We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate Hostel with great atmosphere”
Review of 13 Lunas Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
13 Lunas Hostel
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Ancud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on recommendation from fellow traveller and I'm so glad that I did! This is one of the most beautiful hostels I have stayed in. Albeit a bit pricey for my budget, it was well worth it.
Everything in this hostel is extremely clean and of excellent quality. Dorm Beds are very comfortable and large. Kitchen is incredible!! Location ideal across from bus terminal and close to amenities. Owner Claudio is exceptional - professional, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is delicious - eggs, bread, jam etc, yoghurt, cereal, fresh apples from tree, tea, coffee. Staff is very friendly, along with Claudio's dog Dalca, loved having her around! All in all a wonderful base to vist Ancud and Isla Chiloé !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 197 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. I stayed here as my friend's hostel was full, but so glad I did. The staff are amazing, we had a great Asado with yummy food and Terremotos (Chilean cocktail). The beds are the biggest I've seen, it's super clean, really close to the bus station (across the road), has a nice balcony overlooking the water and the people who stay there are also super friendly. i had a really nice time there and was sorry to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was an amazing hostel, definitely the best of our trip. It has everything you could want - nice rooms, clean bathrooms, big kitchen, garden (with free apples from their tree when we were there), balcony, basement room with BBQ and ping pong table, lounge room with TV, common area with computer & internet, great freshly made breakfast (scrambled eggs, toast, selection of jams, dulce de leche, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea), close to the buses and really helpful staff. Met some awesome people here, it's a very sociable place but there's plenty of room to get away too. Can be a bit noisy at night but not as bad as other places we stayed, and the wi-fi was unreliable, but I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarissaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the bet hostel I've ever been to, hands down. I stayed for 2 nights, and I wish I had been there for much longer. The location is super convenient to everything in town and the bus station. The house is a beautifully built, very homely building and the staff are really for fly and helpful, going out of their way to make you feel at home. They've got good wi-fi, clean bathrooms, gorgeous kitchen and lovely communal areas including a BBQ area. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say. I'll be back there for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Planned on staying for 3, stayed for 5. This is one of those hostels that isn't in it for the money, but instead just loves to see you have a good time. The owners are very hospitable, it's clean, the beds are big, they host social gatherings, and the breakfast is tasty. Can't ask for much more. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logiebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hostel and it was the best hostel i've ever been. The owners, international volunteers and staff are one of the best people i've known. The attention they give you is like being at home with your friends.
The beds, rooms, breakfast, bathrooms are more than amazing, they have little details very well thought by them.
I didn't know chiloe at all, but after this i will defenetly go back! Hugs for Claudio, Pancho, Harry and Via!!!! Hope to see you again!!

Pola, Coni and Jose

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolaMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

More than just a hostel! 13 Lunas is definitely a melting pot for 'long-lost-brothers-and-sisters' all around the world! I never feel like a stranger there. It's located just 5 minutes walking from the city center. The staff (and even the owner!) mingle with all the guests really well! And they treat all the guests more like family and friends than just as guests. Very handy and helpful! The building is very well-maintained and clean. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, big common area, fully-equipped kitchen, ping pong table, 'asado' almost every night, and also movie night! The breakfast is amazing! And you don't want to miss the Penguin Tour (ask them to take you down to the beach. My fave one is Playa Brava, you'll be spoiled!). I couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrykawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ancud hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balai
Hotel Balai
#2 of 2 in Ancud
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiloe Austral Hostel & Tours
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mundo Nuevo
Hostal Mundo Nuevo
#5 of 41 in Ancud
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Caulin Lodge
Caulin Lodge
#13 of 41 in Ancud
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Submarino Amarillo Hostel
0.9 mi away
Hospedaje Austral
Hospedaje Austral
#1 of 15 in Ancud
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 13 Lunas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 13 Lunas Hostel

Address: Los Carrera 855, Ancud, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Ancud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Ancud
Price Range: $33 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
13 Lunas Hostel Ancud, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing