We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a do up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candyland

Candyland
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Taupiri
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs a do up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Was so excited to come here with my partner who had never been but what a disappointment. Low stock and in need of a paint job. Used to be so cool, still could with some work

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Coca7103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    7
    12
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

first time going to candyland. went with friends from canada, and came out feeling embarrassed. good range of lollies but way overpriced! went on the "tour", sat through some sort of introductory video shot in the 80's... turned out to be a video about how they made good profits in the beginning... Zzz. tour lady seemed grumpy with a general lack of passion for her job. when it came time to make the lollipops, we were handed the candy then they expected my 1.5 year old to make her own lollipop?!? i ended up trying to make two before they cooled and cracked.. needless to say it ended up on the floor. couldnt understand why they charge for children under 5 when they cant make their own lollipops? im a local and am NEVER going back. good one candyland, childhood dream shattered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tegan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Sweet heaven!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We popped into Candyland, en route to Rotorua on a tour of NZ.

My husband, a confessed sweet addict, was happy and soon started to fill his bag with sweets, which soon got eaten on our road trip!

The giant lollipops went down very well with my NZ family - loved the bubblegum flavour.

Yes, the building is old and could do with updating and brightening up, but it is fun to look around. It was quiet when we were there, but we decided to stop for lunch and had a nice sandwich and muffin, served by a lovely girl.

Work in progress I would say but support your local businesses and enterprises. If we lived nearer we would, but the UK is a long way to travel when you need a sugar boost!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bleh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I remember when we would take family trips to Auckland and we would always pass the Candyland sign - us kids always wanted to go there and when I finally did not too long ago it was just so bleh!

This is not a candyland at all. It's a big, dirty, decaying shop with empty shelves and overpriced products. I'm amazed it has lasted this long. It's not a candy adventure, it's a disappointment.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ky_Wadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A kiwi icon in need of a makeover”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is legendary. Ever since the hey day of Radio Lollypop and the bearded candyman taking kids on tours of the factory, this place has been on a steady decline.

Last trip was a sad dissapointment. I could not help feeling sorry for the place. Shelves were half stacked, stock was running low. It was slightly untidy, not messy but not sharp, crisp and clean like it used to be.

Highly recommend anyone have a visit and try some of the rock candy or chocolate but be prepared to shell out some serious cash for the limited amount of candy you may come away with.

I wish this business all the best and would welcome to chance to give it 5 stars in the future, should they invest the capital to put this attraction back on the map!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheleco1975, Owner at Candyland, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we have spent considerable capital over the last two years on upgrading the facilty since taking over from my father in December 2011, but due to the sheer scale of the place it will be an ongoing process.
We have made considerable changes to the candy shows and are now the only place in the world where you can make your own lollipops. We are endeavouring to make the candy shows (its not a tour) as interactive as health and safety departments allow.
Yes the building is over 60 years old and was a dairy factory. The machines are in some instances over 150 years old. Thats the point.
We are a working model of an old fashioned candy factory making our fudges, candies and chocolates by hand, using old recipes with no artificial flavours, colours or preservatives.
We also prefer to stock other New Zealand manufacturers, and the very small amount of imported candy we stock is unique and tasty, eg American Twinkies.
BTW, our pick and mix is exactly the same price or cheaper than supermarkets but we have real milk bottles, real spearmint leaves, real aniseed wheels to name a few. And we have expanded the lines considerably, and are clearing space for many products to still come in.
So we hope you will return again and again as we continue to make more changes to this iconic New Zealand attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candyland also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Ngaruawahia, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Candyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing