We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Ride”
Review of Wolf Pen Gap Trail

Wolf Pen Gap Trail
Mena, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wild Ride”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

You can spend days driving around the trails and county roads that crisss-cross through this section of the Ouachita Mountains. We were riding in a RAZR and the trails in the winter offer great vista.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnvacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must ride trail system”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I took our 4 wheelers here based on two recommendations. The Sportsman TV channel program "Destination Polaris" filmed a ride here last year and rated Wolf Pen Gap as one of the top 10 trail systems in the US. Some friends had been here last fall and loved it. They wanted to go back and invited my wife and I to join them. We really enjoyed the riding and plan to go back this fall when the foliage color should be beautiful.

There are trails here for everybody but not everybody should try all of them. Trail 8 has a section (marked closed one map) that is extremely tough and dangerous. Large rocks, where at times you can not keep all wheels in ground contact, can cause loss of control and we saw some riders who almost flipped over. Other riders on foot had to help balance the machine to keep it from flipping over.

In three days of hard riding we covered about 90% of the trails and put well over 100 miles on the machines. There were a lot of riders on Saturday and some of the trails can be a little dusty. Due to the rocky nature of the area there was not any real "mud" but there were enough standing and flowing water areas to get the machines pretty dirty. By Monday most people were gone and we had some peaceful and great riding.

I do have one major complaint about the trail system. The trail marking really sucks. Most trails have markings but it is very inconsistent. The trails use three different numbering systems. We had multiple maps from different sources and at times we had difficulty in knowing for sure what trail we were looking at, even when comparing the maps we had.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ShotgunWillie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calera, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very cool place to ride atvs”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went with another couple and had a blast. We rode for 6 hours and saw some great views and some very cool trails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sooners_ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wolf Pen Gap 4-Wheel Riding”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a unbelieveable surprise. Bill and I experienced our first trip to the area. Great trail riding, scenery beautiful and weather was fantastic. Steve and Sandy had asked us to go with them to ride our 4-wheelers for a 4 day trip. We are already planning a trip back this fall for the changing of the colors.
Anyone that rides 4-wheelers that live close should make a trip to Wolf Pen Gap.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank century060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, TX
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome 4 Wheeling Trip!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Mena in Spring 2012 with several friends. We rode this trail and had a blast! The scenery was beautiful. There are trails for all levels of riding skill. Please do not go on the advanced trails if you are a novice! Very dangerous. We made that mistake and lived to tell about it, but it was very scary, as we had riders as young as 12 with us. Be sure to visit the Falls and the cave.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank JDHSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wolf Pen Gap Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing