We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great location, a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yelcho en la Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

All staff very welcoming and helpful; many speak English. Natalie on reception was especially helpful getting my ferry bookings organised and Freddy (bar / restaurant) is also very helpful. The Lodge has a great position close to the lake but trees have been planted so that it is largely hidden; meaning that most rooms overlook the trees and not the lake / mountains – needless to say I changed rooms to Suite 108 which probably has the best view across the lake to the mountains; this view is stunning at sunrise with the scene changing by the minute (due to the sky, cloud and mist over the lake/forest). I took a lot of photos from the room of the mountains when the cloud was lit by a pink glow. I’ve had to move to Suite 102 (twin beds) as I’d only reserved one night – but stayed two. Neither room is really a suite but they have both just been totally refurbished so look good. The benefit for me is that I’m now near the lounge and have Wi-Fi in my room; I don’t however now have a good view.
The bathrooms are adequate and do have a bath. (the bath is small (American tub size) but such a nice change from a shower.) Free Wi-Fi in the lounge but not in Suite 108 – there is no desk in the bedroom but a bedside table can be adapted. The bed is a real King size bed, comfortable for three people; delightful for a change. This small hotel is built exactly like a ski lodge – made of wood, all communal areas 100% timber, three log burners add to the smell of a ski lodge and the music in the background completes the picture.
Dinner was good – the 12 prawns in garlic were excellent (but 1st night served in a cold bowl, 2nd night hot bowl) The Merluza (like hake / cod) and mash was also excellent but regrettably 1st night served on a cold plate, 2nd night on a hot plate. I had cold (my choice) meringue pie for desert, it was OK. Overall dining experience 8.5 out of 10. An excellent choice for breakfast, I had: pineapple juice, cereals, scrambled eggs, two slices of lightly toasted fresh bread (much like Brioche), coffee with hot milk – though several annoying flies around the uncovered breakfast table. In the evening (3rd March) there was a delightful warm breeze blowing in across the lake. Temperatures today = 26 high, low of 12.
I’ve only two grumbles: the windows need cleaning inside and outside; hot food is served on a cold plate unless you specifically ask. Would I stay here again absolutely.

Room Tip: Suite 108 has I believe the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo V, Gerente at Yelcho en la Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos preocuparemos de tener wi-fi en la habitación 108 en su proxima visita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was there for almost 1 week during the summer of 2013, was a really awesome experience!
I was doing camping and was one of our best places to go in Chile.
The staff on the Hotel is really helpful and warm.
On the Hotel you have a list of items to purchase like milk, eggs, bread, etc... FYI: It's quite expensive.
The hotel have Wi-Fi available, this is a really important thing to mention since that Yelcho don't have cellphone coverage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulmastergroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo V, Gerente at Yelcho en la Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, los esperamos en un futuro cercano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I ,travelled with our car from Puerto Montt south, we arrived to this lodge , without any reservation, what a surprise, such a nice place , we asked to see the rooms, since there were rooms available we stayed first for one night , but since we liked it we asked and stayed a second night
Food was also very good .

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rachelSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ximena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank jorge l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaiten
33.8 mi away
Posada de Expediciones Kahuel
24.6 mi away
Cabanas Los Canelos
Cabanas Los Canelos
#12 of 15 in Chaiten
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#2 of 3 in Chaiten
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Raudal
Hotel Raudal
#3 of 7 in Futaleufu
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Yelcho en la Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelcho en la Patagonia

Address: Carretera Austral s/n, Chaiten 5850000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Chaiten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Chaiten
Price Range: $113 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelcho en la Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a hidden corner of the world, on the shores of one of Chile's largest lakes, is a place truly worth discovering. 50 Kilometers south of Chaiten through the Carretera Austral-.Here, surrounded by ice-capped peaks, rainforests and open waters, you'll find a fly fishing and adventure paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Yelcho en la Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing