We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appears nice, but with serious issues”

Holiday Inn Express Monticello
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monticello
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 816 helpful votes
“Appears nice, but with serious issues”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the outside the property appears new and in good shape, the impression continues as you enter the lobby. And ends with the front desk clerk reception and attitude. She looked at us and said "Hi, name?". That was it. No friendly welcome, not even a few words, "just get the papers done and go to your room", was her attitude.

Got to the room, it was spacious, new, somewhat stylish in design. The location of the room was bad, it was right above the main ventilation unit, which was rather noisy. The view was not nice as well, overlooking a factory or warehouse backyard.

Moreover I had specifically requested in my reservation a room "with no connecting door". Well, the room I was given had a connecting door. I already wanted to go back to the front desk, but then thought the hotel was probably not full and they wouldn't book anyone next door. Big mistake! It was not an hour before somebody was in the adjacent room and it was just unbareable! It seemed as if the connecting doors were not there at all. The man was making phone calls on his cell and I could clearly understand all of his conversations. And I am not blaming him, he was using his normal voice volume. The same noise problems related with the connecting door went on throughout the night. The man next door was watching TV until 4am!, again, not loudly, but it was loud enough to prevent me from having any decent sleep.
As a platinum level PC member I do expect to be assigned rooms that match my basic reservation requests. This must have been one of the worst rooms in the hotel ...

Later in the evening I was appalled by two more "discoveries" in the room. There were several long black hair on one of the pillow covers, which clearly indicated all pillow covers had not been changed since the previous guests.
I moved the reclining chair a bit to have a better view of the TV and under it, on its normal location, were pieces of crackers, bread crumbs, dirt and dust. Again a sign of very negligent housekeeping.

I would prefer a property less shiny from the outside but with better service, housekeeping and cleanliness standards as well as management.

Room Tip: Demand a room without connecting doors. Check pillows for previous guests' hair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie Q, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monticello, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We want to sincerely apologize for the our lack of communication. We are ranked among the top 5 properties in the state for guest satisfaction. It is unfortunate your experience was unsatisfactory. We strive daily to better serve our guests by individually inspecting each room using the IHG cleanliness standards. However, we do appreciate your feedback and will immediately address the requested issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
14
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel must have been recently remodeled; everything was clean, crisp and fresh. There were no musty odors, the beds were very comfortable and temperature control was very good. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was the normal HI hot breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This is a relatively new HI Express. Everything was clean, fresh and neat. The staff was friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a great Holiday Inn Express! It's very recently updated with excellent furnishings. The owners definitely chose the high end of the holiday inn line of everything. We have always enjoyed the pool setting. Not the normal HIE setup!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lfferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before and was pleased, but I believe it has been remodeled since my last visit two years ago. Contemporary remodel, very comfortable king bed and variety of pillows, friendly staff, adequate complimentary breakfast and most important, clean and safe area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TXRJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Husband and I stayed for two nights. Room with two queen beds was huge. No musty or deoderant spray odor here. Beds very comfortable. Gorgeous pool area. Very clean throughout. Breakfast much better than recent experiences in other hotels. Breakfast served during reasonable time period. Look forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Hotel has been updated and was very nice. Employees were very friendly. Cookies in the evening and nice complimentary breakfast in the morning. Beautiful pool area with nice outdoor furniture that can be used all year long. If I'm back in this area, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rudychipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We arrived after midnight and the staff was very nice and accommodating. The rooms are decorated in a very contemporary style and have everything you need. The continental breakfast was above average!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monticello
Hampton Inn Monticello
#1 of 4 in Monticello
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Monticello AR
Super 8 Monticello AR
#3 of 4 in Monticello
101 reviews
22.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Star City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Economy Inn Express Warren
24.3 mi away
Super 8 Mcgehee
Super 8 Mcgehee
#1 of 2 in McGehee
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monticello
Days Inn Monticello
#4 of 4 in Monticello
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monticello

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monticello
Address: 146 Dearman Dr, Monticello, AR 71655-3944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Monticello is a two story, interior corridor hotel located directly off of Hwy 425. The hotel features an outdoor pool with a courtyard and six pool side rooms, exercise room and a board room that seats 43. All rooms have two telephones, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee pots, microwaves, refrigerators. Suites are also available. Free High speed Internet wired and wireless is available. Additional hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast with pancakes. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of ,juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs, buscits and gravy, egg omlets or scrambled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. There is bus and 18 wheeler parking in the back, when you bring your boat to fish Lake Monticello, we have electric hook-ups in the back, all you do is pull in and plug you battery up at no additional charge. Visit Monticello, AR and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monticello Hotel Monticello
Holiday Inn Monticello
Monticello Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing