We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at home...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bear's Den B and B
Ranked #2 of 10 Mena B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ours was a working trip, as we are wedding videographers. A Bears Den came recommended by the wedding planner. I am so glad we stayed here. We felt right at home - just like mom's house. I even felt comfortable enough to run around in my bare feet Saturday morning with my cup of coffee! Ms. Edith is a wonderful cook. We stuffed ourselves at breakfast, and she sent with goody bags when it was time to leave. Beautiful home, beautiful owner. A definite must stay on your trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TishaKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you staying at ABears Den and am glad we could meet your professional needs as well as making your personal stay enjoyable too! Please let us know when your coming our way again, we would love to have you anytime.

We hope you had great Holidays and celebrated Christ's birth with Joy as we did with our families.

ABears Den,
Edith and Bit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here one night while leaf peeping along the Talimena Scenic Byway. Location is wonderful. A large wooded lot with porches all around the house so you can find the perfect spot to enjoy it. Beautiful large house with first class decorations. We stayed in the Teddy Bear room which was really nice with very good bed. Excellent breakfast with time to chat with Edith and another couple over coffee. Edith also provided cookies, muffins and bottled water to take with us when we left. We will definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for your review. The leaves have been spotty, but still very pretty in most places. We were still enjoying the leaves and breeze on the front porch this morning. With coffee of course.

We do appreciate your coming to visit ABears Den. We do make fresh cookies and muffins and love to share them. Cynthia can't imagine how many she makes and what we do with them! I promise her you all are eating and taking them as you go. Bit is innocent! LOL Edith & Bit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to A Bear's Den for a motorcycle rally and really enjoyed the stay.....I have a neurological disorder that causes headaches and have to have a special freaky diet and they were so willing to fix anything they could for me that was not on the daily breakfast menu. The grounds were beautiful, and Edith, the owner was the most warm and friendly person one could ever meet.....like being around an old friend you had not seen in a while. We cannot wait to go back and also recommend this place to our friends!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherinejones49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for coming to see us and letting us do special things for you. Being a person with health issues, along the way, I understand the need and enjoy being a good part of your vacation and not more of the problem!! LOL Hope to see you in the spring, the Azaleas are beautiful in late April and early May. Edith & Bit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a drive from Talihina OK along the Scenic Byway. When we arrived Edith gave us a tour of her home and really made us feel welcome. Our room, Teddy Bear, was clean and nicely decorated (as was the whole house). The bed was very comfortable and we got a great nights sleep. Edith had a bottle of wine waiting for us and we enjoyed the beautiful back porch and large living room while reading and having a drink. Breakfast was great - very tastefully served as well as good quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rampbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks you for coming and staying at ABears Den. We are always glad to show you the rooms if the customers have not arrived! LOL We always ask about the beds and comfort that you receive. We like to hear that you had a great night's rest and that the house is perfect for relaxing! And of course we love to hear the food was good. We really do prepare our meals from scratch.
Please do come again, we would love to have you. Edith & Bit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I highly recommend this B and B. We stayed one night on the way to Eureka Springs and felt like family the minute we arrived. The house is awesome and set back in the woods some with a huge back porch and huge front porch. We stayed in the Big Bear room and it was deluxe and comfy. Breakfast was awesome and the two others couple staying while we were we loved visiting with at breakfast. In fact we had common friends! Edit, the owner, is super and made the stay so nice. I just cant say enough about Edit and her place. I would not change a thing and will stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: The Big Bear is the master suite with a huge stand up shower and jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! It is always fun for us to help our customers to enjoy their stay at ABears Den! Our staff is rewarded in return by understanding their important roll in how they serve the B&B. Please do come again. Edith & Bit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I made the trip to A bear's den for our anniversary and my birthday. We stayed in the Grande bear room. The bed was extremely comfy and room had a sitting area as well. The bathroom is very beautiful with a two person shower and separte whirpool tub. Mrs. Edith was very welcoming and was helpful in every way. The breakfast was delicious along with the homemade goodies she left in our room. It was the perfect weekend getaway. We are definitley planning on trying to come back. Very reasonably priced. Would highly recommend itl

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addieblct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

It is always great when we have been able to meet your expectations of ABears Den! Bayou were delightful and we would love to have you back anytime. Edith and Bit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This b abd b is located on a residental street,on a large wooded lot that is well landscaped. The facility has a very large back porch and patio with a hot tub. The rooms are comfortable and well done. Edith is a very caring and friendly hostess

The rooms are well equiped and have guest robes. Edith even provides a "take away" snack for each guest in addition to a well prepared breakfast.

Beware some gps will not give detailed directions, even so the place is not difficult to find. Well worth a stay and is competatively priced

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you come again. While it is true that all GPS' don't know their way around Mena, if you go to google search on the last page of our website you will see the lay out of Mena. Having the image in your mind makes it easier to ignore the GPS. LOL thanks again for your visit and your review! We appreciate both very much.

Edith and Bit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mena hotels
0.8 mi away
Janssen Park Place B&B
1.2 mi away
Ozark Inn
Ozark Inn
#2 of 6 in Mena
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Stonehill Cottages
Stonehill Cottages
#4 of 10 in Mena
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to A Bear's Den B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear's Den B and B

Address: 2205 Church Ave, Mena, AR 71953-2605
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mena
Price Range: $115 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Bed and Breakfast on park like acreage with lots of azalea gardens in Mena Arkansas, situated in the heart of the scenic Ouachita Mountains. A Bear's Den has a wonderful front and back porch with rockers and swings on both to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Comfortable rooms are tastefully decorated and include satellite TV and wireless internet service. Fax line available. Lots of coffee served as early as you would like. An inviting and delightful breakfast is served. A Bear's Den is ServSafe Certified by the National Restaurant Association. We can also help plan dinner reservations and/or an In-house massage by a professional masseuse. We can guide you in activities and sports available in the area. See you in Mena! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing