We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercadito

Mercadito
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Castro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Seafood, Chilean, South American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Inspired by the markets, our ingredients are chilotes, fresh and local.Cooked with love, we enhance flavors, aromas and textures.Welcome to enjoy a kitchen with personality and territorial consciousness, always fresh, always local.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Interesting decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Entered to the smell of kerosene - worrying to say the least in a wooden restaurant - never found the source of the smell but at least it wasn't used in the cooking!

Food was excellent - the fish and pasta freshly prepared, decent white wine and attentive staff.

Only small bugbear was the announcement on the board that there was apple strudel and ice cream for dessert but this had apparently not been on the menu for some time

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercaditoCastro, Manager at Mercadito, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for visit us. We apologize you for the kerosene smell, in the house behind us, they are in construction and it percibe strange smells. We are happy you enjoyed your experience. We changed our menu according the seasonal products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    196
    33
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This place has really something special !!! I would recommend it to anyone... excellent service with lots of attention, the variety of meals, typically from the territory with special fine touch from the chef, at very affordable prices, make you want to come back to taste the rest of the menu ;-) Well situated (close to the Palafito) with nice view of the lake in front, and inside, the decoration and ambiance is one of a kind too... worth it !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercaditoCastro, Gerente at Mercadito, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for such a good review. We are glad you appreciate our work and our concept of restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Best dinner in Chile!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was,without ANY DOUBT, the best seafood dinner I had since Italy ( my home town).
I highly recommend this place if you are looking for authentic flavours and a really nice place (romantic too).

Best best best!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fedy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercaditoCastro, Propietario at Mercadito, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Happy, Happy, Happy!
So cute comments make us happy and make us feel proud of our work. It makes us happy make people happy ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Innovative food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Based on some local traditions, this menu offers creative dishes. Cozy, with a view of the water, Lucho and staff were very friendly and helpful. The pisco sour was about the best and most interesting I have tried. And although I ordered the meat and potatoes, it was an excellent preparation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerCello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercaditoCastro, Propietario at Mercadito, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for the nice recognition. We will get your apreciation to Luis.
Mercadito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I brought my family here when they came to visit and it was one of the best meals I've had in Chile. It's the perfect place to spend a cold Chiloe night and enjoy delicious food. Great choices for seafood and non-seafood lovers as well. The staff was extremely attentive and welcoming. I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercaditoCastro, Propietario at Mercadito, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for your nice review! We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and feel warm and confortably at Mercadito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercadito also viewed

 
Castro, Isla Chiloe
 

Been to Mercadito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing