We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The House at Joplin Inn”
Review of Joplin Inn

Joplin Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joplin Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The House at Joplin Inn”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a lovely surprise. Booked the house for two days for my wedding reception. It flowed so nicely for 50 people and it was amazing. We booked three rooms and The House and was not disappointed in any of the rooms. I was even upgrated to the suite at no extra charge and the staff could not have been any nicer. The rooms were extremely clean and quiet even though it was on a busy highway. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone traveling to the area. The beds were extremely comfortable and the price was very affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pati b, Manager at Joplin Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
What a sweet wedding and a wonderful family! Thank you for entrusting us with such a special family event! We are just delighted that you were so pleased with everything! From all the staff and families of Harbor and the Joplin Inn we wish you a long and happy life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
11
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

"The House" at the Joplin Inn was such a surprise. It was spacious, very nicely redone and perfect for two families to stay. The price was very affordable for what you receive. Everyone at Mt Harbor was so friendly and helpful. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pati b, Manager at Joplin Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thanks for staying with us and thank you as well for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that your family enjoyed their time at the Joplin Inn. We hope that you will find the chance to come back again and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This beautiful getaway it definitely a must see!
Dont judge a book by its cover, it looks like your everyday Mom and Pop motel, but once inside you will be amazed! Beautifully decorated, excellent staff, wifi,comfy beds!

Room Tip: We stayed in the adjacent living quarters, 2 bedsrooms, fireplace, wifi, access to mountain Harbor p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-wisconsin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently took our children and grandchildren with us on a trip to the Hot Springs/Mount Ida area. Colonial Motel was able to accomodate our request for adjoining non-smoking rooms. Was nice when the grand kids needed a nap! This is an older motel, but it is in good shape. We've stayed in some large motel chains before that were not a clean as this place. The staff was very friendly too. Loved the convenient store at the end of the motel. Was able to get gas and pick up breakfast and lunch from there. We will stay again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyMamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I only needed this for a night, and it was sufficient. I was attending a family reunion at Mountain Harbor, and only needed this to come back and sleep. It was clean, had comfortable beds, and met my needs. Nothing fancy, but good for a place to lay my head to rest at night. Very reasonable also. I also found out that they are dog-friendly, so that set well with me. I will be returning, and probably this time with my dogs. I think they only have one room for dogs, and there's an extra fee, as with any place, to park your canine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank haleyinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I found the rooms to be clean and spacious. The staff was really nice and the little store on the end was very convenient.

For the money, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We have stayed at the Colonial Motel several times over the last couple of years. It's not fancy by any means, but is clean, has big rooms and comfortable beds. Each time we visit the area, our kids beg us to stay there. The little store connected has good snacks and friendly people. We have always had a nice time there. Perfect for families with kids.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Txmom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Ida
19.3 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
105 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
888 reviews
23.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#20 of 45 in Hot Springs
145 reviews
22.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Hot Springs
Staybridge Suites Hot Springs
#8 of 45 in Hot Springs
419 reviews
22.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joplin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joplin Inn

Property: Joplin Inn
Address: 5403 U.S. 270 East, Mount Ida, AR 71957
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joplin Inn, formerly the Colonial Motel, is located just 2 1/2 miles from the shores of Lake Ouachita. The newly remodeled property, now under new management, has 10 guest rooms, one suite and one two bedroom house - all with new carpeting, new bedding, new flat screen TV's. The rooms have mini-fridges, microwaves and coffee makers and the suite and house have fully equipped kitchens. Plans are underway to develop the scenic back of the property so guests will have access to an outdoor recreation and picnic area. Guests of this property have full access to the adjacent Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing