We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, central location”
Review of Hotel Ancud Petit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ancud Petit
Ranked #8 of 16 Ancud B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I find the previous review hard to understand as Marcelo, the owner, was nothing but friendly, helpful and courteous to us. We stayed here twice, each time for one night only. The hotel is above a shopping centre and relatively basic. However the rooms are clean, comfortable enough, there is free wifi, self-service breakfast and complimentary tea & coffee available in the small dining room in the afternoon / evenings. Marcelo was happy to store our luggage safely after we checked out and also allowed us to use the communal facilities before going to catch our bus. He was most helpful sorting out for us to visit the nearby penguin colony with a local tour company. This is probably the cheapest hotel that we have stayed in during our time in Chile and the service was just as good, if not better, than some more expensive places. Although, to be fair, service everywhere in Chile has generally been excellent. The hotel is above a shopping precinct on a Main Street and the walls are a little thin so it may not be the best place for a very light sleeper. Also there was a minor issue with the hot water - we had to run our shower for a long time before it warmed up. However, if you can live with the 'quirks' this is a great place to stay when travelling on a budget but requiring a private room with its own bathroom.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived to this hostel without having a reservation and inquired about rooms' rates. We were quoted rates which were higher from the promotion sign outside of the hotel. When we asked about the promotion the man at the reception was impolite and rude. We left the place and took another hotel close by.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Galia718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The owner of this centrally located hotel is very friendly and enthusiastic.  The hotel is located on the 1st floor (2nd floor in Chile) of a building on the main shopping street a short walk from all sites, facilities etc. Cars can be parked behind the hotel free of charge. 

Marcelo will provide you with all necessary travel tips for Ancud and for Chiloe. He does a better job than the folks at tourist information. 

The rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is typical for South America (i.e. nothing to get excited about).

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taste2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A cozy, but really nice and quiet place. With noticeably clean bathroom!
The hostel location is really very central - a convenient base if staying in Ancud. The hostel is on the second floor, entrance in a passage of a small shopping gallery. Great value, includes make-it-yourself toast and coffee in the morning if desired. Free parking near by.
Marcelo is very kind and helpful. Has suggestions and is willing to make calls to check on whatever you need, be it penguin excursion schedules or weather in other parts of the island. Certainly recommended. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hotel was right in the centre of town, upstairs above some shops, with parking. Rooms were small but clean, and management was friendly and helpful. Very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane_granada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: No se me ocurre nada
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseluisolivares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ancud
36.7 mi away
Hotel Balai
Hotel Balai
#2 of 2 in Ancud
22 reviews
36.2 mi away
Hospedaje Austral
Hospedaje Austral
#1 of 16 in Ancud
551 reviews
36.3 mi away
Chiloe Austral Hostel & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 mi away
Hotel Don Lucas
Hotel Don Lucas
#5 of 16 in Ancud
47 reviews
36.6 mi away
Hotel Galeon Azul
Hotel Galeon Azul
#9 of 16 in Ancud
41 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hostal Torre de Babel
Hostal Torre de Babel
#4 of 35 in Castro
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancud Petit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancud Petit

Address: Pudeto 219 Piso 2 | 219, Ancud, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Ancud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ancud
Price Range: $46 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ancud Petit 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 metres from the Main Square and 100 metres from the sea shore. Offers rooms with private bathrooms, buffet breakfast. Free parking is available 40 metres from the property upon request. Guests can book private or regular excursions and tourist information can be requested at the reception.Rooms at Hotel Ancud Petit are fully carpeted and have wooden walls, heating, TV cable and private bathrooms. Wood heating 24 hours and free Wi-Fi in common areas. A self-service buffet breakfast is offered daily.Hotel Ancud Petit is a small cozy hotel with 13 rooms of 19 square meters and smaller. All rooms have natural light, 24 hours electric heating and TV cable. 06 are newly remodeled with fine woods of the area, carpeted and new equipment bed.We are located to 20 meters from the main square and 100 metres from the sea shore. To 28 km of the penguins national reserve. To 80 km away from the churches route. To 8 blocks from Valdivia fort system ( in this area are a strong reminder Spanish presence )From Puerto Montt, is accessible by car or by bus with frequent departures, safe and regular.To arrive by bus; Cruz del Sur bus company has its own terminal located a 04 and a half blocks from our hotel. Other companies just entering at the local terminal of the city, located 16 blocks from our hotel.Walking from the Cruz del Sur bus terminal, two blocks to north ( Los Carreas street that then changes by Mocopulli ) find Pudeto street, there must turn left to the transit direcction and the pacific ocean and walk 1.5 blocks to get to our hotel.By Airplane from Puerto Montt and Tepual airport, you can rent a car or make combination to the bus terminal, where you can buy a ticket by regular bus to Ancud. This distance may take between 2.5 and 4.5 hours, by car or by bus combination, respectively. By Airplane from Castro and Castro airport, which is located on the Chiloe Island, can do a combination to the Castro bus station, where you can buy a ticket by regular bus to Ancud. This distance may take 1,5 to 2 hours.The 24-hour front desk can book private transportation to El Tepual airport, a 2.5-hour drive away, or to Castro airport, which is 1 hours away by car.Note: all times are approximate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ancud Petit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancud Petit Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing