We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new facilities, great staff”
Review of Mather Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morrilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mather Lodge
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice new facilities, great staff”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family and I ate there on Thanksgiving, and I was very happy with the meal and impressed with the staff. We had to wait awhile, but only because so many people were there. The restaurant did a good job of getting people in and out, and the food was really good. Everyone in my family thought it was worth the trip up there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMegM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The view from the lodge and the lodge's architecture are the highlights here, along with some nice hiking trails (Cedar Falls and nearby Seven Hollows, especially). The people that work at this state park are lacking in service skills. The front desk folks and manager were unable to coordinate basic requests and in general seemed dull witted and incompetent. On the other hand, the waitresses and cleaning crews were all really nice and proficient at their jobs.

The rooms are small but spartan. The rate is reasonable and really you go there to spend time outdoors so you just need a place to sleep. The walls are paper thin so you'll hear every thing your neighbors do and say, but most visitors turn in early so it's not problematic. We might return, but it would be better in the spring with some water running in the creeks. The fall leaves were pretty but things were dry in November.

Room Tip: Choose room 117 or 116 if you can; they're at the end of the hall and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenshoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After we were seated it was 20min before we saw a waitress the table next to us had been there for an hour & a half they said I oredered a mather lodge cheeseburger the same as the people at the table next to us they both come out burnt to a crisp!!! & the fries were undercooked! The only way this place is open is because there is NOWHERE else to eat!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown TN
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been staying at Petit Jean for over 30 years. The dining area renovation at the lodge was beautifully done. The view is excellent and the food is pretty good. If you go, I recommend getting a cabin.

The hiking trails are some of the best, especially the 7 Hollows Trail. The views are spectacular. I wish Wi-Fi was available in the cabins, along with better TV selections.

All the employees are friendly and helpful. It is one of my favorite places on earth to visit and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Sometimes they miss the mark when attempting to revitalize or modernize a landmark building. Not so with Mather Lodge at Petit Jean State Park in Morrilton AR. It was recently renovated in keeping with the 1930's original structure and they did a STUPENDOUS JOB!!! The food was unsurpassed. The accomodations 4-star quality. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brite_eyes322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a review about the cabins that are situated next door to Mather Lodge. When you arrive, you do check in at Mather Lodge, which is rustic and beautiful inside and the views you get when you walk out to the back are amazing! Mike checked us in and he is very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Thank you Mike!!!

If you have a chance to stay in the cabins, MAKE IT HAPPEN! We were fortunate to get cabin #17(one of two pet friendly cabins), which is termed a rustic housekeeping cabin. It comes completely furnished(including linens/bath towels) and was clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked and includes stove/oven, micro, full fridge, coffee pot, blender, pots/pans(some nonstick), bakeware, mixer/bowls, cooking/eating utensils, plates, bowls, and glasses, soap and dish scrubber. They also provide a water/food dish for your furry one. There is a small dining area with table/chairs. The bedroom is small yet functional and has a queen bed and desk/chair. The bathroom is small with a hairdryer and ample towels/toiletries provided. The living room has a sofa w/hideaway bed, small TV w/satellite, chair, and fireplace. When you open up the back windows/blinds a spectacular view of the mountains awaits you.

Speaking of views...OMG! When you step outside the backdoor, you have an incredible view of them, and the densely wooded canyon below the cliff on which the cabin is atop of. You can enjoy this view while bbqing on the grill, sitting at the picnic table, or relaxing in the two wooden chairs provided. There is also a chair and porch swing underneath the covered porch of the cabin.

If you like peace/quiet, enjoy nature, and watching the sunset from your backyard, this IS the cabin for you. Your neighbors are a fairly good distance from you. You can see them but you can't hear them. If you can't get #17, then #16 next door would be a good option. Same cabin as #17 but slightly different view.

I LOVED #17 and recommend it to anyone who loves looking at beautiful scenery from "their backyard".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had heard so much hype ( from State Park sites) about all the improvements at the Lodge and about the restaraunt, we decided to book a Fri and Sat night stay there. The people working the check in desk seemed a little out of their element, having to constantly help each other on both of their computers to get us and another family checked in. We get to our room, which are tiny, but that wasn't a problem. Problem was that the bathroom floor was wet and I almost hit my head on the sink when i slipped. Another thing about the rooms, and this may be just MY problem, but the beds are rock hard! I dont even have pillowtop mattresses at my home, but they could certainly use them there. We go to eat dinner about 7 on Sat evening, was given a pager and was told the wait was 30 min. Yeah, right...it was an hour and fifteen minutes! I overheard one server telling another one that someone had called in sick, so yjey just shut half the dining room down! Who does that? We finally were seated and opted for the salad bar since it would be quicker...big mistake....salad bar was ransacked! Wasnt even enough lettuce mix left for one salad. No cheese, no diced ham, no tomatoes, no Ranch dressing, no cottage cheese, etc. I asked and the server said she would fill it up "when she had time". I, along with a couple other customers took photos with their phones, so you should probably expect to see copies of these eventually. I know things happen and bad days occur, but these days, with this economy, most people just really want and need to get their dollars worth. The renovation was nice but what good os it if the service and food are below par? I could have sat outside for free if we were just going for the view. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrilton
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morrilton
13.1 mi away
Super 8 Morrilton
Super 8 Morrilton
#1 of 4 in Morrilton
134 reviews
11.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 4 in Morrilton
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Russellville
Hampton Inn Russellville
#2 of 16 in Russellville
328 reviews
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Russellville
11.6 mi away
Days Inn Morrilton
Days Inn Morrilton
#3 of 4 in Morrilton
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mather Lodge

Property: Mather Lodge
Address: 1285 Petit Jean Mountain Rd, Petit Jean State Park, Morrilton, AR 72110-9361
Location: United States > Arkansas > Morrilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Morrilton
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Arkansas's historic treasures, Mather Lodge at Petit Jean State Park, reopened on May 8 following a beautiful, and fitting, $4.3 million renovation. The renovation work replaced the lodge's 1960s-era dining room with a more rustic-style design, expanded the kitchen, added a 50-person room for meetings and small banquets, relocated the guest registration desk, enhanced the 24 guest rooms, and constructed a new lodge swimming pool. Public restrooms were added underneath the pool due to its proximity to Cedar Falls Trail, one of the park's most popular hiking trails. The renovation did not affect any of the lodge's original Civilian Conservation Corps and Works Progress Administration work from the 1930s. Now the renovated portion mirrors the Adirondack-style park architecture of the 1930s' portions of this Arkansas treasure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing