We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bear's Den B and B
Ranked #2 of 11 Mena B&B and Inns
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

There are no words to describe this lovely B&B. Edith and "Bit" welcome you and treat you with such warm southern hospitality! Every time I leave, I am already looking forward to planning a return visit!! A totally fantastic, memorable experience....every time!! Barb

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Your review was great! We have enjoyed your stays with ABears Den B&B on more than one occasion and hope to see you again in the near future.

Please take care and have a great Holiday.

Edith
ABears Den B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
40
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were in Mena this past weekend, on a getaway to drive the Talihina Scenic Drive. We stayed at A Bear's B&B, and were pleasantly surprised. The accommodations were wonderful. The room comfortable, cozy and immaculate. Upon arrival we sat on the beautiful back porch and enjoyed the view, the great weather and wonderul company. Edith had even made us reservations at the local Italian steakhouse for dinner. Breakfast was delicious. The food was wonderful, the baked items incredible and even a 'goody bag' had been prepared for us to take with us on our drive home.
This is a great place to stay, and Edith, a true southern Lady, was a wonderul host. We'll go back anytime we're in this area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgescnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. I have enjoyed looking at the pictures of you holding Bit and thinking what a great weekend for you to have been in Mena.

Please keep in touch and let us know when you will be back this direction.

Edith
ABears Den B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We came for our 39th wedding anniversary during the Fall, the weather was lovely and sitting out by the fire pit at night was so fun. We loved sitting outside on both front and back porches and the views were beautiful. Edith is the epitome of Southern hospitality! She fixed delicious breakfasts and made us feel at home. We have wonderful memories of our stay and would love to come there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebeeDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We certainly appreciate your review. We do want to make it a "lovely" retreat Bed ad Breakfast.
Having customers like you make it very easy for us to want to do our best.

If we can serve you with any of your travel plans in the future, please let us know.

Edith
ABears Den B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a wonderful place. Can't wait to go back!! Great food. Beautiful views and fantastic hospitality!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodyfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We would love for you to let us host you again this year. The weather will be just wonderful especially in May and June for sitting on the patio or front porch in the swings, or rockers.

Please let us know how we can serve your future needs.

Edith
ABears Den B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for our Tenth Anniversary and it was the perfect getaway. Edith made our stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. The food that she made was amazing and the atmosphere was serene. At the end of our visit we felt like we were leaving a long-time friend, instead of someone we had just met. We will be returning in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronJBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciated your review and hope you get another chance to come to the Mena Area.

We do have some new Antique Shops and even a new sandwich shop or two. Let us know if we can help you with your plans to come again.

Edith
ABears Den B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksdale, MS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at A Bear's Den overnight and were delighted with the lovely home. He had never stayed in a B & B before so he was a little anxious, but Edith Hebert, the owner, made him feel at ease, and he really enjoyed himself. The breakfast was divine! Hope we can return for another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear_mena, Owner at A Bear's Den B and B, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
First time B&B for him. Lovely, enjoyable, appreciative and a lot of fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mena
0.8 mi away
Janssen Park Place B&B
1.2 mi away
Ozark Inn
Ozark Inn
#3 of 5 in Mena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Southern Nights Motel
Southern Nights Motel
#1 of 3 in Waldron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to A Bear's Den B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear's Den B and B

Property: A Bear's Den B and B
Address: 2205 Church Ave, Mena, AR 71953-2605
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Bed and Breakfast on park like acreage with lots of azalea gardens in Mena Arkansas, situated in the heart of the scenic Ouachita Mountains. A Bear's Den has a wonderful front and back porch with rockers and swings on both to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Comfortable rooms are tastefully decorated and include satellite TV and wireless internet service. Fax line available. Lots of coffee served as early as you would like. An inviting and delightful breakfast is served. A Bear's Den is ServSafe Certified by the National Restaurant Association. We can also help plan dinner reservations and/or an In-house massage by a professional masseuse. We can guide you in activities and sports available in the area. See you in Mena! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing