We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi, Lombok
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This place has to be the closest you can get to heaven on earth. A beautiful, understated hotel in the north west of Lombok, set amidst luscious gardens overlooking the turquoise waters of the Bali sea, with the Gilli islands glistening in the distance. Low level pavillions unobtrusively nestle amidst the gardens - these are furnished to the highest standards, with huge, comfortable beds to sink into, amazing sunken baths and a wide terrace perfect for watching the sun go down. Fresh fruit everyday was one of the many complimentary services the hotel provides. And service here really is impeccable. The staff are welcoming, friendly, polite, accomodating and really can't do enough for you. They really did make the holiday. Rudy, the manager, runs a fantastic hotel and Sayu was always on hand to help us by the pool, a big smile adorning his face. Everything about this place is first class - the pool (an infinity pool from which we saw the most amazing sunsets), the food (from the delicious a la carte breakfasts which we overindulged on to outstanding fresh fish for dinner), the service, the staff, the scenery. All of this made it a holiday to remember. We'll definitely be going back one day

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 754 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

a very quiet and beautiful place,我们在这里度了7天假期,非常愉快。the service is excellent, 酒店的服务十分贴心,让人感动至极。the pool is so good,泳池很大很爽水也好干净。price of food is over..就是吃饭的价格实在太夸张,2个人吃一顿饭至少要400人民币的样子。总的来说是非常非常好的度假目的地,会向所有朋友推荐。

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciline x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for five nights as part of a two week trip to Bali and Lombok. The hotel is truly stunning with beautiful views and top class accommodation. We stayed in one of the garden view pavilions and could not fault it. Very well decorated and spacious with a beautiful bathroom. Service was excellent everywhere in the hotel.
The location of the hotel is very remote. There is nothing directly outside of the hotel within walking distance. The hotel does organise tours around the island through at a price.
When we booked this hotel we were aware that the food and drink prices may be steep. Having stayed at similar resorts in the past we thought we were prepared but the Oberoi Lombok prices exceeded any expectations....not in a good way! Expect to pay 5 times what you would pay in a decent restaurant in Bali or Lombok for most meals.Bintang, the local beer was nearly 3 times more than you would pay in a bar outside. Wine prices were astronomical for what was on offer. We ventured into Senggigi one evening to try something else for dinner and the whole trip including taxi fare there and back, drinks and dinner with wine was cheaper than a whole dinner at the Oberoi. Expect to pay about 70K one way to Sengiggi and it takes about 40 mins. Having said all that the food at the hotel was very good. The set menu at dinner was good value in comparison and offered a new choice every night.
The facilities are very good. Gorgeous pool and beach club and gym with a tennis court. excellent spa also. Beach is OK but not great... more for the views than for actual swimming. Go to the Gilis if you want to snorkel.
Overall we had a fantastic stay here and would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a few days relaxing in total isolation away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

An amazing hotel. We stayed in a garden villa with a pool which gave us real privacy away from the rest of the hotel. You can eat breakfast in your private bale by the pool and the bathrooms were the best we'd ever seen! Service was outstanding and all the staff very friendly. If we ever went back we'd pay the extra for the spectacular sun set view - sea facing villas. The dive centre was very well run and it was nice to get the opportunity to spend some time on the Gillies after diving.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodallTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Absolutely first rate - beautiful rooms - caring , friendly and extremely professional staff - in a stunning location. Very good restaurant - with a nice variety of options for dining. I only wish it was closer. This was our second visit - we were there the year the Oberoi opened and it looks as fresh and cared for as it did 12 years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The Oberoi is in an absolutely beautiful setting. Unlike some of the prior reviews, I thought its somewhat isolated location was actually nice, after coming from the really crowded Gilis. The staff is also fantastic and gracious.

If anything needs improving at the hotel, its the food. Given the isolation, guests have to rely on the hotel for breakfast and dinner (assuming an outing during the day), and the price and range of food offered is really not up to par with the hotel. Even non-foodies will tire of the selection after a few days. Also I didn't think the "Western" style dishes were executed very well.

The prices for drinks, food etc - are all pretty high, even by Balinese standards.
Indonesian dishes are very limited, except for special buffet nights, which ranged from $40-$60pp. Breakfast, as other reviewers also mentioned, is fairly weak.

The room cost is reasonable given the class of hotel, however when you factor the food and any activities that they may arrange (priced like the food), a stay at the Oberoi does become quite expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

If you want a secluded, quiet honeymoon location away from it all go to the Oberoi, Lombok. We stayed In a Garden Villa with pool here for 5 nights during our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Nice to have our own private pool, but the hotel pool is large, and very quiet tooo.

Service was brilliant, on the second day we worked out we could have breakfast delivered to our dining pavillion every morning for no extra cost. Breakfast was brilliant, with far too much food and good coffee.

Staff were friendly and welcoming, from the people cleaning the rooms to the staff tidying the immaculate gardens. Nice touches like brining iced water and ice creams through the day whilst laying on sun loungers.

While we were staying we chartered the boat for the whole day to ourselves went snorkeing on the gili islands, then fishing on the way back wathcing the sunset. The guys that skipper the boat were really nice and were interesting to speak to and not too intrusive when you wanted a quiet moment. Didnt managed to land any fish, much to the amusement and disappointment of the crew... I think the chef will cook the fish if you do mange to catch one.

Room was very nice and the pool was much bigger than expected.
Only possible negatives I could comment on would be the meals were expensive but as expected for a 5* resort, but very good and Beach is difficult to swim from due to being shallow, but you can swim across from the beach club jetty.

If you dont want to lie around doing nothing much and dont mind little going on in the evening, this probably isnt the place for you, but perfect for a relaxing honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung
0.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
852 reviews
9.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,576 reviews
10.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,274 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
39.2 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range: $304 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing