We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Castro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Castro
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Castro
givatayim, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spend three nights in this hotel in late October. We, very wisely, chose to pay the supplement in order to have a room in the new wing. We don't know about the old section, but our room ( the hotel calls it a matrimonial suite) is very large and beautifully furnished, and the cream of it was the spectacular view, all the fiord and the peninsula right from the bed.
The hotel in general is nice, with a feeling of a Swiss chalet, all made of logs. the restaurant also have the view. We had dinner the first night and it was really good.
The breakfast was as average, like in all the other hotels we have been in Chile.

Our only but important complain is about the shower. Something is wrong with the plumbing because during all our stay the hot water came dirty, with an brownish color.of corrosion. We had our daily shower with cold water, very clean but, in Chiloe in October the weather isn't very warm.

Room Tip: It's worth to pay the price for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adelmeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    106
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
55
92
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice place, good location. I stayed with my wife and two daughters (2 year and 3 months) over a long weekend. The room was fine, with a nice view. The heating system was disappointing, very unstable, on and off in a weird pattern. Service was very nice, friendly people with good will. The problem was that the hotel lacked of personnel, breakfast time was disastrous! 2 girls serving more than 40 people at a time in a buffet style, no way they could do it!
There was a major issue that I considered "a very wrong decision " by the administration: they installed an ashtray in the hall, separating outside with the main entrance, so people would gather to smoke right on the main way in/out, also, smoke made it's way in trough the main lobby, unacceptable ...

Overall I liked the place, the prices were very good ad the food was nice, if they solve the "smoking issue " (easily) I would recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birutilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Be careful when you book in this hotel and make sure you are set up in the new area. I cannot stress how important this is. I stayed for 3 weeks straight on a business trip in the old part of the hotel and the rooms where smaller than my college dorm room. The shower was ridiculously small and the shampoo and soap we were given was bad. The new rooms are very nice but availability I very limited.
The staff was extremely friendly and the food at their bar was ok. I stayed up at the bar because I did not like the service in the actual restaurant. Breakfast was however terrible, typical south American food which is ham, cheese and bread along with juice, yogurt and cereal; but the quality of the food was not good.
I did hear everywhere that this is the best hotel in town so I really would not like to imagine how any of the others are. If you visit Castro wait until the end of the year when the new hotel is open by the newly built casino.

Room Tip: Be sure to request the NEW part of the hotel where the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night in December 2011. The hotel is located within walking distance of the town's main square, where most of the bars and restaurants are.

The free parking for guests is much appreciated (although it was very crowded and it took me quite some manoeuvering to get out of my spot again in the morning).

The rooms are quite spacious, and very clean - nothing to complain about here. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 1800 for a 3-night stay to find our room in the new wing has been given away, in spite of us booking 1 month in advance with a confirmation voucher to prove this. We had no choice to stay the first night in the old part. Tiny room and very shabby. Moved to the new wing for the remaining 2 nights. Large airy room with picture windows looking out to the water. Restaurant very popular in the evening - breakfast not so good - a fairly limited choice.
Internet in the new wing good, old wing not good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

When we arrived we were asigned a bedroom which had nothing to do with the photos you see in their website. It was tiny, the bedroom was very old and the bathroom was in badly need of refurbishments. We were looking forward to get to the hotel because we had seen how nice it looked like and at the vision of such room we were really disapointed. We complained at the reception that these kind of rooms are not shown in their website and they do not tell you the rooms are this old. The thing is that part of the hotel has been remodelated and the other part hasn't. We waited for a while and finally we got the room the lovely,new, big room with the huge bed you see in the publicity. All the staff was kind and the breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calafate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I went to Chiloe at the last minute, so I didn't have any reservations for places to stay/sleep. I night they had an open room, so I stayed. Here is my honest and unbiased review of Hosteria de Castro:

From the outside the hotel look nice, but a little oddly built. It looks like it has solar panels on the roof. It has a water view of the bay, which is nice for some rooms. My room was on the side and did have somewhat of a water view. Inside the hotel was clean and nicely decorated. There was nothing special that really stuck out about it to me.

The front desk workers were pleasant and nice. They did speak some English, but I spoke my broke, but half decent Spanish with them.

The room was a single bed with your basic nightstand, suitcase holder, TV, and desk. The bathroom was clean and presentable. Again, nothing really that stood out to me. The room rate was $41.000 CLP or around $85 USD. The value was ok.

The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was your typical Chilean hotel breakfast: coffee, tea, pastries, bread, juices, jelly, cheese, and deli meats. Again nothing that really stood out to me.

The worst part of my experience was the lazy barman! He did absolutely nothing to make you feel like a customer. I sat at a table and I had to ask him for a menu, a drink, food, and walk up to the bar to get his attention for the check! As Donal Trump would say, "YOUR FIRED"! The man should definitely find another line of work that does not involve customer service. It reflected in my tip as well!

All in all the Hosteria de Castro is a nice place to stay. A lot better than some of the hostals I stayed in. Nothing special about the place, but a half decent option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro
0.6 mi away
Enjoy Chiloe Hotel de la Isla
3.4 mi away
Hotel Parque Quilquico
1.7 mi away
OCIO Territorial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Unicornio Azul
Hotel Unicornio Azul
#7 of 8 in Castro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tierra Chiloe
Tierra Chiloe
#4 of 8 in Castro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
43.0 mi away
Panamericana Hotel Ancud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Castro

Property: Hotel de Castro
Address: Chacabuco 202, Castro, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Castro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Castro 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Castro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria De Hotel Castro
Hotel De Castro Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing