We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Torre de Babel
Ranked #5 of 31 Castro B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed there for 5 days and we really enjoyed it. Not far from the bus station and a couple of nice restaurants in the area. Place is very clean, bathrooms spotless clean and a very healthy breakfast. Luis, the owner knows a lot about the island and can help you out for a couple of outdoor activities. WiFi included.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchPete54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 88 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

It's a good place to make a break in Chiloe. The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was in Chiloe for 4 days, Luis the owner is very friendly and he gives you all the information that you need about Chiloe island, the breakfast is delicious and the chocolate that Luis sell is really amazing, the hostel has 2 big bathroom and the rooms are very conftable and warm, there is a little dog that is really nice as well.
the hostel is 4 block from the rural bus stop and 6 from the bus stop,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luisfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hostal is very clean, with a great hot shower and nice rooms. The TV has a lot of channels, the breakfast was really good with real coffee, fresh pressed juice, really nice cheese....it was really good :) The owners are very friendly and helpful. The livingroom is very cosy with a nice fireplace.
The only thing we found a little distrubing was that our room was to a main street wich was a bit loud at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Comfortable beds, good-sized rooms, great advice from the owners about where to eat (and where to get a great coffee). The smoothies and real coffee at breakfast are fantastic too.

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexmagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

It's a nice place, a few blocks from the main square. Very friendly staff and great breakfast. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serdnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We had a little trouble find this hostel as it requires a pretty sharp turn off a main street. I think a sign on the road would be useful. However, when we did arrive it was great. There was free secure parking outside. We were greeted by the owner's daughter as the owner had stepped out for a while. They were very cute and gave us the pick of all the rooms in the house. They then walked through the whole map of Chiloe and gave us recommendations for eating/visiting/etc. It was pretty cute.

The rooms are very clean, if not a little small. The bathroom is shared but is kept very clean and has good water pressure. There is free wifi and internet facilities that are very fast. We used Skype one night with almost no lag for a few hours connecting with home.

The hostel is located about 10 minutes from the centre of town, but less than 5 to the nearest grocery store. We cooked in their kitchen to save some money and it is very well stocked. The breakfast, as the other reviewer commented on was perfect and very filling before heading out for a long day of driving around the beautiful countryside.

We were staying before Christmas and they were offering a Christmas feast for anyone who was away from home. We left a day before so couldn't take part but that was a very nice touch. They also have a cute dog that hangs around outside the property which is always a plus for us.

Definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castro hotels
1.0 mi away
Enjoy Chiloe Hotel de la Isla
1.9 mi away
OCIO Territorial Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Castro
Hotel de Castro
#5 of 8 in Castro
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Parque Quilquico
0.6 mi away
Palafito Waiwen
Palafito Waiwen
#1 of 71 in Castro
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Chilhue Hostal Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Torre de Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Torre de Babel

Address: Ohiggins 965, Castro, Isla Chiloe 5700000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Castro
Price Range: $44 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Torre de Babel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast, tour and kayaking.Only 2 blocks from the rural bus terminal, a few blocks from the square, the stilt tourism, farmers market, harbor and waterfront. 8 rooms, single, kitchen available, laundry service.2 bathrooms Internet Wi-Fi free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Torre de Babel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Torre De Babel Castro, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing