We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silverstream Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Equestrian Hotel(Christchurch)
$51
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Bonne Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lincoln Motel(Lincoln)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middlepark Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amalfi Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avonhead Garden Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Classique Lodge Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
110
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandwonderful hostsmade us feelrural locationmy soncomfortable bedsafter a long dayblown awaypleasure of stayingbaby monitorfarm animalsduck pondan amazing place to stayfriends and familyno problemkathygrant
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 113 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family went to New Zealand over Christmas and we decided to end our trip at Silverstream. We had Christmas dinner with Kathy and Grant and their extended family; the food was local and delicious (the vegetables were from their own garden) and the company delightful. Kathy and Grant are such lovely hosts and keep a most lovely B&B. The rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully appointed and we felt so warmly welcomed. We spent two peaceful quiet days there and it was just the perfect way to round out our first NZ trip! We'll be back if we can help it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this gorgeous B&B. As soon as we drove into the gate we were very impressed with the landscaping and birdlife, such a tranquil setting. Kathy and Grant were very friendly and welcoming, and lovely to chat with. We were attending a wedding at Cossars Wineshed and it was only a short drive away, very handy locationwise. Our room was fantastic with a lovely garden outlook. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and very leisurely. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests too. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break away and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah and Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Set into tranquil and truly stunning nature. Excellent accommodation - cosy room with its own beautiful bathroom. Kathy and Grant are such wonderful and welcoming hosts. I’d highly recommend this lodge to any traveler finding themselves in that part of NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at 6 B&Bs during our visit to South island last week, including another top ranked B&B in Christchurch, and other top ranked B&Bs in other regions. Silverstream lodge is the best hands down. Once through the gate, we felt like we reached a place of utmost peace and tranquility, and the beautiful pure white swans just took our breaths away. The charming dogs, peacocks, delightful birds and most magnificent cat we had ever seen roam about freely in this place. We were greeted most warmly by Kathy and Grant, who were one of the most gracious and genuine hosts we have come across in our NZ north and south island tours. This is especially after our previous B&B host declined to serve at breakfast at 7.30am because it was too early for her, hence we really appreciated that Kathy offered to serve us a early breakfast at 7am so that we can have ample time for our drive back to the airport the next morning.
We took the river room which was large and cosy with a large ensuite and wonderful shower. Breakfast was delicious with plums that Kathy prepared for dessert.
We regretted not staying longer, but will definitely want to visit here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NicoleSLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy G, Owner at Silverstream Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for this brilliant and extensive review. We love this business and really enjoy meeting new people and welcoming back some old friends that started as guests.
Reviews have a duel purpose for us, not only the obvious one, informing fellow travellers of the good, bad and ugly, but the less obvious one, that is giving the owners and operators a real boost when guests take the time to get on the Internet and say what a good time they had with us. Gives Grant and I a great push forward and keeps the energy levels high. Cheers guys and again a very big thank you. We enjoyed having you stay, so gracious and appreciative. Kathy and Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our stay was the result of our friends being red zoned and moving to new premises out in the country. My husband booked with Silverstream to give us a taste of luxury for one night. I was a little apprehensive because we were there to visit our friends and I didn't want our time taken up talking to people I didn't know.
My apprehension proved to be unfounded as the hosts, Kathy and Grant were very warm and welcoming without being over the top.
Their home and B&B is first class and the setting is second to none.
I enjoyed talking to them and would reccommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews