We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for outdoorsy people”
Review of Mather Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morrilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mather Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for outdoorsy people”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

You will be blown away by the view as you approach the lodge. The staff is also very friendly. One recommended we watch the sunset from a lookout on Red Bluff Drive and it was fantastic. We stayed in the lodge, but next time I might try a cabin. They are not far from the restaurant, so they would not be inconvenient. Our room in the lodge was clean and basic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My family and I just spent four incredible days at Mather Lodge. Everyone agreed it was one of the best vacations ever. We were a large group traveling with 4 young children, the oldest being 8 years old. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and I found that the Lodge itself was very well maintained. The scenery was unbelievable. At night, there is quite a group that gathers on the terrace outside of the lodge to watch the sunset. It really was an incredible sight. This was a wonderful trip and we definitely plan on returning again and again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkejaleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Mather Lodge and Petite Jean State Park built in the Ozark Mountains of Arkansas offers a rustic lodge built by the CCC or newer cabins in the park. Excellent food in the restaruant at the lodge!

Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I've been to Petit Jean State Park on many occasions and since the drive
is only a couple hours from my home, I've never stayed overnight until
this trip. We arrived at Mather Lodge and immediately inquired about
their cabins. We were surprised to found out they had only 1available.
We promptly secured the cabin for one night's stay. We found the cabin to
be clean, modern, roomy and quiet. The restaurant at Mather Lodge is
open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. That is very convenient considering
there aren't any nearby stores to purchase food or supplies. The location of
the cabins is very convenient to the many hiking trails. Overall, we had a great
time and are planning another stay at the cabins in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We were 4 couples on a motorcycle trip through Arkansas and surrounding states. We try to look for unique places to stay and the Mather Lodge atop Petit Jean Mountain fit the profile! Lots of history, beautiful overlooks, a hiking trail down to the waterfall and many things to see and do. The restaurant was good but the breakfast buffet was very good! The setting area next to the huge rock fireplace made a nice place to set and enjoy laughs with the other riders in the group. We are already planning on going back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarvaandLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

nice clean cabin in the Petit Jean National Park. has all of the needed ammenities with a few surprises. cabin equiped with a full kitchen, living, dining & bedroom. surprised to find a nice sized screen porch with a swing and an ourdoor deck with grilla nd picnic table. wonderful place to stay after a days hike to cedar falls and around Petit Jean.

*** the only major complaint was the comfort of the bed, but that is to be expected when traveling, right?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildcarddesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seguin, texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in a duplex cabin during a hiking and paddling vacation in Arkansas. The lodge consists of a hotel built by the CCC as well as a couple dozen cabins. The lodge sits on the top of Petit Jean mountain and overlooks the mouth of Cedar Creek Canyon with a spectacular view of the Arkansas River Valley. Fellow Texans might think it looks similar to the Window in Big Bend's Chisos Basis, but with far more trees. The lodge also sits at the trailhead of several hiking trails and is only about a quarter of a mile away from the overlook for Cedar Falls, the highest waterfall in Arkansas. As for the accommodations themselves, the staff was polite and helpful, and check in and check out was easy. There was adequate parking. Our cabin sat with about a dozen other cabins in a wooded area a short walk from the lodge. The room had two full beds, a working fireplace (free firewood was provided), a full bath, basic cable, and a shared front porch. The room was comfortable and everything worked. I have wireless internet for my laptop through my cellphone company and was able to use it with no problems. The best part was the price. Our cabin was only 75 dollars a night, less then the cost of staying at a chain motel in a nearby town. The only complaints: a state highway goes through the park and runs close to the lodge, and you can hear the traffic. Also, dining options are limited. The lodge restaurant is about what you would expect for a state park. The menu is limited, it's a little pricey, and there's often a wait. However, the staff was great, the food was pretty good, and the view out the restaurant makes up for any annoyances. If you want to stay here, book early. We made our reservations about seven months in advance, and the lodge was already full and there were only four cabins left. Overall, a great value and a nice place to stay in a beautiful location.

  • Liked — great scenery
  • Disliked — wait at the restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cavecritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrilton
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morrilton
13.1 mi away
Super 8 Morrilton
Super 8 Morrilton
#1 of 4 in Morrilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
11.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 4 in Morrilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Russellville
Hampton Inn Russellville
#1 of 16 in Russellville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Russellville
11.6 mi away
Days Inn Morrilton
Days Inn Morrilton
#3 of 4 in Morrilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mather Lodge

Property: Mather Lodge
Address: 1285 Petit Jean Mountain Rd, Petit Jean State Park, Morrilton, AR 72110-9361
Location: United States > Arkansas > Morrilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Morrilton
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Arkansas's historic treasures, Mather Lodge at Petit Jean State Park, reopened on May 8 following a beautiful, and fitting, $4.3 million renovation. The renovation work replaced the lodge's 1960s-era dining room with a more rustic-style design, expanded the kitchen, added a 50-person room for meetings and small banquets, relocated the guest registration desk, enhanced the 24 guest rooms, and constructed a new lodge swimming pool. Public restrooms were added underneath the pool due to its proximity to Cedar Falls Trail, one of the park's most popular hiking trails. The renovation did not affect any of the lodge's original Civilian Conservation Corps and Works Progress Administration work from the 1930s. Now the renovated portion mirrors the Adirondack-style park architecture of the 1930s' portions of this Arkansas treasure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing