We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penguins in their natural habitat”

Ecoturismo Punihuil
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.00*
and up
Island of Chiloe and The Penguins of Puñihuil from Puerto Varas
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Penguins in their natural habitat”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We took a tour here, and it's really interesting to see these birds in their natural habitat (especially the endangered Humbolt penguins). The guide was overrated, and the towns visited along the way are nice, but unnecessary if you've already visited much of Chile elsewhere. Thankfully, the birds make up for several hours of herding around with a group. Take a public bus if possible. The local restaurants were crowded and served typical Chilote seafood fare, but the crab stew in particular was quite tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy-Travelbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Penguins are overrated but still worth going to”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We took a tour here that went through the hills and the driver/guide talked a lot about the landscape and history of the island which was great. The second part of the tour involved getting on a boat to see the penguins. The guides here were very informative and talked not just about the penguins but the other animals which was quite interesting. The penguins themselves are overrated and boring as there is nothing much to see except, well, penguins standing around.

However, we also saw some sea lions, cormorants and other sea birds and for me personally the highlight, a wild sea otter which appeared several times on the surface. I had been wanting to see one for a while and this was a real treat since we even got to watch it feed before it disappeared under the water.

I would still recommend a tour here though and also through the hills as it is beautiful. I just wish we could have stayed longer to take a walk around the area and not have to go back to Ancud right away. there are some restaurants on the beach too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Penguin Colony Puñihuil”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

You can reach the beach of Puñihuil by public buses, touristic tour buses or hitchhiking. Buses don't go too frequently, so you might try to lift your thumb a little out of town (in town everyone will point on the bus stations).

On the (very beautiful) beach itself you'll find 4-5 companies who all offer the same tour to the rock islands near for 6.000 CLP. They'll get you into the boat, tour around near the coast line to 2-3 small rock islands where the penguins hang around. On the way you'll also spot some other animals like pelicans and seagulls.

It's not a very long and not a veeery exciting tour, but it is a nice thing to do and of course nice to see the funny penguins. They'll tell you about the animals and the nature on the boat as well, also they'll point out to the animals, but i guess for all companies that will all be in spanish.

When you're done with the tour you can head to one of the cafés / restaurants near - they are not as expensive as one might expect and a nice coffee + crepes with a stunning sea view is really worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas_Paraiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well organised”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A group of local families, former fisherman etc, that organise tours now to the islands with pinguins, birds etc. Worth a visit and 30 min boat tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank liesenrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Pedro Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Drive, Knowledgeable Guides”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Despite having read that the road to Punihil was partially unpaved, we decided to take our rental car and turn around if the road was indeed as advertised. Surprise - the road was paved all the way and it was a beautiful drive. There were very few penguins in late October but, we did see some and the guide on the boat made sure that we saw all the birds, otters, ducks, etc. that there were there to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPedroTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecoturismo Punihuil also viewed

Ancud, Isla Chiloe
Ancud, Isla Chiloe
 
Ancud, Isla Chiloe
 

Been to Ecoturismo Punihuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing