We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this work in progress has potential with some adjustments.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Punta Sal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punta Sal
Reviewed December 30, 2012

good: pristine beach, beautiful massive pool, large rooms, food is good (the ceviche is fantastic).

bad: loud poolside activities involving DJ ruin calm relaxation, wifi doesn't work in room, everything has to be done in person at reception (restaurant reservations, wifi purchase, everything). housecleaning ignores do not disturb signs on door (even after informing management and two days in a row). general apathy from staff, shower water has very low pressure and oscillates between scalding hot and cold constantly.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank av2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decameron P, Gerente at Royal Decameron Punta Sal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear guest:

We are grateful that you have shared the comment with us and Trip Advisor.

It has been a pleasure to have received, has spent 4 years since his visit, he commented that has been worked hard in the continuous improvement of our infrastructure and guest service with our team Royal Decameron Punta Sal which is the slope of the facilities and the operation from day to day, so that they can enjoy the best experience Decameron.

Agradecememos you for your visit, it will be a pleasure to receive it again so that you can live to the full the experience Decameron.

Cordially,
General Management Royal Decameron Punta Sal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

I recently was there with my family less than a week ago and we all got ripped off right in front of our eyes. We chose this package from our travel agency in Lima, Peru because we wanted a vacation and decameron ,due to thier promotions, activities, and information that was given to us, it seemed ideal. Our travel agent was great, she booked the hotel room with oceanview with with three beds (since it was indicated on the flyer) the full package. full paid in dollars! Now here we go!!
1) 4 hour drive from airport to hotel 2) THEY DONT OFFER ROOMS WITH 3 BEDS (MIND YOU, IT IS SHOWN ON THE FLYER, ON THE INTERNET, AND THERE IS BOOKING FOR IT) we paid for triple and they gave us a double with a sofabed that is meant for a child,not an adult ( so prepare for a backache!)3) i was not close the beach or the researvationarea I had to walk 3 BLOCKS ( and no they are not small). 4) No room service its against thier regulations so you have to walk to the researvation area for what you need. for example, i wasnt feeling well,so i called for a tea and they said no..i have to walk there get my cup of tea and walk back. ( and they call this a resort? ) 5) you have to be at the reservation desk between 6-7am to MAKE THE LINE to researve a seat for dinner (how lovely) 6)ALL activities that are promoted are in Mancora and you have to pay the taxi fee in order to go, so you pay for the activity (which is understandable) and you have to the taxi going from and coming back to hotel( that doesnt make sense) I should have just went to a hotel in Mancora. roundtrip taxi starts from 80 soles ) 7) $5 for an hour of wi-fi (limited) and $20 deposit for phone calls (and you will get charged even if thier line is down) 8) food was bad, i even took photos of how bad it was 9) shows? karoke is considered thier show 10) since there to do you will see young drunk people, outside my room there woman with her breasts out on her knees with two men touching her 11) From what we saw there seems to be underage drinking going on there also 12) MANAGEMENT wont help when we compalined they said " well its your decision, you can stay and enjoy or you can stay and complain, but you are not going to anything back from us" Plus, our travel agent also spoke on our behalf and she was shocked because someone from management said " that is your problem now and not ours" 13) and for some who cares about a spa, there is no spa
Their promotion is a form of FALSE ADVERTISMENT, this a resort they try to take out more money from as they can, and they dont know how to even treat the consumer! The sad part is when we complained the employees agreed, but they said in a different way that thier hands are tied behind thier back.
I dont recommend this place save your money and go somewhere else in the north of peru, or go to a place in punta cana if you really want to know what a resort is like!

Room Tip: no real good options sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decameron P, Gerente at Royal Decameron Punta Sal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear guest:

We are grateful that you have shared the comment with us and Trip Advisor.

It has been a pleasure to have received, has spent 4 years since his visit, he commented that has worked hard with our team Royal Decameron Punta Sal which is the slope of the facilities and the day-to-day operation, thus, can enjoy the best experience Decameron.

Agradecememos you for your visit, it will be a pleasure to receive it again so that you can live to the full the experience Decameron.

Cordially,
General Management Royal Decameron Punta Sal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is well placed, between Cancas and Punta Sal, just 2-3km south of the older Punta Sal Hotel.
Infrastructure is good and the rooms are very nice, although some are bigger than others. Rooms with direct ocean view are nice for sunset, but remember that it will get very warm since the sun will enter through your main window. The pool is big, see pictures, but not very child friendly.
On the bad side:
1. This is supposed to be more of a family hotel, but, they need more infant chairs, you really have to fight for them. The pool is nice, but the floor around is very slippery when wet, and no, putting a sign forbidding your from running is not going to stop any children. The pool itself has very slippery tiles too and hence not a good place for children.
2. Again in the beach, there are people renting 4x4 motor bikes to anyone, I even saw minors driving around between children playing in the beach. I consider this a big hazard. Similar for horses, but the guy renting them is always controlling them, so I was more worried for the motorcycles.
3. As some said before, employees are friendly but not very helpful and sometimes annoying. For example I was carrying my child in one arm and the infant chair on the other and no one came even to offer help. When you go to the pool bar just after 6pm they are closed! And even though there is still people there they say we are closed and turn around.
4. Pool hours are from 9am to 6pm, can you imagine? What if I want to swim before breakfast? What if I want a midnight dip since it is hot, or drink a beer in the pool at sunset? Nope, we are closed...
5. Now lets go to the food, this is an all inclusive, so there should be plenty of it right? Well yes if you go for the cheap stuff. But for example, the ceviche (typical peruvian food), which is raw fish in lemon sauce, is served VERY slowly, and in very small portions. You can really feel that it is costing them a little more and they make every effort to limit your consumption. As for the rest of the food, it is average, there are some good plates sometimes.
6. MSG, by the way, ceviche is full of MSG (ajinomoto) so beware.
7. When you go for mariscos (seafood) you have mostly pota (cheap calamari), I think it was pota and not real calamari but I may be wrong. Very little squid (since it is more expensive) and I never saw any shrimp, although Tumbes is a huge shrimping ground.
8. The pastries were good, bread was good too, but you cannot live on that.
9. Drinks, we got wine from the box... Gato Negro... almost no flavor
10. NO we do not want to be members of the DeCameron family... like in other places, there are some employees trying to sell you DeCameron membership, which is as annoying (though less) as the Melia employees in Punta Cana trying to sell you time-sharing.

Bottom line, if you don't mind mediocre food (still better than Carnivals Cruises food) and service where a lot of training is needed (they are mostly friendly though) you may experiment with this hotel.

But next time we'll be going back to Punta Sal Hotel 3km further north, I just hope they have taken the time and opportunity to improve. We tried this one as we were not very happy with Punta Sal last time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiguelRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decameron P, Gerente at Royal Decameron Punta Sal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear guest:

We are grateful that you have shared the comment with us and Trip Advisor.

It has been a pleasure to have received, has spent 4 years since his visit, he commented that has worked hard with our team Royal Decameron Punta Sal which is the slope of the facilities and the day-to-day operation, thus, can enjoy the best experience Decameron.

Agradecememos you for your visit, it will be a pleasure to receive it again so that you can live to the full the experience Decameron.

Cordially,
General Management Royal Decameron Punta Sal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This new resort is in construction process, it has 300 rooms and it is project for 1000. The service is good, the staff make an effort to bring it, the rooms are nice as one could expect from this resort, the food is his weakness (the selection of foods is not good enough, you get quantity but not quality, it is a bad sample of peruvian cuisine). The recreation areas are few yet, not good night shows except karaoke. Almost always you can get good weather at this location.
It is better if you arrive by Tumbes airport, not by Piura because is more far from hotel, there are packages that includes air and earth transport.

Room Tip: I suggest rooms in higher floors (third) because you have a great view, actually block 20 or 21 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HoracioJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decameron P, Gerente at Royal Decameron Punta Sal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear guest:

We are grateful that you have shared the comment with us and Trip Advisor.

It has been a pleasure to have received, has spent 4 years since his visit, he commented that has worked hard with our team Royal Decameron Punta Sal which is the slope of the facilities and the day-to-day operation, thus, can enjoy the best experience Decameron.

Agradecememos you for your visit, it will be a pleasure to receive it again so that you can live to the full the experience Decameron.

Cordially,
General Management Royal Decameron Punta Sal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The location is amazing there are beautiful beaches in the north of peru, with sun almost all the year, it is an all inclusive resort the very first in the country, facilities are common to any other all inclusive, about gastronomy it is so peruvian, they should try more international options for people from other places, all the staff is in trainning cause is a new concept. It was a good time but they have to improve step by step to get full running. I will came back soon because it is just one hour flight to give them a chance.

Room Tip: It is a 300 room hotel, but none of them is far from the beach, they charge you plus for the ones cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpcea00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decameron P, Gerente at Royal Decameron Punta Sal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear guest:

We are grateful that you have shared the comment with us and Trip Advisor.

It has been a pleasure to have received, has spent 4 years since his visit, he commented that has worked hard with our team Royal Decameron Punta Sal which is the slope of the facilities and the day-to-day operation, thus, can enjoy the best experience Decameron.

Agradecememos you for your visit, it will be a pleasure to receive it again so that you can live to the full the experience Decameron.

Cordially,
General Management Royal Decameron Punta Sal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Reservation (1/5). One out of five is given because quotation was sent two weeks after the inquiry. Their phone assistance line was either defective or no agents were ever available because our incoming calls were just not answered.
Infrastructure (3/5). Installations are brand new which is a positive factor with nice architecture, beautiful pool, spacious facilities and room accomodations. Unfortunatelly sewer odors were frequent at the south part of the pool, not one day but every day.
Service (2/5). It is understandable that resort was recently inaugurated and that some details require constant improvement, but quality of service was definitively unacceptable. Staff was so poorly trained, it seemed like they had all just been recluted. Lack of cordiality in their daily attention and speed of execution of their tasks was so slow that waiting times to be attended at dinning table, bar, buffet and other places became awfully long and annoying.
Food & Drinks (1/5). Food & drinks were way below our expectation for a world class resort chain, with world class pricing. The variety and quality of the buffet and also the two a la carte restaurants was mediocre.
Wine was so awfully bad and cheap liquors were used to prepare drinks, whiskey was Vat69 for instance.
Also, its no good news that the only available size for plastic glasses at the pool bar were 4 oz (aprox. 100 ml), if you ordered with ice would only get a couple of sips to drink. Besides that, only no sugar drink available was coke zero and water. Incredible!
If you are planning to visit Punta Sal, I would strongly suggest to consider going somewhere else until management of the resort take corrective measures about this flaws. A good option is Club Hotel Punta Sal.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
10  Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decameron P, Gerente at Royal Decameron Punta Sal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear guest:

We are grateful that you have shared the comment with us and Trip Advisor.

It has been a pleasure to have received, has spent 4 years since his visit, he commented that has worked hard with our team Royal Decameron Punta Sal which is the slope of the facilities and the day-to-day operation, thus, can enjoy the best experience Decameron.

Agradecememos you for your visit, it will be a pleasure to receive it again so that you can live to the full the experience Decameron.

Cordially,
General Management Royal Decameron Punta Sal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It is a building site. Not ready for habitation. Staff are lovely and well meaning but have no idea whatsoever, probably due to lack of training. English or any other European languages are alien to 99.9% of the staff.
Main dining room not open and meals are in snack bars.
No gym or spa.
Power cuts, regular tv reception outages are a daily occurrence. Don't expect to be asked if you would like a refill for coffee or wine. No bar snacks, peanuts, crisps with your bar drinks.
I paid a fortune to stay here and it is very poor value for money,
The list is endless, unlike my patience with such places!
The taxi arranged to pick me up from the airport didn't turn up and it is a 3 hour transfer and "250 sol cost (the hotel eventually paid)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sadoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decameron P, Gerente at Royal Decameron Punta Sal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear guest:

We are grateful that you have shared the comment with us and Trip Advisor.

It has been a pleasure to have received, has spent 4 years since his visit, he commented that has worked hard with our team Royal Decameron Punta Sal which is the slope of the facilities and the day-to-day operation, thus, can enjoy the best experience Decameron.

By its preference agradecememos you, it will be a pleasure to again receive, from already look forward to your visit.

Cordially,
General Management Royal Decameron Punta Sal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Sal
10.8 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 33 in Mancora
352 reviews
15.3 mi away
Vichayito Bungalows & Carpas by Aranwa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Smiling Crab
Hotel Smiling Crab
#8 of 18 in Tumbes
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punta Sal Bungalows
Punta Sal Bungalows
#2 of 8 in Punta Sal
31 reviews
5.1 mi away
Yemaya Boutique Hotel
Yemaya Boutique Hotel
#4 of 18 in Tumbes
169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punta Sal Suites & Bungalows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Punta Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Punta Sal

Address: Carretera Panamericana Norte Km. 1190, Punta Sal 24560, Peru
Location: Peru > Tumbes Region > Punta Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Punta Sal
Price Range: $190 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Punta Sal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Decameron Punta Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing