We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave”
Review of Tierra Chiloe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tierra Chiloe
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Castro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Planning our two-week visit to Chile from the United States, we were unsure about giving up four days to visit Chiloe, but staying at Refugia was one of the best decision we've ever made. Our stay was amazing, thanks to personable and expert guides, gourmet food and the hotel's location in one of the most beautiful places on earth.
This is above all an intimate experience: from the moment we entered the hotel, we were greeted by our host like we were old friends. The hotel has just 12 rooms, so all of the excursions are planned based on each guest's preferences. We toured the historic churches one day (including attending a local festival), went kyacking another day, and then took an incredible day hike on cliffs overlooking the Pacific. Our guides (Benjamin, Anna and Cyril) were very attentive and able to answer questions about nature, wildlife, culture, and history. We met an organic farmer and toured her farm and then our guides arranged for us to meet and visit the house of a a woman who grew up on the nearby island of Quecho. All of these experiences were beyond any expectations and any previous "tour" we're ever had.
And then there's the food - every meal was delicious, using local, fresh ingredients. The chef is very creative and flexible - one guest found sea urchins for sale on an excursion and asked the chef to prepare them for all the guests - it was our appetizer that night. We looked forward to every meal.
All together, an unbelievable experience that we'll never forget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas F, Community Manager at Tierra Chiloe, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Andrew, el equipo de Refugia agradece muchísimo sus palabras y fue un placer haberlos recibido en nuestro Hotel. La experiencia de Refugia tiene como objetivo que los pasajeros puedan conocer realmente esta cultura viva y sus paisajes, por lo mismo hemos diseñado que en cada estadía los pasajeros puedan disfrutar tanto dentro como fuera del hotel los mejores lugares con toda la comodidad y calidad de servicio que requieren.
Nuestro objetivo es siempre mejorar la calidad del servicio, y comentarios como el suyo lo refuerzan.

Afectuosamente,
Andrés Bravari Gambino
Gerente General
Refugia – Chiloé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Tierra Chiloe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

First, our compliments to our guide Marcelo - our trips were great and, ironically, the food on the trips was superb. While the bedroom was very good, a night on our own in the hotel and restaurant gave an empty feeling. And having to choose dinner at breakfast time was just odd. Each course had 3 options - meat, fish, veg for main course so if was hardly stretching it to stock 2 of each surely? Hardly 5-star...
Location - well out of town but overlooking a bay and a field of horses.
Style - ultra-modern wooden architectural wonder.
Overall: they try hard but it's the little touches which let it down. But the guides are great and the trips highly original.

Room Tip: All rooms will be the same and all face in the same direction.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dguycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas F, Community Manager at Tierra Chiloe, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013
Google Translation

Valoramos mucho su comentario, es importante para nosotros saber la opinión de cada una de nuestras visitas y así ir creciendo cada día.

En relación a su comentario sobre la consulta por el menú estamos de acuerdo con Ud. detectamos que no era el momento indicado y por ello esto ya no se hace más en la hora del desayuno .

Esperando pueda volver a visitarnos quedamos agradecidos.

Saludos
Andrés Bravari
Gerente General
REFUGIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Refugio has a wonderful position and its architecture makes the most of the location. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with beautiful views. The food was excellent with a different menu each day. The tariff is all inclusive incorporating full board and excursions. The latter are designed to suit the interests of the guest. Overall a delight.

Thank Jacrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Chiloe, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this great review!
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I'd visited Chiloe 20 years ago - so it was a delight to return and have been tipped into the newly opened Refugia. Beyond the hotels design, scale, position the guides assigned to you were the best I have experienced. For a 3-4 day stay the offer is varied and spectacular: a boat cruise to other islands to see heritage listed wooden churches (architectural wonders); bird watching, migrating penguins, sea lions, dolphins; horse riding; market, shopping and architectural tour of Castro. Spectacular location, scenery and local access. A highlight in Chile for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jovoyvanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Chiloe, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this great review!
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had learned about this new hotel through a local magazine and friends and since we were in the island of Chiloé decided to go for a visit and maybe plan a future trip. The place is very hard to find although once you get there has a nice location facing one of those quiet bays in Chiloé (unfortunately it overlooks a salmon fish farming operation) as well as a very interesting proposal In its architecture. This until we met the manager who mentioned at least 10 times the word 'exclusive' while showing for a few minutes the public areas of the hotel. We knew they had a very good chef but discovered that they do not receive reservation neither for lunch or dinner. Finally the price (which was another difficulty as explained by our host) which in my opinion seems too expensive considering the place and its location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Chiloe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Eduardo O.:
Thank you for your nice review.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tierra Chiloé (new administration), to Tierra Atacama or Tierra Patagonia.
We offer our former guests a discount and would love to regain your trust.
Warm regards,
Cecilia - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at this gorgeous hotel - a big thank you to all the team who looked after us so well over the 3 days we were there.

The hotel not just looks architecturally stunning, it is well-designed – it felt spacious yet comfortable and inviting. And so in keeping with the traditional wooden buildings that Chiloe is famous for. We loved the furnishing and furniture within as well, all looking like they were made especially for this place. The artwork comprising colorful knits near the entrance and subtle splashes of color on some of the furnishings and pieces of furniture set off well and highlighted the harmonious unifying feel of the wood finish throughout. The views were of course pretty amazing, especially when we were fortunate to have the perfect weather that we had. We imagine that the place would feel very much like a very luxurious refuge in inclement weather, looking out through the glass walls into the Pacific Ocean whilst snug and cosy within.

The service level was generally first class throughout. Maria Jose led the team that looked after us in the hotel and she was brilliant. We were very impressed by the genuine warmth and care balanced with a professional approach we experienced. We were pretty surprised by the standard of the cuisine. We've spent the last few months in Chile and have to be honest we think the cuisine is not one of Chile's highlights. But we are now big fans of Pancho the chef here – we enjoyed every meal especially the starters and mains. We liked that the food was not too fussy nor too rustic but most of all simply delicious. Breakfast would be amongst the best that we've had in any hotel. Pretty impressive and this is even without taking into account the remoteness of Chiloe.

The rooms are not large but more than adequate especially when there are many living spaces to stretch around and relax. No TV in the room but who needs one when every room looks out onto the bay and the mainland including a view of the Andes with snow-peaked mountains. There is a spa (which was not open when we were there) as well as a large TV room a level below the living and dining areas.

It's an all inclusive hotel and we experienced a variety of excursions - a coastal walk with plenty of wildlife - dolphins and a variety of birds. It was also our first experience of the tabano - a local horsefly that is annoying and huge so it takes a bit of getting use to. Both Raymondo and Carolina our guides were fantastic, well-trained we could tell from their Explora days. There were a couple of local festivities around the islands in the archipelago the next day when we sailed around the bay with Carolina under the navigation of captain Luis of Williche, a well equipped and exceedingly comfortable vessel belonging to Refugia. Even saw some walruses. We had a special guest, Katy, on board with us who is involved in restoring the many wooden churches of Chiloe (many of them dating back to the 18th century and 16 of them protected by UNESCO as World Heritage sites). We managed even to sneak a little visit to a wet market in Castro and saw the palafitos, traditional houses on stilts.

There seems to be plenty to see in Chiloe and I think we found the best way to do it at Refugia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SengWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Chiloe, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this great review!
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caloucoviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Chiloe, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro
3.0 mi away
OCIO Territorial Hotel
5.1 mi away
Enjoy Chiloe Hotel de la Isla
1.2 mi away
Hotel Parque Quilquico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Unicornio Azul
Hotel Unicornio Azul
#7 of 8 in Castro
94 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel de Castro
Hotel de Castro
#4 of 8 in Castro
260 reviews
42.4 mi away
Panamericana Hotel Ancud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Chiloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Chiloe

Address: San Jose Playa, Castro | Casilla 217, Castro, Isla Chiloe, Chile (Formerly Hotel Refugia)
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Castro
Price Range: $527 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Chiloe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to present the newest member of the Tierra Hotels family, Tierra Chiloe. The hotel, which was previously known as Refugia, is located amid the blue waters of Chile's Northern Patagonia, on a mythical island, dotted with picturesque fishing villages. The beauty of this destination is as much in the landscape as it is in the island residents with their deep-rooted culture and timeless traditions. In true Tierra style, the lodge's distinctive architecture is in-step with its breathtaking surroundings and comes complete with its own boat the "Williche" for navigating the inland waters. With only 12 guest rooms, the property continues in the footsteps of Tierra Atacama and Tierra Patagonia by offering exceptional experiences and personalized service to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Tierra Chiloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Chiloe Castro, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing