We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful!”
Review of Mather Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morrilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mather Lodge
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent one night at Mather Lodge. The weather was perfect for sitting outside & enjoying the beautiful view of the sunset on the mountain. The room was clean & cool and the service was friendly. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place for you. The rooms are small & rustic but they have all the essentials. The food is good with an excellent wait staff. The view from the dining room is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the newly renovated Mather Lodge at Petit Jean State Park in June. The rooms have wooden walls and floors and are rustic in design. Don't spend the night there expecting a luxury hotel but more of an adventure of camping without pitching a tent. The room was only $70 for a night and was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. Our room overlooked the new swimming pool which was beautiful. Right below the lodge is the Cedar Falls Trail hike which we took to see the waterfall. We also ate at the Mather Lodge restaurant which was very good. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. The views are breathtaking from this lodge. Very easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BushkaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for the first time, and have enjoyed every minute. The lodge has great views from the dining area and behind the lodge. The food was excellent, I have seen reviews about slow service, but I have to say our Waite staff has been excellent with a more laid back and relaxed service fitting of the atmosphere. The housekeeping staff did excellent and all of the staff was awesome. We leave tomorrow, and are sad to go, hope our next stop is as great as this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdaniel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we could only get a room with one bed. it was, i think, a full! the rooms are dark and small, but, we were not their to stay in the room! you are just steps away from the awesome views.the swimming pool, that was redone recently, is nice. they close it after 9 pm, i believe. we were never bothered by noise from it, even though our windows were facing the pool. the bed was comfortable.the room was always clean and fresh towels were left. check in was easy-the front desk people were friendly and knew what the park had to offer.

Room Tip: call way ahead of time, to get the size room you want or need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in cabin #7 and loved it. It consisted of 3 large rooms - bedroom with 2 double beds, complete kitchen including pots and pans, dishes, etc., and living room with sofa, rocking chair, TV and fireplace. There is a swing on the back porch and a patio with a picnic table. Behind the cabin is a distant view of Cedar Falls. The cabin was spotlessly clean. Check-in at the lodge was easy, with very friendly personnel. The cabins don't have internet access, but the lodge is only a short walk away where it is very easy to get online. There was only one thing I did not like in the cabin, but it is trivial - the towels were the roughest I've ever used. Petit Jean State Park has some of the most beautiful overlooks that I have every seen, and I hope we can visit here again some day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tailor-made for family reunions. Hiking trails, great cabins for gatherings, a great lodge restaurant for when you don't want to cook. Great prices. Share a cabin as a family, get a single room to keep your distance, or get several cabins and have a poker game. Take turns doing the cooking. Just a wonderful place to relax, reconnect and have a great great affordable time.

Room Tip: Book and plan early. Fall and Spring are best. Summer is great but this is hot, as anywhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank showmestate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family and I ate there on Thanksgiving, and I was very happy with the meal and impressed with the staff. We had to wait awhile, but only because so many people were there. The restaurant did a good job of getting people in and out, and the food was really good. Everyone in my family thought it was worth the trip up there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMegM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morrilton hotels
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morrilton
11.6 mi away
Days Inn Morrilton
Days Inn Morrilton
#3 of 4 in Morrilton
111 reviews
13.1 mi away
Super 8 Morrilton
Super 8 Morrilton
#1 of 4 in Morrilton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 4 in Morrilton
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mather Lodge

Address: 1285 Petit Jean Mountain Rd, Petit Jean State Park, Morrilton, AR 72110-9361
Location: United States > Arkansas > Morrilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Morrilton
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Arkansas's historic treasures, Mather Lodge at Petit Jean State Park, reopened on May 8 following a beautiful, and fitting, $4.3 million renovation. The renovation work replaced the lodge's 1960s-era dining room with a more rustic-style design, expanded the kitchen, added a 50-person room for meetings and small banquets, relocated the guest registration desk, enhanced the 24 guest rooms, and constructed a new lodge swimming pool. Public restrooms were added underneath the pool due to its proximity to Cedar Falls Trail, one of the park's most popular hiking trails. The renovation did not affect any of the lodge's original Civilian Conservation Corps and Works Progress Administration work from the 1930s. Now the renovated portion mirrors the Adirondack-style park architecture of the 1930s' portions of this Arkansas treasure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing