We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 13 Lunas Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
13 Lunas Hostel
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ancud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was an amazing hostel, definitely the best of our trip. It has everything you could want - nice rooms, clean bathrooms, big kitchen, garden (with free apples from their tree when we were there), balcony, basement room with BBQ and ping pong table, lounge room with TV, common area with computer & internet, great freshly made breakfast (scrambled eggs, toast, selection of jams, dulce de leche, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea), close to the buses and really helpful staff. Met some awesome people here, it's a very sociable place but there's plenty of room to get away too. Can be a bit noisy at night but not as bad as other places we stayed, and the wi-fi was unreliable, but I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarissaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    14
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
55
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the bet hostel I've ever been to, hands down. I stayed for 2 nights, and I wish I had been there for much longer. The location is super convenient to everything in town and the bus station. The house is a beautifully built, very homely building and the staff are really for fly and helpful, going out of their way to make you feel at home. They've got good wi-fi, clean bathrooms, gorgeous kitchen and lovely communal areas including a BBQ area. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say. I'll be back there for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Planned on staying for 3, stayed for 5. This is one of those hostels that isn't in it for the money, but instead just loves to see you have a good time. The owners are very hospitable, it's clean, the beds are big, they host social gatherings, and the breakfast is tasty. Can't ask for much more. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logiebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hostel and it was the best hostel i've ever been. The owners, international volunteers and staff are one of the best people i've known. The attention they give you is like being at home with your friends.
The beds, rooms, breakfast, bathrooms are more than amazing, they have little details very well thought by them.
I didn't know chiloe at all, but after this i will defenetly go back! Hugs for Claudio, Pancho, Harry and Via!!!! Hope to see you again!!

Pola, Coni and Jose

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolaMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancud, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

More than just a hostel! 13 Lunas is definitely a melting pot for 'long-lost-brothers-and-sisters' all around the world! I never feel like a stranger there. It's located just 5 minutes walking from the city center. The staff (and even the owner!) mingle with all the guests really well! And they treat all the guests more like family and friends than just as guests. Very handy and helpful! The building is very well-maintained and clean. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, big common area, fully-equipped kitchen, ping pong table, 'asado' almost every night, and also movie night! The breakfast is amazing! And you don't want to miss the Penguin Tour (ask them to take you down to the beach. My fave one is Playa Brava, you'll be spoiled!). I couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrykawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The showers were great! The beds big and comfy! And the penguin tour a must! Everyone was super friendly and helped us figure out transportation for our next destination :) Breakfast had everything you would include in the typical Chilean banquet plus delicious eggs! And in the basement they do asados and have a ping pong table.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C4t4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I can't say enough good things about 13 Lunas hostel. My friend and I arrived at the colorfully painted house just in front of the Cruz Del Sur bus station on a rainy night and we were greeted warmly by the staff and a couple of cute fuzzy doggies. The hostel looks brand new, with lots of artesian handicrafts decorating the walls. We were shown to a room with two twin beds, super cozy, and the shared bath was impeccably clean. We had a great night playing cards and drinking wine, chatting with the staff and a couple other guests. In the morning they had a full breakfast prepared, eggs, yogurt, fresh bread, jams, juice, etc. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a warm and friendly place with a delicious breakfast !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurazihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ancud
0.5 mi away
Panamericana Hotel Ancud
42.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Quilquico
0.1 mi away
Chiloe Austral Hostel & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Mundo Nuevo
Hostal Mundo Nuevo
#4 of 35 in Ancud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hospedaje Austral
Hospedaje Austral
#1 of 13 in Ancud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ancud Petit
Hotel Ancud Petit
#7 of 13 in Ancud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 13 Lunas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 13 Lunas Hostel

Property: 13 Lunas Hostel
Address: Los Carrera 855, Ancud, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Ancud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ancud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 13 Lunas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
13 Lunas Hostel Ancud, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing