We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth - a magical place”
Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi, Lombok
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Absolutely first rate - beautiful rooms - caring , friendly and extremely professional staff - in a stunning location. Very good restaurant - with a nice variety of options for dining. I only wish it was closer. This was our second visit - we were there the year the Oberoi opened and it looks as fresh and cared for as it did 12 years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 754 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2009

The Oberoi is in an absolutely beautiful setting. Unlike some of the prior reviews, I thought its somewhat isolated location was actually nice, after coming from the really crowded Gilis. The staff is also fantastic and gracious.

If anything needs improving at the hotel, its the food. Given the isolation, guests have to rely on the hotel for breakfast and dinner (assuming an outing during the day), and the price and range of food offered is really not up to par with the hotel. Even non-foodies will tire of the selection after a few days. Also I didn't think the "Western" style dishes were executed very well.

The prices for drinks, food etc - are all pretty high, even by Balinese standards.
Indonesian dishes are very limited, except for special buffet nights, which ranged from $40-$60pp. Breakfast, as other reviewers also mentioned, is fairly weak.

The room cost is reasonable given the class of hotel, however when you factor the food and any activities that they may arrange (priced like the food), a stay at the Oberoi does become quite expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

If you want a secluded, quiet honeymoon location away from it all go to the Oberoi, Lombok. We stayed In a Garden Villa with pool here for 5 nights during our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Nice to have our own private pool, but the hotel pool is large, and very quiet tooo.

Service was brilliant, on the second day we worked out we could have breakfast delivered to our dining pavillion every morning for no extra cost. Breakfast was brilliant, with far too much food and good coffee.

Staff were friendly and welcoming, from the people cleaning the rooms to the staff tidying the immaculate gardens. Nice touches like brining iced water and ice creams through the day whilst laying on sun loungers.

While we were staying we chartered the boat for the whole day to ourselves went snorkeing on the gili islands, then fishing on the way back wathcing the sunset. The guys that skipper the boat were really nice and were interesting to speak to and not too intrusive when you wanted a quiet moment. Didnt managed to land any fish, much to the amusement and disappointment of the crew... I think the chef will cook the fish if you do mange to catch one.

Room was very nice and the pool was much bigger than expected.
Only possible negatives I could comment on would be the meals were expensive but as expected for a 5* resort, but very good and Beach is difficult to swim from due to being shallow, but you can swim across from the beach club jetty.

If you dont want to lie around doing nothing much and dont mind little going on in the evening, this probably isnt the place for you, but perfect for a relaxing honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Can't say enough about this hotel, from the moment we arrived we loved it. Beautifully designed hotel with staff that were faultless.
Infinity pool with day beds to watch the sunset with a cocktail. Great food served on the terrace over looking the beach or in the privacy of your own terrace by your own pool. The staff were charming and remembered your name and food preferences. Spent the mornings snorkeling and diving and saw turtles. Very relaxed and perfectly peaceful. Food ranged from risotto to burgers to local cuisine. Good choice. great spa and free wireless.

The hotel is an hour from the airport which felt like a while but aside from that. PErfect.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asiaholidaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We spent five nights there in a oceanview villa. The location is beautiful, the lodging gorgeous, and the people very friendly.
BUT: 1) the breakfast is below average, with no buffet, poor bakery, and insipid fruits; 2) the wine list is rather small, with nearly no choice of wine by the glas; 3) the restaurant menu may be all right for a 2-days stay, but not longer; it is pretty weak on indonesian food and surprisingly offers only 2 or 3 fishes.
Overall, an hotel more appropriate for Honeymooners than for Epicureans.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank philbrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

After being in Bali and staying at two beautiful accommodations (Maya Sayang & The Hanging Gardens), on arrival at the Oberoi my expectations were high. The Oberoi was planned to be the pinacle of our holiday but we were disappointed! We were staying in the Pavillion, which to start with was a mistake, if your going to stay here go for a villa not the Pavillion. The Pavillion reminded me of Butlins! There is no private area to sunbathe - there is a patio which is shaded by the thatched roof, with one sun lounger! The accommodation was nothing amazing, we had an old school TV that you couldnt really see from the bed. The furniture and decor werent anything dazzling for the price, although the bathroom was beauitful.
The mini bar was ridiculously priced - £8 for half a pot of pringles!!
I know a lot of guests in the hotel were taking rucksacks to Sengigi and filling up with wine and beer for their rooms instead of using the mini bar!
The hotel restaurant and pool area are beautiful & the service is very good, but this is the normal for Bali. We were paying on average over £150-£200 every night for our meals.
We did travel quite a few evenings into Sengigi which is a 40 minute taxi ride and we found a few nice places to eat there. I would recommend "The Square", which is the an upmarket restaurant serving high quality food and wine and cost us £40 for a meal similar & wine identical to the Oberoi.
The beach is very small, no long romantic walks on the beach at the Oberoi either - the beach takes about 2 minutes to walk from one side to the other.
The plus side of the Oberoi is the Spa which is so peaceful and relaxing (but again very expensive).
I was quite happy when our time came to check-out of the Oberoi. I think if it was less expensive people may not expect so much and not leave feeling so disappointed and cheated!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Don't get me wrong this is a 5-star resort with absolutely beautiful rooms, amazing facilities and stunning architecture, a beautiful private beach and a Beach Club that organised trips to the nearby Gilli Islands ... and some of the most accomodating and friendly staff we encountered on our 2-week Indonesian honeymoon. So why not a 5-star review?

Firtsly location. The Lombok Oberoi is on the small Medana peninsula about 45 minutes northwest of the capital city of Lombok, Mataram. Unfortunately this means it's about 30-45 minutes from anything else of note by road - we took a taxi to Sengiggi one night which was 40 minutes and 10 USD each way. We could get out during the day to the Gilli Islands ... but we had to leave around 4pm each day as the Beach Club boats didn't operate at night and of course it cost around 20USD each. There were also trips to the local town Tanjung, but as far as we could tell this was a small town and not a lot went on there in the evenings (unlike Sengiggi or Mataram!) All these obstacles were surmountable BUT they required a bit of wheedling out of the staff and organising your own transport. I'm sure we could have stayed after sunset on the Gilli islands and got a boat back ... but it would have taken quite a bit of haggling and been a bit risky if we found ourselves stranded.

Now all of the above might seem quite negative; and to be honest it wasn't a major deal, we just felt that 5-days there we needed to see a bit more of Lombok than the inside of the resort - which although charming and idyllic did get a bit monotonous after the second or third day. Again this would all be fine if a) the hotel organised shuttles to other towns such as Sengiggi at regular intervals &/or perhaps had a later pick up from the Gilli Islands &/or organised more activities that didn't revolve solely around the hotel and environs ... and more importantly NOT charge the earth for them.

Which brings me to the second major point. Cost. Because they have a relatively captive audience the 'special menus' and restaurant menus were inordinately expensive. Whereas the Oberoi in Seminyak has ready competition almost next door in Seminyak and thus has priced accordingly to remain competitive - the competition is sparse in Lombok AND because it takes some effort to organise a trip elsewhere quite a lot of couples just stayed in the hotel and ate there every night. The restaurant food was fairly good quality - BUT certainly not good value compared to some meals we had in Indonesia. Again, because no doubt the slightly European/Australian clientele I felt the food was also 'tamed' to be more palatable to western tastes and consequently wasn't quite as interesting as it could be. All in all cocktails, wine and food were really over-priced and because one felt a bit 'trapped' in the resort it made you feel that the prices reflected that the hotel had a 'captive' clientele and was taking liberties with that fact.

That being said, it should be born in mind the following: the resort is stunning, the staff were absolutely fabulous and helpful and once you had got them to get over their allegiance to their employers at the hotel, they would volunteer suggested excusions and arrange transport for you. The Beach Club was fantastic and we went out with a couple of the lads there to snorkel on Gilli Meno and Gilli Air reefs which were breath-taking (following hawksbill turtles under-water over the shallow reefs, and a submerged wreck was incredible!) They also did scuba-diving (again a bit pricey BUT not too crazy!) and generally it got you away from the resort and feel you'd sampled a bit more of Lombok & Indonesia. There was also a complimentary high-tea everyday on one of the Bale's which was a nice touch and one evening there was a Sasak Dance and music festival which was very interesting and cultural. The hotel also laid on earely morning Yiga one day and a wood-carving morning ... all good except we missed them as they were on the days we weren't there!!

The rooms were stunning and had incredible baths and showers - and the 40m infinity pool in the main grounds was fantastic (once the Suba divers had left itin the morning!) Overall you could really see why it was such an exclusive hotel AND we loved all the characters amongst the staff in the Totek Bar and the Beach Club.

Perhaps if we'd been older and/or with a family the secure nature of the resort and the facilities all being under one roof would have appealed to us ... I think my parents would have loved everything being laid on in the resort. BUT I think they really need to give residents more options to do things outside the hotel resort - as I mentioned, trips to Sengiggi during day/evening, later boats back from Gilli in the evening, perhaps more trips outside the hotel. And the 'special menus' should be less pricey and if anything residents should be encouraged to try them as they should be cheaper, not more expensive, than the main menu!

All in all we spent the first 3 evenings sampling drinks in the bar and eating in the restaurant or participating in the beach barbecue - and they were generally pleasant experiences. However by the fourth and fifth nights we were champing at the bit to get out and about! We managed to sort out taxis to Sengiggi and the local Tugu hotel which was a great move! I also think if we didn't have the Gilli trips on 2nd and 4th days we might have gone mad too! Still we did manage to 'escape' and the spa treatment we treated ourselves to on the one rainy afternoon was probably the best we had on our trip - again a little Ober-priced BUT probably in the end worth that bit extra of splurge! I would also say the room was the best we had in our stay and was made out with stunning local-styled furnishings ... and the aircon was the quitest and most icy-cold I've eever experienced whihc turned out to be a real plus in the humid heat!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank parismcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung
0.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
852 reviews
9.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,576 reviews
10.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,273 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
39.2 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range: $305 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing