We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & a fantastic location.”
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queens Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Warm friendly pub and extremley comfortable rooms with a lot of extra touches and attention to detail that makes the queens arms different from the rest. Good food and well kept ales! Jeanette, Gordon and the team are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your response and noting our attention to detail and well trained staff . We are a small country inn and like to ensure people feel homely and looked after.
We hope you come and visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 347 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in October and I would just like to say it is a beautiful place set in a lovely location. Rooms excellent, as was the food and Jeanette and Gordon are the perfect hosts.

Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we do spend a large amount of time and money ensuring the place has a truly christmas feel. We also ensure all our rooms are welcoming and our staff cater for everyone needs.
We do hope you are able to visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

An absolutely beautiful pub with rooms - excellent food, lovely staff and gorgeous bedrooms.

Breakfasts were especially good and the pub was splendidly decorated for Christmas.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here on a special deal and were not disappointed!!
The Staff were really friendly and attentive.... and we were made to feel at home from the moment we walked through the door(Free tea and cakes)
Location was fab... rooms were lovely, clean and to a high specification. Bar was rustic and full of character with a good choice of Ales!
The food was out of this world!!! The quality and the quantity was 1st class!!
Thank You... We will stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadeusz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and could not believe how lovely our room was espically as this was book on a special deal offer. The staff were very polite and helpful and there was a good choice of food on either the bar menu or the restaurant menu. The breakfast was also very good, a good choice with local bacon and eggs, so all in all we have a lovely time and will return at some stage. It was good to meet Jeanette the owner as we were leaving, I think she has done a excellent job. Well done for making it so inviting and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for the kind comment on your review. We are always pleased when someone recognises that we provide local produce as we believe in providing as much local produce as possible.
We do look forward to having you stay with us again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at The Queens Arms recently on a deal, so expected that there might be a catch. On arrival we were surprised to be met with scaffolding around the building, in fact we drove past initially, but then instinct made us think uh-oh! When we asked the bar staff checking us in, he said that there were emergency roof repairs required, but assured us that the workmen would not be starting "early". This was indeed the only catch we encountered during a lovely stay; but one that we felt would have been better managed by advising customers of this before they came to stay - we did note the unhappy reactions of other guests. I don't feel that telling people before would put too many off, and strongly feel that it would have made live easier for the staff taking the rap.
The bar area was wonderful; very cosy, friendly and the atmosphere was a delight. Our room was beautiful, very clean and although a little bit worn/tired in places, we felt that this only added to the charm and was appropriate for costs and expectations (which were exceeded). The food was very good, both the dinner and particularly the tasting menu. Some dishes were exceptional - we loved the beef and the elderberry parfait. The only slight let down was that the accompanying wine flight with the tasting menu had smaller volumes than we have received at other establishments, although it is reasonably priced. It also often arrived late, as the staff were rushed off their feet. Breakfast was excellent, although there was over 30 minutes wait on the first morning. Still, we were relaxed and it was worth waiting for when it arrived. We always like to visit restaurants that champion local food, and this was very obvious here; provenance was stated on menus and discussed.
The real draw of the Queen's Arms in our experience is the staff. As mentioned above, the staff were working VERY hard, and although it was obvious that they were rushed, we didn't feel that we were being rushed or neglected, we simply appreciated what an excellent job two young adults were doing - serving two dining areas and the public bar. They were friendly, helpful, energetic and provided us with an extremely enjoyable time, always happ to engage in conversation when the timing allowed. Whilst the Queen's Arms is not a silver service establishment, the unpretentious, smiling, happy staff really are a major asset and it seems that the owners look after their staff. These are key features for us when deciding if we would go back and recommend this venue to friends - which we certainly would be happy to do.
There were other guests visiting on the same deal as ours; we were also aware that some appeared to be trying to wring every last penny out of the deal, and were making what seemed to us to be unjustified complaints. The staff handled these beautifully, and I do hope that unfair reviews are not posted as a result; that would be a real shame.
We would love to revisit the Queen's Arms when its beauty is restored and the scaffolding down, and would enjoy being under less time pressure so we could take advantage of the wellies, maps and picnics which they offer for the many walks available locally.
And we weren't woken by the builders!
Thank you for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happybubbles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of the Queens Arms. We are now happy to say that the emergency repairs to the roof have been completed and the Pub is once again looking fantastic.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have just returned from this lovely pub in the middle of the countryside with no complaints at all EXCEPT £10 corkage on our bill when we checked out!- just for us to enjoy a drink in our room instead of a busy bar! I even bought my own corkscrew so all that was provided was 2 glasses! I have stayed in many hotels before and never had to pay this corkage charge.It didn't spoil the time we spent there as everything was lovely BUT a very mean way of adding on to the cost of our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Debs50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, General Manager at The Queens Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We have read your review and subsequent email to us. The wording on The FRONT PAGE of the guest booklet in all our rooms states " The Consuming of food, beverages and alcohol, not purchased on the premises is not permitted unless by prior arrangement. Please note corkage will be charged and added to your room account."
The policy was quite clear for all our customers to view.
I have never personally taken my own drink to a pub before or my own food to a restaurant and like you have visited many pubs, restaurants and hotels over the years. We provided glasses to you and then had these cleaned and serviced at an expense! You stayed on a deal in an executive room which would have cost £220.00 if full priced had been paid but you paid £99 for the offer saving over £100.
I am surprised that you have never encountered this before as many respectable establishments who sell food or alcohol also adopt a similar policy. Perhaps if this is your normal practice you should first check with the proprietors/ managers and make a prior arrangement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Address: | On The Somerset/Dorset Border, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Corton Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corton Denham
Price Range: $126 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Queens Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2013, Best National Freehouse of the year 2012, Somerset Cider Pub of the year 2012, Taste of Somerset Best Pub 2013, 2 AA Rosettes and AA 5 Star Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing