We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queens Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

had a wonderful two night stay staff rooms food and log fire fantastic it was a great stay. also had a 8 mile walk with lovely views. would recommend a stay and we will go back. surrounded by wonderful countryside great views.

Room Tip: take good walking boots can be very mud walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, General Manager at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, the whole team were pleased we could help make your stay so memorable. We do appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to write.
We hope we will see you and your friends again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 347 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having taken advantage of a Travelzoo offer to stay for two nights at the end of January we were pleased to read the previous good reviews. We arrived at 1pm and as our room was not yet available we had a light lunch and walked to Sherborne (impressive Abbey) which was pleasant although further away than advertised perhaps. Our room was spacious, 2 linked singles making a large bed (slightly too soft for us) but the quilt, whilst good quality, was not big enough for the bed (superking bedding required). The free wi-fi is poor, there is clearly a much stronger signal available but not offered to customers. The main problem (room 8) is the plumbing which is incredibly noisy and obviously requires attention. There was also building work going on right outside during the day which was not relaxing when we were in our room. Otherwise the room was well equipped and comfortable. The food was good (we especially enjoyed the belly pork & pheasant) although the service is slightly lacking, mainly I believe because most of the staff are too young to have acquired the necessary balance of efficiency and experience to deliver a first class service. At breakfast on the first morning we sat for 5-10 minutes before getting up to seek out service even though the waitress had delivered meals to other residents whilst we were in the room and hadn't noticed us. Other customers came over & gave us breakfast menus to be looking at whilst we waited. That said, breakfast was excellent with good quality ingredients, except for the fact that when we asked for more tea, no new teabags were used just more hot water added to the pot which made it far too weak. On the second morning the delicious yoghurt hadn't been refilled when empty, which was disappointing. I know we could have asked but it's nicer not to have to, these small touches would make all the difference. We had only one small biscuit in our room supplies over the 2 days too, which seemed a little mean (none would have been better!). Overall this nice B&B could be truly great with a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 7 & 8 (I think, we were room 8) are in another building set slightly back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, General Manager at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We just like to respond to your 'niggles'.

1. All our beds have mattresses that are medium , neither soft or hard as we try to please everyone, not always possible!
2. We have excellent wifi in all areas - bedrooms, bar and restaurants, you need a code for the rooms and it states this in your room binder but you could have asked avoiding this 'niggle'
3. Rooms 6-8 were renovated last year, the 'noise' is an electric pump only on when the shower is going to sure high water pressure as the water pressure is low in the area and to ensure all our guests get a proper shower we have a little 'noise'. if you had asked we could have explained this to you.
4. The painting and repairs to the outside wood work is being carried out between 10am-4pm in order to ensure minimum disruption to our customers. Its important to us to ensure our customers have as much quality time in their rooms but we also balance this again maintaining an old building. If you had said you wanted to relax in your room we could have resolved this niggle at the time.
5.We employ the best staff for the job and they range from 19-44 years of age, they all under go a six week training program and then have monthly training on new dishes, wines and receive regular updates. Our other reviews say how great the staff are. If there was a niggle with the service at the time you could have ask to speak to someone.
6. Breakfast you did wait 5 minutes but the waitress was making coffee for another table, also you did not sit at a set up table but chose to move to an unmade table, this is ok with us but the set tables have menus cups etc which when you moved you didn't take with you.This would have avoid this 'niggle'
7. Our homemade winter compote, and granola are very popular and go with the yogurt. You could have avoided any personal disappointment / niggle by asking for some more!
8. One biscuit! what about the bag of sweets, hot chocolate, filter coffee, decaf coffee, english breakfast tea, earl grey tea, fruit teas, Loccitane luxury bathroom products, slippers, dressing gowns, free wifi, walking maps, magazines etc ........ These are attention to detail items but you fail to mention them only your one pack of biscuits 'niggle'. Maybe we should withdraw the packs of biscuits as you suggest......

Its a shame you chose to try and find some niggles for yourself, you could have enjoyed your stay otherwise. Especially with a free upgrade to an executive room and your whole stay £181.00 cheaper than our standard price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A voucher deal prompted us to book a two night stay at the rustic but opulent 'Queens Arms' in the tiny Dorset hamlet of Corton Denham - what a splendid adventure it was!

First impressions count and we were greeted by a friendly staff; a roaring 'real' fire in the pub area; a good-sized clean room and, glory be, a double-shower. The pub has eight rooms and is marketed more for the connoisseur of food and wine. The meals are a little pricey where a glass of top class wine is suggested for each course. Well cooked, admittedly, but this is more for the local professionals or those who have nearby weekend second homes.

Our arrival day was pure luck as each Wednesday is film night where the breakfast room is converted into a small cinema. For £10 each my partner and I watched a recent Woody Allen film while eating an excellent plate of fish and chips. An Allen 'expert' had been drafted in too, to offer a perspective at the beginning and a Q&A at the end. Little touches like this, give an added dimension to a stay.

The hotel is ideally located for towns like Sherborne and Wells which I highly recommend you visit - the famous clock at Wells Cathedral is a must - but the adventure truly began during our last night. It snowed and snowed, so by morning around 6" lay outside. A tiny country lane is the only access, so while tank-like 4x4s were able to pass through the snowdrifts, our more humble car had great difficulty. We decided to stay another day and after a friendly haggle with the lady owner, we secured a third night for £50.

We both ventured out into the snow looking like two Sir Ralph Fiennes and managed to climb the opposing hill, slipping and sliding, to the ridge. Blizzard conditions met us with snowdrifts up to 2' deep, but like true two mad dogs and English-persons, we ventured on to the beacon, where we were stampeded by a large flock of freaked out sheep, who thought we had come to rescue them.

To walk around a snowy Winterland is always a joy and the many photos taken of that day will remain a pleasure to view. Back at the hotel, we hot showered and placed whisky in our room coffees. Then, we watched a series of DVD films on the TV which the hotel offers as freebies to clients (placed in the hallway cupboard).

I recommend the 'Queens Arms' - just be a little careful of some of those nouvelle-cuisine meal prices.

Room Tip: Make Wednesday one of your night stays, if you enjoy watching up to date films.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Chris, thank you for your review, we are pleased you got to enjoy your time with us, in the snow and in our pub. Our staff receive regular training on our menus and are more than happy to help all our customers. I know you also borrowed my husbands walking stick to do your walk.
We started our film nights last summer and there is no cost to sit and watch a film, the £10 is for a main meal and small glass of wine or pint of local ale, I am sure you would agree with me - excellent value for money.
We were concerned for all our customers who did not want to travel home on friday 18th Jan, due to the snow and offered you the room at cost for your safety and reassurance.
We serve only locally, freshly cooked to order produce and do have to pay extra for them, that said we do benchmark ourselves to our competitors in the area and we are cheaper than most on our bar menu - fish and chips, burgers etc. We are the only AA rosette Pub in the area and produce high level skilled restaurant dishes, that cost time and money to prepare we do not serve nouvelle cuisine food and we are sorry that you did not try any of our restaurant dishes, as you would have seen this for yourself. We do offer all our customers choice of eating from the bar menu or restaurant menu with dishes starting at £5.95 to £17.95.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Like many others who have reported we had a travel zoo voucher for a 7 course tasting menu. We went on a weekday evening and the full cost of this was £60 per head. The restaurant was reasonably full, a mix of stayers and diners.The atmosphere of the room was a little cool.

Food was well presented and overall probably the equivalent of a 3 course meal in terms of quantity which was fine. Our issue, again mentioned by others, is would you pay £60 per head (£70 on weekends) for a 3 course meal in a country pub?

The other issue is that we only had one girl doing the serving with an occasional visit by 1 male staff. As a result many tables were not cleared either adequately or quickly. Perhaps not the service expected for the price paid.

Overall, would we go again? Possibly but probably for lunch eating from the bar menu. Was it good value for money? No, not on the overall experience we had.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngandfiftyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, however I would like to clarify for readers of your review a few things.

The travel zoo seven course taster menu, includes a glass of bubbly and was sold at £69 for two people. Which means a head cost of £34.50 for 7 courses of food and a glass of champagne, we think its a great deal.

The full price of the seven course taster menu with a glass of champagne each is £60.00 per head and for our dining club members its £50 per head.

A taster menu is not based on quantity but quality, look, style and taste, which you comment on as good. A 'taster' is just that a taster and showcases the type of food we are recognised for. Its not about stacking it high. The taster menu is also about coming for the experience not just a bar meal. Our team of five chefs take time and effort to produce this AA rosette style food and time as well as produce cost money. Our produce sourcing is measured in metres not miles and having fresh, local & unique ingredients also comes at a cost. We make everything from scratch sauces, jus, ice cream etc, nothing is brought in frozen or already prepared like a number of pubs who stack their food higher and cheaper than us.

Our 3 course AA rosette restaurant menu is individually priced, on average our starters are £6.93, our average on our mains are £16.02 and on desserts are £7.07 totalling £30.02 per head not the £60.00 and £70.00 per head you mention in your report above.

Also our menu prices remain constant seven days a week, there is no increase in cost on any of our menus for weekends. so not sure how you work out it goes up by £10!. Also our taster menu, is not available friday nights, saturdays or sunday lunch as we are unable to dedicate the amount of time needed to these dishes to create the taster experience.

I am sorry you felt the restaurant was 'cool' if there are a lot of tables of two there is not much talking between tables compared to larger groups.

We have two front of house members of staff on weekdays evenings at this time of year, one for the restaurant and one for the bar, who helps out in the restaurant when required.

i am surprised that you felt two glasses of champagne and seven courses each for £34.50 was not good value for money, i do not believe you could get AA rosette style food and champagne anywhere else for this price.

I hope this clarifies the difference in a taster menu versus a 3 course meal in a country menu for you.
Regards
Jeanette Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on a travelzoo deal and very happy with the offer. The food was excellent although we felt the food was a little bit pricey if we hadn't been on the voucher deal. Breakfast was very good, making good use of local products. All the staff we came across were very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. Overall the place was very clean and well kept although our shower room was a little tired.
Wasn't a problem for us out of season, but I think there could be a major issue with parking in the warmer months and at weekends.
I would have no problem recommending the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cal9Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you notice that we only use local produce and our strap line is "Measured in meters not miles" however, this dose come at a cost but we do measure our prices with similar establishments and we are no more expensive in fact, we are slightly cheaper in some of our dishes.
You may also noticed during your stay we currently have our own workmen carrying out repairs on the building and, due to the heavy usage, we also have an ongoing maintenance and redecoration programme that includes all our public areas and our rooms due to the heavy usage .

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed 7th & 8th January 2013 on a Travelzoo deal and were very impressed. A real change from the average soul less hotel with hundreds of rooms. This is a genuine old english pub with a log fire and in a country lane miles from anywhere BUT it has 8 rooms which if No. 6 is anything to go by are a good size with crisp lilnen, fluffy towels, most amenities and super country views. We ate in both the restaurant and the bar and both meals were excellent.Breakfast was in the new extension and was freshly cooked to order.(None of your dried up eggs in a buffet here!) Beer lovers will admire the choice of local ales and the wine menu was extensive..The staff were very friendly without being in your face too much, and not once did I have to give my room number when adding drinks or food to my tab which shows how small and personal the place is. It is in a delightful tiny village with some superb walks up on the ridge, with outstanding views. (they even lend you wellie boots if you forget your walking shoes) We would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who loves the country and likes a more rustic feel to their accommodation without compromising the modern facilities.

Room Tip: Room 6 doesn't adjoin any other rooms ans was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56RDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. We are always pleased when our guests enjoyed their stay and appreciate all the hard work our staff put into making your stay a very enjoyable one.
We do hope you can return in the not to distant future.
Kind Regards
Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in November. Lovely place but when we stayed it had scaffolding up having repairs to the roof I think. Great place though but we felt it was a bit isolated and a massive diversion was in place for us on arrival. Very friendly and welcoming place and we had a great lunch on arrival., We noticed that it was a very busy place which I suspect many were locals being in a very small village. Meals in the resturant were excellent as we ate there both nights as quite a distance to drive to Sherbourne and not knowing the roads and not very well lit we did not want to chance leaving in the dark!! Sunday on arrival back after a day out we had to park our car right down the road in the village due to the number of cars around the Queens Arms - later when we went to move our car it was pitch black on the road and no street lights which we thought was quite damgerous.
The room we had at the Queens Arms was great! It was very spacious and very comfortable. The only thing we had a problem with was the shower which seemed to leak as we had a knock on the door to be told that water was coming into the resturant, Other than that I could not fault the place and would definately recommend for a weekend away as beautiful countryside all around and great for walks.

Room Tip: Not sure but they did have better rooms than we had but could not complain about ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DizzyDi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your review and I have added our response to your comments.

We are sorry that your visit was just after we had suffered some storm damage to the slates on our roof. We had our builder look at them and were advised that due to old age the slates and nails were in extremely poor condition and needed to be replaced ASAP. He also advised us that slates falling from our roof could case damage to customers vehicles or even worse it could injure someone so we acted immediately and had them start work to replace all the slates on the roof.
We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you but this was a matter of safety for all our customers.

The diversion, which was in place during your visit, was due to the Wessex Water Board replacing a main pipe on the Road leading out of Corton Denham heading towards South Cadbury and did not effect the road towards Sherborne. This work has now been completed and the road is once again open. We are sorry this caused you inconvenience and can assure you we did everything possible to push the Wessex Water on to finnish this work as quickly as possible as it did effect our trade.

As you pointed out we are an extremely busy Pub unfortunately, we do not get lots of local from the village and most of our customers come from further afield to sample our Ales and Food and as the National Freehouse pub of the year lots of customers do travel to our Pub.

Street lights are not installed in Villages however, We do supply torches, umbrellas, willies, maps etc free of charge to use for all our customers.

Room 1 was fitted with a Drench Shower Head and as such if it was left running for very long periods will overflow. I understand that you had left the shower running while you watched TV and it did overflow that day. We have now had to change that Shower Head.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Address: | On The Somerset/Dorset Border, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Corton Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corton Denham
Price Range: $126 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Queens Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2013, Best National Freehouse of the year 2012, Somerset Cider Pub of the year 2012, Taste of Somerset Best Pub 2013, 2 AA Rosettes and AA 5 Star Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing