We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good over the whole line” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Lluhay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ancud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Lluhay
Ranked #3 of 13 Ancud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good over the whole line”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was funny to arrive in the hotel full with elder people. We got a very nice room in the back with a view on the bay. The price is quite high, but with such a view, breakfast and cleanliness, that was fine for us. People are friendly, wifi present and location very good. Just anoying that you hear the tv of the room next door ver well, even at six in the morning. A good score over the whole line.

Room Tip: They have rooms with a nice view in the back for same price (room 16 for example).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_vid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great place with friendly staff at a good price. Best location in Ancud close to everything but not disturbed by traffic or other citynoice and with a marvelous view over the bay. Clean kitchen were you can have breakfast and snacks. Lovely bar with great atmosphere , seaview and a big fireplace. There is a wonderful veranda/terrace were we enjoyed a cold one watching the sunset. We can really recomend this for travellers of all ages :-)

Room Tip: Corner room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anki_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in Hostal Lluhay for three nights in April. Despite very mixed weather, some with heavy rain and cold temperatures, the inside was always warm and cosy. Our room faced the angry ocean. The room was warm and the bed was comfortable. Heat and hot water were never an issue. The price was very reasonable. The staff were like old friends and guests seemed to collect near the bar in the front room in the evening for conversation, reading and tasting whatever the owners baked or felt like pouring for the guests that night.

It was a great introduction to and base for exploring Chiloe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We arrived very early one morning after a long overnight bus trip from Villarica, catching the Hostel staff a little off guard with our early start. Our room was not available at the time and we were shown another room which had enough beds to accommodate a football team!. We crashed immediately to be awoken about 2 hours later to be shown our room. Although not quite so many beds this time, it was still very much the same with limited space and a very rustic bathroom. This however was compensated for when we arrived for breakfast and the VIEW!! Fantastic view over the bay and only minutes to the centre of town. The staff could not have been any more helpful, in making phone calls to our next days destinations and making bookings for us in Achao and Chonchi. If you can recognise that you only spend sleeping time in the room, then this Hostal provides most of the necessities at a very reasonable rate. Great location and muy muy bueno hostel staff.

Room Tip: Forget about the rooms; it is the quirkiness of the Hostal and the staff that make it a real experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is absolutly the nicest hostel where I have been since I am traveling in South America!
Compared to the other hostels it is just a lovely place with a fabulous breakfast and an amazing Pisco Sour ;) You should try that! And even if you sit at the breakfast you can see tha ocean - buena vista! In the afternoon you can enjoy the sun at the terrasse or just go for a walk in this nice village. everything is such so close and really easy for walking.
Besides the atmosphere in this hostal is really great and absolutly familiar.
It is hard to travel on if you just get into this house!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnatty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Hostal Lluhay is a delightfully eclectic hotel on the waterfront in Ancud. The furniture and decor are a throwback to another time and place, but it is precisely this quirkiness that makes the hotel so great. The staff are extremely helpful and make guests feel like family (Antonio in particular was excellent). The rooms vary in size and quality but are clean and well cared for. Breakfast is included and the hotel has a bar open late and a beautiful range of cakes. Wifi is free in the common area.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are airy and sunny. The corner 'matrimonial' room has large windows and a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Lluhay in Ancud while travelling in Chiloe to see the penguins and the architecture. The town of Ancud is a peaceful fishing town and we enjoyed watching the cath being offloaded and sold on the docks just next to the hotel.
The hotel serves a great hearty breakfast and even in the summer months the open fire is lit in the mornin to take the chill off the air. It was really pleasant to sit next a real fire while breakfasting on home cooking.
The room itself was dark but functional. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ancud
0.3 mi away
Panamericana Hotel Ancud
42.5 mi away
Hotel Parque Quilquico
43.2 mi away
Enjoy Chiloe Hotel de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hospedaje Austral
Hospedaje Austral
#1 of 13 in Ancud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chiloe Austral Hostel & Tours
0.7 mi away
Hostal Mundo Nuevo
Hostal Mundo Nuevo
#4 of 35 in Ancud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lluhay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lluhay

Property: Hostal Lluhay
Address: Lord Cochrane 458, Ancud, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Ancud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ancud
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hostal Lluhay Ancud, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing