We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and rustic bungalow”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Ouachita Shores Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and rustic bungalow”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in bungalow 3B which was a 1 bedroom. Since the pool had not been opened the manager Teresa gave us the off season rate of 85.00 per night. We had a great view of the lake and marina off the small porch. The motel and bungalows are old but well maintained as are the grounds that surround it. Our kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, utensils etc. You have a TV in the livingroom but not in the bedroom. The only thing I can say negative about our bungalow is it needs more lighting in the livingroom/ kitchen area and we could not get our computer to work. If you are going to mine for crystal Wegner's is close by and we had very good luck there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barefoot52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This resort is small and very simple. However, it has everything required to relax, get back to nature, rock hunt, read a book or fish on the Ouachita Lake. The owner is lovely. The Marina was as great as the fishing! The views of the lake are outstanding. Their prices are more than reasonable. We didn't want to leave. They are only an hour away from Hot Springs!

Room Tip: They have single rooms and bunkhouses. We loved the bunkhouse we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PattysIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was our first stay here. We rented one of the motel rooms for a quiet couple's weekend getaway. We were very happy with just about everything. The lady in the office was kind and helpful. Our room was very nice and clean, but it desperately needed to be updated (60's flashback anyone?). While the room had no frills, it had everything we needed and kept us comfortable. We had a great view from our back door out onto the lake. It was beautiful. The units each have comfy chairs to sit out back and watch the sunrise, read the paper, or whatever. They also have a large 2 level deck that is great for looking out onto the lake from. We saw they have a pool (too cold to use when we visited), a volleyball court and horseshoes. This resort is located right at the marina and you can walk right down to it. They have boat rentals there too. You are about 30 miles from Hot Springs, so be sure to visit downtown while you're so close. Its a neat little place. As for Mt. Ida, there is not really much to do there (a couple of crystal shops, maybe a restaurant and a couple of antique/flea market places)and no one takes credit cards in town, so be sure you bring cash or your checkbook. We are going to plan another stay here with our 3 kids and rent one of the small bungalos. We think they will love the lake, the forest and Hot Springs too.

Room Tip: We had room 5A which has a lovely view out to the lake. Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather_and_Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We spent 5 days at the resort and had a great time. The cabins was very clean, the beds were practically new, and the accessibility to the trails and lake was terrific. They couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating. We will DEFINITELY return for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redbear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Location and room was appropriate for a nice family getaway. Site had pool, volleyball, horseshoes, nice grounds for walking around - lake visible from anywhere on the grouns. The cabin is a cabin so don't set up your expectations for anything different - it's well-kept considering its purpose - nice living room and sitting area for family gathering, dining table and kitchen facility - separate bedroom and single bath. Everything was provided - just had to bring the food. Hospitality was great! Teresa welcomed us and gave us the grounds tour. We would definitely go back with extended family and friends. Great location for any type of reunion as well... Recommending to family and friends for future reunion possibilities.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbramSeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We arrived with more people than originally expected ( you know how teenagers are) and a small dog.
Teresa was quite accomodating to the extra people and even my dog. They usually charge $20.00 a night extra for a pet but I told her that Poncho, my dog a Chihuahua, was not a $20.00 a night dog, that he was a $5.00 dollar a night dog and she laughed and said the best she could do wa $12.50 a night. I said OK, that's better than $20.00 for a half size dog.
We had even more people coming in the next day so we got another room. The folks at the marina were super nice also. We rented a ski barge and they told us where to go to catch fish and good places to swim. The trip was great!
We enjoyed the pool and the horseshoes and the outside grill provided. I cooked every night on the grill and it was great.
My wife even left her mouse to her laptop and my grandson left a Spiderman slipper and they mailed it to us.
Will go back for sure!

  • Liked — Locale
  • Disliked — No internet.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Grillmstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, ar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed at Ouachita Resorts this weekend. The location was very peaceful and serene, but that is the only good thing I can say. The pool is small. The rooms were clean, but really old. We would have had a better time if not for the "lady" that manages the resort. She met us outside in her golfcart and told us we were only allowed to park in a certain spot, and was not very nice at all. She was very nosey and controlling. We felt as if we were being "watched" all weekend. Since we only had one coffee packet upon arrival for a 2 night stay, we requested another and were asked why we needed it? Hello? They are obviously penny-pinching and possible struggling financially? They counted the replacement towels we got and marked them on a notepad before they would hand them to us, which made us feel like they thought we were thieves. At any rate, the resort would have been a great, relaxing and peaceful retreat had it not been for the nosey staff lady.

  • Liked — LOCATION AND BEAUTIFUL SCENERY
  • Disliked — NOSEY & RUDE RESORT MANAGER/OWNER
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LoveLakeOuachita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
21.1 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
24.5 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
25.0 mi away
Courtyard Hot Springs
Courtyard Hot Springs
#6 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
23.9 mi away
Clarion Resort on the Lake
Clarion Resort on the Lake
#15 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lela's Landing
Lela's Landing
#8 of 21 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Ouachita Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Ouachita Shores Resort

Property: Lake Ouachita Shores Resort
Address: 359 Quachita Shore Parkway, Mount Ida, AR 71957
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lake Ouachita Shores Hotel Mount Ida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing