We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Confusing but Good in the End”
Review of Hospedaje Mirador

Hospedaje Mirador
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Mirador
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Castro
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We actually ended up in a second hotel on Lillo about 3 blocks down from the original. We were suspicious at first but it worked out well as we had rented a car and this location had very secure on-site parking (the other has off-site I believe). Breakfast was excellent and Magaly and her family were very friendly and helpful. The location is both good and bad - right on a busy street, market across from it and construction next door, so it was loud and hectic during the day but quieted right down at night. Our room had a window to the front and was both roomy and bright.

Our only complaints were that we felt we should have been told we would be in a different building (or given a choice) and that if everyone showed up for breakfast at the same time there wasn't enough room. Also, the "beautiful sea views" were really just a vague glimpse over the surrounding buildings.

Room Tip: Probably a better wifi signal in the front rooms. Saw a couple people sitting at our end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 30 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Castro, on Chiloe for 2 days and we chose to stay in this hostal because it was recommended in our guide and we did not regret it.
The owner is really nice and helpful. The rooms are small but really clean and perfect for a short stay and you can use the kitchen if you wanna cook your own food.
We decided not to eat breakfast but it looked good.
The hostal is in the center of the city (even though Castro is really small)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This place was absolutely terrible. I only give it 2 stars because the breakfast was good, and the views were lovely (not so sure about LP saying it was breath-taking, but they were nice). The whole place REEKS of smoke. When we first got there, we noticed, but it wasn't too bad. The intensity increased due to the family that lives there smoking (I couldn't really figure out who it was, but who cares?). We were gone around town all day walking, and came back to a complete-smoke-zone. We also arrived to no hot water, and no heat in the room. She said that it runs off the oven downstairs that doesn't run at night - that was obviously not mentioned while we were checking the place out and I asked about the hot water. She said that it would be back on during the day. That's actually fine with me, because I sleep hot. However, when we went to shower and get going at 10am the next morning, there was little heat and barely luke-warm water.

Also of note is that because you are on the water it's a bit loud. Also there is a dog that barks like mad for long stretches. I was able to sleep okay, but it's most likely because I've been in Latin America for over 2 months.

Then as we were packing up in the morning we noticed a cigarette butt hidden behind the armoire. Just lovely. :(

The breakfast was nice though. Salami, cheese, bread, yogurt, nescafe, tea, jelly, and butter. I hate nescafe, but that's just LA. Overall, the breakfast and the views were nice... but definitely not worth the terrible smoke, tiny, tiny room, and noise. Very disappointing that of all the places listed in LP that I picked that one. We moved over to Palafito Hostel and are a MILLION times happier. Just make sure you make reservations!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mjr0174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Having stayed here 3 or 4 times in the past few years, I can highly recommend this B&B. Location is very convenient and near the bus terminal, but on a quiet hillside overlooking the bay. Rooms are clean and have large windows with views. Bathrooms are private or shared, always clean, with excellent shower and hot water 24 hours. A large living room with TV and Internet computers, but also WiFi throughout the house. Excellent breakfast, a couple of notches above the usual. Kitchen is available to guests but is also used by the resident family. Señora Magaly and family are always willing to help with visitors' needs and questions. I doubt that much English is spoken.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RogerCello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We enjoyed staying at the Hospedaje Mirador. The breakfast was ample, showers strong and hot, beds comfortable. The kitchen is difficult to use because it is the family hangout space though they were happy to share for making a sandwich or storing food in the fridge. Not much to do in Castro, we preferred Ancud.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mswanderlust57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

On arrival in Castro we were met at the bus station by the owner and taken to the hospedaje which overlooks the water. It seems like a family home but there appeared to be many guests! All the rooms were really cosy and some had TV`s. The showers were good and we had a big breakfast! The only little problem was that the walls were very thin so you could hear all the goings on from the house. If that doesn`t bother you we would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed: March 2007
7  Thank Fifteen_15_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro
42.5 mi away
Hotel Balai
Hotel Balai
#2 of 2 in Ancud
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Enjoy Chiloe Hotel de la Isla
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parque Quilquico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
OCIO Territorial Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Castro
Hotel de Castro
#5 of 8 in Castro
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Unicornio Azul
Hotel Unicornio Azul
#7 of 8 in Castro
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Mirador

Address: Barros arana 127, Castro, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Castro
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Mirador Castro, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing