock, AR and Dallas,TX and two, we read the great reviews on Trip Advisor.

Upon our arrival, Julie at the front desk was very warm and friendly. We were allowed an early check-in, which was a sign of their welcoming accommodations. Our double bed room was spacious and had a nice view of the lake. However, the balcony was not gated in and since we are also traveling with two cocker spaniels, we were afraid that they would spend their time chasing after squirrels. Well, all it took was a phone call to Julie, who immediately took care of it. She spoke to Patty Brown, her boss. Ms. Brown came to our room within minutes and was incredibly accommodating. She showed us another room with a private balcony, which we fell in love with immediately.

The hospitality we received at Mountain Harbor surpassed our expectations. We spent the most relaxing three nights of our entire trip across the country thus far. Thank you Ms. Brown and your entire staff for making this trip a beautiful and relaxing get away from all the stress of traveling!

We will forever remember this awesome stop. And yes, we will most definitely return~

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARACELY2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We so much enjoyed having ya'll here with us as well as Chelsea and Tess. It's always our pleasure to to find a way to please our guests, especially when they are as nice as all of you. Please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

When I was a kid, my family visited Lake Ouchita every year as our family vacation. We camped at the Joplin campground and visited the "fancy" Mountain Harbor Resort for the marina and the restaurant (anything with tables seems fancy when you are 10 and spending 2 weeks in a tent!) Now, 30 years later, Mountain Harbor doesn't seem "fancy," but it is beautiful and still a lot of fun.

For our family reunion we decided to leave the campground in our memories and spring for one of the nice new Harbor North Cottages over Memorial Day Weekend. We booked C17, a three bedroom cottage on the water's edge, but the first nice surprise was that we were offered a larger three bedroom unit, C24, at no additional cost.

This cottage was absolutely stunning - far nicer than I expected and exactly what I had hoped for. The rooms are enormous, immaculate and nicely decorated. Every bedroom has its own bathroom, and the bedrooms with two queen beds are large enough to comfortably accommodate a family of four. The large deck on the back has patio tables to seat 14, a nice hot tub, and still lots of room to walk around. Stairs from the back deck allow access to the "backyard" - a private, gently sloped, wooded area that extends down to the lake. This area is unique to C24 and was perfect for all the young children in our group who wanted to play outside, throw rocks in the water, etc just like we did when we came here as kids. And the highlight of the "yard" was the fire ring - how can you have a lake vacation without a camp fire and s'mores? We walked around and looked at all of the other Harbor North Cottages - C24 is really the only one with such great lake access.

The only thing that would have made the vacation even better would be better access to swimming. The cottage does have great lake access, but it is right across from the marina and along a boating channel, so it is not great for swimming. There is not really any swimming within walking distance. We had to drive to the swim beach in the campground or to one of the pools on the other end of the resort. We rented a boat one day and had fun swimming off the boat.

It was also pretty expensive. The cottage is beautiful, has many wonderful amenities, and is probaly "worth" what they are charging....but it is just more than I expect to pay for the casual comfort of a lake vacation in Arkansas. If this particular resort on this particular lake did not hold so much nostalgia for my family, I don't think I would have considered it.

Room Tip: C24 is the only cottage with private, gently-sloped access to the lake - an absolute MUST for large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort! Your experience in our Harbor North Cottage, C24, is everything that we had hoped for as we designed, built and furnished this unit. For over five decades we have had the privilege of serving families just like yours and it never gets any better than hearing about happy times at Harbor. Thank you for your review - we hope you come back again...and be sure to ask us about our Lodge cottages. Beautifully remodeled and about half the price of our fabulous Harbor North cottages but still with all the nice touches - new bamboo flooring, stainless steel appliances in the newly remodeled kitchens, native stone fireplace,and, of course, that great hot tub on the back deck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location near the water! The staff was very friendly (this seems to be the norm for this part of Arkansas). My one complaint is the lack of daily towel service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theuncola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your response! We like to think that our staff is so friendly because we have such wonderful customers - just like you! We're sorry you were disappionted in not getting towels delivered each day. We do try to keep our costs down to make our lodging more affordable for you, but next time you come, just let us kow you'd like your towels delivered! We are always happy to take care of special requests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Mt Harbor Resort for two nights in early April 2012 while visiting Mt. Ida area. We stayed at the lodge which was built in the 60's but has been refurbished recently. The room was quite spacious with a sitting area including a couch and desk. There is a nice patio off each room that was very nice to sit out on for early morning coffee or late afternoon relaxation. Our room had a comfortable king size bed and the bathroom was spacious and clean. The Mt Harbor coffee was an added bonus!!!

We ate at the restaurant for two breakfasts and two dinners and were very satisfied with the food and service. Really enjoyed watching the purple martins take care of the mosquitos.
Everyone we had contact with was very very friendly and helpful.

The resort was very quiet and I'm sure this was due to the time we were there---not really tourist season yet.

Certainly we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We especially liked that you enjoyed our custom blended coffee! We would love to have you return! Be sure to mention your TripAdviser review and we'll be delighted to give you a complimentary bag of our coffee to take home with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here during the Ouachitat Mountain Bike Race Challenge. We stayed in one of the newer cabins C23 that overlooked the lake. At first when I booked it I thought dang this is pretty expensive but then when I arrived and walked into the cabin OMG gorgeous! Worth every penny and pure luxury. The hot tub on the deck is perfect brand new and high end. The linens were high end, huge kitchen, very large bedrooms with flat screen tvs. The Kitchen has everything you need with cuisinart everything. We slept so good and the cabin is just gorgeous ...everything was immaculate !!! The views were great and the people who work at Mtn Harbor Resort are great too. Everyone is super friendly and the layout of the resort is great. I highly recommend it good location and a great time.

Room Tip: C23 cabin was awesome !!! Be great to share with another couple as both bedrooms have their own huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWADLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparesort, Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We were thrilled with your review and so happy to have such a fantastic turnout for the Ouachita Challenge! Your comments were so nice! We love happy customers! Come back again this fall and hit the Vista Trail!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
22.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
22.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
Los Lagos at Hot Springs Village
#1 of 1 in Hot Springs Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Property: Mountain Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957-1268
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing