We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great location, a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yelcho en la Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
351 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“a great location, a good hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

All staff very welcoming and helpful; many speak English. Natalie on reception was especially helpful getting my ferry bookings organised and Freddy (bar / restaurant) is also very helpful. The Lodge has a great position close to the lake but trees have been planted so that it is largely hidden; meaning that most rooms overlook the trees and not the lake / mountains – needless to say I changed rooms to Suite 108 which probably has the best view across the lake to the mountains; this view is stunning at sunrise with the scene changing by the minute (due to the sky, cloud and mist over the lake/forest). I took a lot of photos from the room of the mountains when the cloud was lit by a pink glow. I’ve had to move to Suite 102 (twin beds) as I’d only reserved one night – but stayed two. Neither room is really a suite but they have both just been totally refurbished so look good. The benefit for me is that I’m now near the lounge and have Wi-Fi in my room; I don’t however now have a good view.
The bathrooms are adequate and do have a bath. (the bath is small (American tub size) but such a nice change from a shower.) Free Wi-Fi in the lounge but not in Suite 108 – there is no desk in the bedroom but a bedside table can be adapted. The bed is a real King size bed, comfortable for three people; delightful for a change. This small hotel is built exactly like a ski lodge – made of wood, all communal areas 100% timber, three log burners add to the smell of a ski lodge and the music in the background completes the picture.
Dinner was good – the 12 prawns in garlic were excellent (but 1st night served in a cold bowl, 2nd night hot bowl) The Merluza (like hake / cod) and mash was also excellent but regrettably 1st night served on a cold plate, 2nd night on a hot plate. I had cold (my choice) meringue pie for desert, it was OK. Overall dining experience 8.5 out of 10. An excellent choice for breakfast, I had: pineapple juice, cereals, scrambled eggs, two slices of lightly toasted fresh bread (much like Brioche), coffee with hot milk – though several annoying flies around the uncovered breakfast table. In the evening (3rd March) there was a delightful warm breeze blowing in across the lake. Temperatures today = 26 high, low of 12.
I’ve only two grumbles: the windows need cleaning inside and outside; hot food is served on a cold plate unless you specifically ask. Would I stay here again absolutely.

Room Tip: Suite 108 has I believe the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo V, Gerente at Yelcho en la Patagonia, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos preocuparemos de tener wi-fi en la habitación 108 en su proxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was there for almost 1 week during the summer of 2013, was a really awesome experience!
I was doing camping and was one of our best places to go in Chile.
The staff on the Hotel is really helpful and warm.
On the Hotel you have a list of items to purchase like milk, eggs, bread, etc... FYI: It's quite expensive.
The hotel have Wi-Fi available, this is a really important thing to mention since that Yelcho don't have cellphone coverage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulmastergroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo V, Gerente at Yelcho en la Patagonia, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, los esperamos en un futuro cercano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I ,travelled with our car from Puerto Montt south, we arrived to this lodge , without any reservation, what a surprise, such a nice place , we asked to see the rooms, since there were rooms available we stayed first for one night , but since we liked it we asked and stayed a second night
Food was also very good .

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaiten
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#2 of 3 in Chaiten
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
14.7 mi away
Termas Rio Amarillo Lodge
33.8 mi away
Posada de Expediciones Kahuel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Campo Santy
Campo Santy
#1 of 1 in Lenca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Raudal
Hotel Raudal
#2 of 6 in Futaleufu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lago Negro Lodge
Lago Negro Lodge
#2 of 5 in La Junta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelcho en la Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelcho en la Patagonia

Property: Yelcho en la Patagonia
Address: Carretera Austral s/n, Chaiten 5850000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Chaiten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Chaiten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelcho en la Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a hidden corner of the world, on the shores of one of Chile's largest lakes, is a place truly worth discovering. 50 Kilometers south of Chaiten through the Carretera Austral-.Here, surrounded by ice-capped peaks, rainforests and open waters, you'll find a fly fishing and adventure paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Yelcho en la Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing