We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort for the body, mind and soul.”
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queens Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this superb establishment by way of taking in the Royal Bath & West grounds Grand Flea/Antiques fair. At first a bit tricky to find with the odd road diversion in place, but arrival even in early winter darkness, the place is impressive. The bar was welcoming and the check in both professional and friendly, informative but not overbearing.
Our room (7) was booked as an executive room and you could easily see why. The decor is very impressive, good comfortable iron bed, subtle colour palette and a great victorian slipper bath. All mod cons are on hand with the possible bugbear to some of the poor wifi! But! The view is simply stunning.
We ate in the bar on the first night and the staff, ambience and exquisite bar menu was superb. The staff are mostly young and very polite and charmingly fresh. For dog lovers this is a canine paradise, and the parade of locals with trusty hound was endless. Breakfast is a relaxed and seem less affair with choice of cereal/granola fruit etc and a huge loaf of fresh heart healthy bread to carve and toast. The classic breakfast is simply lovely and I would defy anyone not to be able to choose another style of breakfast that suited them as clearly all tastes are catered for.
After a great day at the antique fair we came back exhausted, had a few beers and the a great siesta before indulging in what was probably one of the best meals ever!!! I have gone on and on but really I was so happy with this place, the room, the food, great wine and beer, ambience and staff ( even the guy who latish on Sunday night admitted to his love of " Justin Bieber") how we laughed. Well done all at The Queens Arms you made us very happy.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 364 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The pub/restaurant is located realitivly close to home.
We have been a few times before but stayed overnight on this occasion. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and dog friendly which was really handy for us.
This pub/restaurant is not your usual chain pub not to name a few so for this you don't expect cheap prices or your buy one get one free deals for it's proper grub and it's more than worth it. Food was excellent, Great choice of ales and wines etc. Our room was really nicely furnished with all the mod cons. P.s Thank you for a cracking breakfast..... And no I don't work for them but I should.
We will definitely go back shortly.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MatthewP174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

A last minute lunch stop. Great pub. We had Sunday lunch in the bar, the roast beef was great and so were the vegetables (after a quick reminder that they were missing!) they were busy so I'll let them off, this did not detract from the really friendly service.
Kids had macaroni cheese again very good as bowls were cleared. Very reasonable
A great fund will definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Nicktheturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were booked in to stay one night on a DBB basis, but a few days prior to that, we'd arranged to meet a friend {who doesn't live a million miles away} and who thought it would be a good idea to have lunch at this pub. We welcomed the idea as it would give us a good indication of what we would expect.

Lunch:
Service was slow, my soup was expensive for what it was and to make matters worse, it was just luke warm. The price for a glass of wine was too crazy for words - and this was just a small measure in a standard glass... Not a good start!

Our overnight stay:
Check-in was slow, even though there were only a few people in the pub - so not busy. Our room was nice and the bed was comfortable - the bathroom as clean and tidy, but the room itself was quite dark.
Dinner was nice and this time my soup was hot and the service too was friendly.
We didn't sleep at all well, as the room was just above the kitchen and the fan was noisy. Breakfast was ok, have had much better

Would we go back? No thanks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baby-Babble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having eaten here on a number of occasions, we finally got round to booking a two night stay and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the accommodation. We stayed in an executive room in the separate block behind the pub. It was quiet, spacious and tastefully decorated with a nice bathroom.

The food was excellent throughout our stay. On our first night we enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu, which was included in our package (great value at £199). The highlight for me was the black pudding fritter with sweet pea cream and pancetta. We equally enjoyed our burgers the following night and our breakfasts. The full English was excellent and, when my wife asked for some fruit, she was presented with an incredible platter.

The real star, though, is the pub itself. It retains a proper country pub feel, with a roaring fire, a hotch-potch of furniture, great beer, friendly service and a huge bull's head on the wall. We will certainly be back before too long.

Room Tip: Room 8 was great. We also saw room 7, which was probably even nicer but did not have a shower. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a two night stay with 7 course tasting menu for a significant birthday. We received the very best in service, hospitality and food throughout and wished we had stayed longer. Even the local customers were great fun and the staff are obviously hand picked for their personality and "can do" attitude to all requests. Room 2 with its double sized antique bath is a must!! Bed linen and all facilities are top of the range. Well done Gordon,Jeanette and all your colleagues.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymondo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nestleing in a valley at the edge of the village, the Queens Arms is very much the country pub. The bar area is warm, has a rustic feel to it and is inviting to everyone from those just out walking with their dogs, to people using the very good restaurant.
The staff are attentative and friendly, the bar stocks a vast variety of English and continental beers as well as above the normal run of the mill spirits including many varieties of whiskey.
We went for the six course taster menu which was excellent, all courses had an inventive and complimenting taste experience that is well worth a trip. The service was good and the courses arrived at a steady pace even though they were busy, for as well as the restaurant, they had a film night on that evening which was well attended.
The cost of the wine experience was reasonable, ensuring you recieved complimenting wines for each course and cost no more than the average bottle on the wine list, well worth it.
We also decided to stay the night to maximise our experience. The room was very good. Clean, spacious and well designed decoratively, with everything the modern traveller would need whilst still managing to give the feel that you are staying in a country pub.
Well done to the staff and owners of this little gem. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Address: | On The Somerset/Dorset Border, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Corton Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corton Denham
Price Range: $131 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Queens Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2013, Best National Freehouse of the year 2012, Somerset Cider Pub of the year 2012, Taste of Somerset Best Pub 2013, 2 AA Rosettes and AA 5 Star Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing