We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“some mixed feelings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Reloj Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Reloj Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Coyhaique
Certificate of Excellence
Yorks
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“some mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as a base to explore the area. Our room was quite cramped with a largish dining table taking up space unnecessarily. The bathroom was also cramped and there was nowhere to hang towels or clothing; no rail, hook or peg. The furnishings and carpet were rather worn and dated and the carpet could have done with a clean. We had a partial view of roof and lovely hillside.
Downstairs was much better! The lounge and dining areas were comfortable and well furnished and the food was very good. Fish and sea food is a speciality and we were introduced to some local dishes. On our first night there was no reasonable priced red wine available and that needs to be sorted.

Room Tip: I think some rooms must be bteter than the one we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
18
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed four days at El Reloj Hotel, and found it to be an excellent choice. The room was fine, with a beautiful view of the valley. The small dining room served very good food with good service. The included breakfast was high quality and ample. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We used the hotel as a base for exploring the area, and had a wonderful day of fly fishing on a high Andean stream with a guide. The town is charming and offers good choices of restaurants. We recommend this hotel highly and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: A back room with a view of the valley is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomverna53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I spent a total of four nights at the El Reloj and was surprised at the quality and cleanliness of the rooms, the helpful and friendly staff and the excellent meals. The owner, Don Angel, went out of his way to help me find lodging in other towns along the Carretera Austral. With the decline of the dollar against almost all world currencies, hotels in Coyhaique and in fact in all of Chile are getting more expensive than they used to be. What I paid was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for room #21. It is the latest addition, modern, large, quiet, private, with large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I made a reservation by email, I received an email back from El Reloj saying that I had to confirm my reservation sending a credit card. I did it. When I called them the day before traveling to make sure everything was fine, they were unable to tell me the status of my reservation because the "system was down". They also said I should have gotten a reconfirmation which I never got. I was lucky to get another Hotel. I am a Chilean so language was not the problem.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank acoustesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were returning to civilization from hiking in Quelat, and appreciated clean, comfortable room. The staff was helpful, and breakfast was good. Good location, on main street at edge of town. Price seemed a little high, but Coyaique is not a cheap town, so reasonable for area and what you get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gringoviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

We came after a long flight from Israel and realy enjoyed our stay in 2 rooms with a great dinner. Calm atmosphere and pleasant and tasty breakfast. Great view of the Reserva from the windows of the room and breakfast hall.
We came again on our last night after a week in Patagonia and loved it once again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank omer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Our son spent close to 6 months in Patagonia in an outdoor course.... he had a little holiday time and he and his fellow traveling amigo found this treasure of a hotel. We came down in March as his course to get to experience the beauty of Patagonia and our son insisted we stay at El Reloj. I am so happy we did... from the moment we arrived we were so taken care of. The way they treat their guests is indicative of how they treat their hotel.... with love & respect. The hotel is impeccable in every way.... from fluffing up the sofa in the lobby, to steaming the dinner wine glasses before they place them on the table. We speak very little spanish and it didn't matter.... we were able to communicate well enough and Francisco, the owners son speaks english and he is so kind. The view from our windows were spectacular.... the photo I showed was only part of the exquisite panaramic view from our bed. I told my husband quite a few times.... that we could just sit in the room for the view and I'd be happy :) The food was delicious... my family mosty ordered their lamb and salmon dishes. Their presentation is lovely.... They have a nice wine selection as well. We were served a lovely breakfast each morning with a freshly baked tarte, homemade bread, cheeses, meat, cereal, yogurt, fruit salad and wonderful cafe con leche. And.... they have a Wonderful dog.... Adina.... she is part St Bernard and part collie. We loved her ! The whole staff is wonderful and the owners Angel, Adriana, and Francisco found a place in our hearts.... amazing how we didn't even really speak the same language and yet we communicated so well. Mucho Gracious to El Reloj

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiki4peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coyhaique hotels
1.1 mi away
Diego de Almagro Coyhaique
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dreams De La Patagonia
3.7 mi away
Cinco Rios Lodge
Cinco Rios Lodge
#2 of 8 in Coyhaique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Nomades Hotel Boutique
Nomades Hotel Boutique
#7 of 8 in Coyhaique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raices Bed and Breakfast
Raices Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Coyhaique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Patagonia House
Patagonia House
#1 of 13 in Coyhaique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Reloj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Reloj Hotel

Property: El Reloj Hotel
Address: Av General Baquedano 828 | Av General Baquedano 828, Coyhaique Av General Baquedano 828, Chile
Location: Chile > Aisen Region > Coyhaique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Coyhaique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Reloj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1991, El Reloj Hotel has delivered its services while maintaining quality of personalized attention from their owners and a nice infrastructure that provides a special homely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Reloj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing