We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel which was the perfect end to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi, Lombok
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel which was the perfect end to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Oberoi for the final 5 nights of our honeymoon and loved it. On arrival it Lombok from Bali, everything seemed to relax and the Oberoi was certainly the most chilled out location we stayed at, while still balancing wiht excellent service. There is something natural about most of the staff, you meet real Indonesian people!

Reception: Our first interaciton with the hotel was when we discovered we could fly back to Bali rather than taking the long boat that had been booked by our travel agent. A couple of members of staff took over from us and organised the entire booking without our input and charged it to the room, including cancelling the original booking with our agent. The team were extremely helpful and very competent and we were delighted with the help we received.

Room: Our room was excellent, we had a sea view and a lovely big balcony from which to enjoy it! Unfortunately we had one issue with the air con, and when it wasn't rectified the hotel moved our room and actually upgraded us in the process.

Hotel Grounds: Great layout, beautifully maintained, loved that the beach loungers were on the grass, not on the beach, great infinity pool! The beach itself is not ideal for sunbathing but is nice for wandering along.

Food: Breakfast was fantastic, great blueberry pancakes. Lunch had great options too, and the service was very prompt which you want at those meals. Lumbung had great food at dinner time, although i felt that asian portion of the menu was heavily influenced by India, which isn't necessarily my preference for dinner but my husband loved it. The daily specials werer excellent and the service at dinner was great, a nice amount of time left between courses and Amuse Bouche and after dinner treat offered. The in room dining was also fantastic, we only tried it on our lsat night and we regretted not trying it earlier! It's your own private dining experience!

Diving/Beach Club: This was a personal highlight of staying at the Oberoi. On arrival, we thought we might dive two or three days, and then we tried it and ended up diving all four! The equipment was excellent, the staff were fantastic, and great for helping to relax you and ensure you have fantastic diving! The dive sites around Gili Islands are fantasitc, we tried 8 locations, and 6 were amazing, and the other two were fine but the visiblity wasn't excellent due to currents. there are alot of currents in this area, which makes for great drift dives and some intersting swims on the way out but once you're in, the experience is fantastic. We saw more turtles than other divers and sharks, eagle rays, mantis shrimp, napeolean, the list goes on! I plan to go back to the Oberoi and the diving is possible the number one reason! Diving starts at 9 (promptly), your equipment is set up for you prior to your arrival, you step on the boat, are at the first site in 20 minutes, dive, relax on a beach at one of the Gili's for an hour, then dive again and are back between 12.45 and 1. So efficient and a very relaxing way to dive!

There are other things available at the hotel so make sure to ask on arrival. You can take out canoes, go to a local market, see a local village etc! The hotel will organise anything and everything for you, so make sure to ask! We loved it and hope you will too!

Room Tip: If you can afford to, get a beach view, better location. We thought the villa was lovely, but were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for your kind comments.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and my team looked after you well. Words of encouragement from our guests are much appreciated and we will to continue to pursue excellence in hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oberoi Hotels and Resorts in the not too distant future.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm regards,

Imran Sultan
Hotel Manager
imran.sultan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    83
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
140
432
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked a joint stay split between the Oberoi Bali and Lombok after a wonderful stay at their Mauritius property - after 9 days in Bali we went to Lombok for 7 days before returning to Bali for a further 9 days. For others thinking of doing the same, I can wholeheartedly recommend it. The Bali and Lombok properties could not be in more different locations and after the bustle of Seminyak, Lombok is wonderfully isolated and unspoilt while Bali offers a plethora of dining and nightlife options not available in Lombok. The combination of the two is perfect.

The hotel is some distance from the airport, so we chose to cross by sea with Bluewater Express - this has the advantage of us arriving just 15 minutes from the Oberoi. These crossings were faultlessly organised by the two hotels as a part of doing the joint booking, as were the car journeys, you quite honestly have to worry about nothing; it's a door-to-door service.

The Oberoi is an immediately striking property and was built with the good sense of having the reception central, unlike in Bali, so you always pass through there and see senior staff everyday, thus ensuring they immediately know you by name. Your initial view, on being welcomed and given a virgin mojito, is of the spectacular ponds and large infinity style swimming pool that merges seamlessly into the ocean.

Like other Oberoi properties, the hotel grounds are landscaped immaculately and every building beautifully designed. Within the grounds you will also find a tennis court, croquet area, mini-golf course and some small football (soccer) goals. The tennis court is of a pretty high standard and the net well maintained, the croquet is fun but the mini-golf is a bit of a non-event – we were excited on reading about it but it turned out to be one hole and two small bunkers. The real highlight of the grounds, however, is the swimming pool, it’s a brilliant focal point for the whole hotel whether during the day or at dinner.

We had requested a sea view luxury pavilion and this was delivered but the sea view reminded me of a famous Fawlty Towers scene (‘Where’s the sea?’ – ‘It’s over there between the land and the sky’), it wasn’t cause for complaint at all it just worth noting that in some sea view rooms (such as ours – Room 100) there are many things in the way, in our case trees, the bar, swimming pool and associated pavilions. It wasn’t a sea view on the level of our room at the Mauritius Oberoi but it was a beautiful outlook nonetheless and we could see the sea, so we were happy. If we were to stay again, which we certainly intend to do, we’d almost certainly opt for a garden view room as given all the public areas between us and the sea our outside terrace did not afford much privacy! The room itself was remarkably spacious, far bigger than in the older Bali property, and the bathroom incredibly well appointed – we particularly like the large shower and traditional Oberoi sunken bath. A really nice touch was the wooden stepstool for getting into the bed, my vertically challenged girlfriend had smashed her shins repeatedly in Bali trying to get over the wooden surround on the bed and kept mentioning how much she missed the stepstool on our return to Bali!

Lumbung Restaurant is the main dining option at the Oberoi and just keep in mind that given the locale you are a captive audience; eating at the hotel is your only real option, a 50-minute drive to Senggigi aside. Oberoi restaurants are not cheap but the standard is very high, so while you are in good hands just keep in mind dinner for two with a bottle of wine will easily hit £150 ($255). All of our meals were faultless, particularly on the last evening when our regular waitress in the evenings, Tari, suggested we have a private dinner in one of the gazebos around the pool. The view from the tables outside at the restaurant is truly spectacular and every evening we chose to sit outside rather than undercover in the restaurant. My one complaint with the restaurant, as it was in Bali, is the pricing of wine – their wine list even has a footnote apologising for the cost of alcohol and citing the import tax on alcohol in Indonesia of up to 600%. All well and good but the Oberoi charges far more for exactly the same bottle wine than other places in Indonesia: The Ken Forrester Chenin Blanc is 790,000 IDR in the Oberoi, 400,000 IDR in Senggigi, 450,000 IDR in Bistrot in Bali and only 650,000 IDR in Seminyak’s highly priced Ku De Ta. Either the Oberoi are ripped off on the wine they purchase or we’re paying the price for being in a high class establishment – if it’s the latter, I wish they’d not even mention the import tax as it just seems disingenuous when you find exactly the same wine far cheaper elsewhere in Indonesia. Their line on alcohol, if one is really needed, should be that you’re paying in part for the high-class hotel you’re staying and it’s the same the world over. Making excuses just raises one’s heckles.

The Oberoi’s bar, Tokek, is exceptional. During our stay I tried each of their signature cocktails and could not fault any of them – highlights included the Drunken Monkey, Mudslide and Lombok Grass. The Kayu Bar in the Oberoi Bali could do with some cocktail lessons from their Lombok counterparts, both have exceptional setting and service but the Lombok cocktails are leagues above those in Bali which is odd given there is so much competition in Seminyak and none in Lombok!

Sunbird Café is your setting for breakfast while at the Oberoi and also an option for lunch. Service at breakfast is phenomenal, attentive and personal apart from the restaurant supervisor who was amusing on the first day but on the second and third, when he’d forgotten he’d already met us, his impressions of various British accents wore a bit thin! Breakfast was included in our room rate in Lombok, as it was in Bali, but here (unlike in Bali) this was specified as an American Breakfast – this left us wondering whether we simply restricted to that option or could eat other options up to the value of the American Breakfast. Towards the end of our stay, we assumed it was the latter and didn’t appear to be charged for breakfast during our stay. My advice would be that the Oberoi needs to clarify it’s wondering, as we heard other couples discussing the same issue over breakfast – proceeding to order the American Breakfast when neither were that hungry!

The beach at the Oberoi is simply stunning; white sand and crystal clear water, excellent for snorkeling, with far gentler waves and current than in Bali. Sunset over the ocean is spectacular, particularly at low tide when local fishermen wade out in numbers, adorned in traditional garb to ply their trade. As the beach is quite narrow, the Oberoi’s sunbeds are on the grassed area sat above the beach in the hotel’s grounds and are thus afforded wonderful views. The sunbeds are well spaced out and have a good level of privacy, you are provided with two large flags – the red for do not disturb and the white to call for service. If there’s a fault it’s that on arriving at the sunbeds the staff can be slow to see you there and bring over the towels, bottled water and flags. Once in situ, however, service is excellent and you can choose from the Tokek Bar menu or the Sunbird Café menu. The Tokek Bar options were of pretty good value, given the class of the Oberoi, particularly the tapas options. If you don’t want to be by the beach, you can instead choose to be around the pool in one of the heavily shaded gazebos or one of a few sunbeds. A word of warning on the gazebos – there are only four and some families arrive at the crack of dawn to lay down claim and do not leave until nightfall, so if you want one (particularly directly poolside) get there early.

During our stay we visited the Oberoi Spa twice for treatments, between us we had two Oberoi Massages, one Balinese Massage and a foot sole therapy. These were all excellent and only needed to be booked 24 hours in advance. The fitness center deserves special mention in Lombok, it’s far superior to the Bali counterpart with a full size Olympic bar and Concept 2 rowing machine.

We were keen to visit the Gili Islands during our stay and rather than taking the free group outing, we chose to take a private charter and do a good amount of snorkeling. This was all organised by the Oberoi and we set off from their jetty. The snorkeling was exceptional and the views from the boat incredibly memorable. As far as the Gili Islands are concerned, I’m not sure what all the fuss is about – there were reasonably nice beaches but no better than Lombok and they were awash with scruffy gap year types. Gili Air was more like a shanty town for young backpackers than an exotic island. The Oberoi cannot be blamed for the state of the Gili Islands, however, my advice would be snorkel as much as you can then take in a tour of the Lombok coast, as we did after we’d had our fill of Gili Air. If we had the trip again, we would head to the Southern Gili Islands, which are reportedly much quieter.

The Oberoi offers free tours by pony and cart to a local market and coconut oil producing village, which we took in early in the morning during our stay. The trip is excellent but the work the pony has to put in is huge! Initially we were disturbed how hard it had to work but on closer inspection the pony, Marco Polo, is in excellent condition and far better cared for than the majority of horses we saw in Lombok. The local market is quite the sight (and smell!) and many bargains can be had if you haggle hard enough, although prices were so low that we almost felt guilty to do so! The local village was the real highlight, however, and one can only admire how they use this resource and tourism to raise funds for improvement works in their community.

Service throughout our stay at the Oberoi in Lombok was nigh on faultless. Tari and Eliya were attentive and always interested in our day at dinner, the latter also responsible for serving the brilliant afternoon tea. The key component of their service and all the members of staff at the hotel was the interest they showed in our day and the suggestions they made for things we could do and when to return to Lombok. Dika, at reception, was excellent from the very moment we arrived and all the reception staff always greeted us by name as we passed. One slight gripe was that the manager who we saw from time to time did not take the time to speak to us during our stay, it was odd given how he spoke to most other guests and this was particularly stark given we’d arrived from their Bali property. As I said in my review of the Oberoi Bali on a similar point, it’s not out of self importance I say this; it’s just frustrating that such a simple opportunity to try to sure up Oberoi business was not taken. The only other time service fell below the Oberoi’s normally exemplary standard was when the Bali and Lombok managers were in a meeting with two or three other gentleman (presumably from Oberoi HQ given how stressed the staff looked) in the Tokek Bar and commanded so much attention from the Bar staff that we didn’t get our drinks order for half an hour, regardless of how important this meeting was they should have ensured paying guests still came first. We were the only other people in the bar and felt very much ignored.

All in all, I would return to the Oberoi Lombok in an instant, after their Mauritius resort it is the best hotel of its type that I have stayed in; its beautiful grounds and excellent service make the extra journey to Lombok more than worthwhile. It is truly wonderful.

Room Tip: All are very generally proportioned, our sea view room technically met the definition but it was som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuryFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my team looked after you well.

Please accept my sincere apologies on certain inconveniences caused to you during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the team and heads of department and assure you that we will take the necessary steps to improve on our shortfalls.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oberoi Hotels and Resorts in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Imran Sultan
Hotel Manager
imran.sultan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Oberoi as part of our honeymoon. The staff, like everywhere in Bali and Lombok, were outstanding and highly attentive. The resort is beautiful, we found it very peaceful although we were there in shoulder season, it may feel a little crowded at other times. The food was generally very good, particularly the pool bar tapas and Indian curries. The breakfasts were not as strong, just fine. There were lots of nice touches such as the complementary afternoon tea and various animals made out of towels (swans and elephants) left in our room which made us smile. Thank you Oberoi for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderbug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday and that my team took good care of you during your stay with us.

I have noted your comments about the food at breakfast and will certainly take it up with the Executive Chef and take corrective measures.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oberoi Hotels and Resorts in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Imran Sultan
Hotel Manager
imran.sultan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Oberoi Hotel in Lombok for 14 nights, so quite a lot longer than some travellers but so glad we did. It was an amazing holiday. The staff can't do enough for you to make sure your stay is perfect - very polite, excellent service and all spoke very good English. We were in an Ocean Pavilion which was just lovely, the hotel grounds are beautiful and very well maintained, the weather was fantastic. One night our room boys even left us a flower bath for us to relax in and enjoy. Great dive centre too with excellent dive sites nearby. We could not have asked for more and will definitely go back again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely but would definitely recommend an Ocean View to watch the sunsets from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwigletEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for your kind comments.

We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your two week holiday with us.

I have shared your comments with my team and it is much appreciated buy us all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oberoi Hotels and Resorts in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Imran Sultan
Hotel Manager
imran.sultan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in January 2014. We had originally booked 4 nights but extended our stay as we just didn't want to leave! Impeccable and thoughtful service, beautiful hotel grounds and suites, amazing food. Very romantic place - highly recommended for couples or honeymooners!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

Your feedback is much appreciated by my team and I and motivates to keep pushing for excellence in the field of hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oberoi Hotels and Resorts in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Imran Sultan
Hotel Manager
imran.sultan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

service is excellent, everyone is polite without being overbearing. all of them were able to communicate very well in english, esp people at the front desk which made arrangement for our food so much easier. we are vegetarians with more specific requirements than vegans. FnB went out of their way to help us and it was quite satisfactory. it was also our wedding anniversary and the turn down service for our room was exceptional. they even drew a bath for us with all the flowers in it. only down thing was the 2 power failures. while resolved in less than a min each time was quite a surprise that it could happen in this very nice and well maintained place. also the 2nd time I was in the shower when it went pitch dark which was a little unnerving. overall it was a wonderful experience. much much more than we expected. which it was a little more exp than other resorts in the area, if u wanna feel pampered and worth the money you pay for it, go there.

Room Tip: ocean view is more exp, but the view of the bali sea is very nice. however the afternoon sun reflect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for your kind comments.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize for the power disruption during your stay but unfortunately it is a planned shut down from the power supply company which happens on a daily basis on the island of Lombok. You would have noticed that we have automatic power back up which takes over within 30 seconds of a power supply shutdown.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oberoi Hotels and Resorts in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Imran Sultan
Hotel Manager
imran.sultan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the Oberoi Lombok over a weekend on 7-9 June 2014, in the property's 250sqm garden villa. We planned this trip to be a relaxing getaway, and we were treated to a defining experience. Every of the Oberoi's dedicated staff made us feel welcome, were polite, had an strong command of English, and pampered us with their attention to the most minute of details. The Oberoi excelled on every service touchpoint and saw through our entire itinerary in Lombok, without us having to worry one bit.

Reservations - we booked our stay through Classic Travel - a Virtuoso luxury travel agency. Heather and Lance took care of our every needs and communicated with the Oberoi on our behalf. A truly superstar start-to-end service.

Airport Transfer - we arrived at the airport in the evening, and were greeted by the hotel's driver. We were ushered to a comfortable Toyota Kijang Innova (compact MPV) and were served bottled water and cold wet towel by the driver. The driver gave us a brief introduction of the city and was also knowledgable in answering our questions about Lombok. The drive, via the Monkey Forest route, took approximately 1h 45min, which we were well prepared for. The journey was smooth, road conditions were good and there was little traffic. Tip: book the hotel's airport transfers for a fuss-free vacation; when we exited the airport, there were many touts and we would not have known what to do without the pre-arranged airport transfers.

Arrival - upon our arrival at the Oberoi, we were warmly welcome by the staff by name. We were ushered to sit by the reflection pool, which was a gorgeous sight to behold. The staff served us a welcome drink and a traditional cake. The check-in process was discreet and not rushed. We were then taken to our villa via a buggy, were introduced to the hotel's facilities and villa's amenities. When offered a tip, the staff declined and said that gratuity was included as part of the service charge in the bill. This was a good practice on hindsight, as otherwise with the excellent service throughout the property we would have felt obliged to tip everyone!

Villa - the villa was spacious and well appointed. The garden was beautifully landscaped with a small water feature. There was an outdoor raised terrace where we had breakfast at. There were also two deck-chairs, that were accompanied by bottled water, towels and sun block. A luxurious four-poster bed greeted us when we entered the living quarters, which was well lit and designed in traditional style - with thatched roofs and local art. The bathroom was huge - double vanity top, him/her walk-in wardrobes, separate shower and toilet, and a sunken tub overlooking a mini-garden accessible from the toilet. The room and bathroom were well cooled by air-conditioning and well ventilated. The fruit basket had a variety of local fruits and was replenished daily. Turndown service was also provided daily. We appreciated that there were complimentary bottled water in every corner as water in Lombok is not portable.

Meals - the quality of food was good and the service very attentive, especially at the Lumbung Restaurant, which offered a stunning view of the ocean. We tried both Indonesian and continental cuisine and were satisfied. I have a dietary preference and the staff remembered it every time I dined at the restaurant. We also had a private breakfast at the outdoor terrace inside our villa, which was refreshing. We appreciated that the assistant F&B manager introduced herself and interacted with us.

Snorkelling trip to the Gili Islands - the Oberoi has a private jetty operated by some very credible folks. The hotel arranged a half-day snorkelling trip to the Gili Islands at a very reasonable 35 USD per pax, which took us out on a speed boat to snorkel around Gili Meno. We saw schools of fishes and corals up close, and even two giant turtles! We also had time to laze on the beach of Gili Air. Excellent instructor and excellent trip out.

Private Cart and Pony Ride to Tanjung Market and Village - the Oberoi also arranged for us a complimentary trip out to the local market and village by pony-cart. We witnessed first hand how the locals lived. This local experience is not to be missed. Again, the Oberoi was very thoughtful to have loaded onto the cart an icebox with bottled water and cold towels.

Spa Treatment - we booked a 60-min massage each and it was pure bliss. Although small in size, the therapists were strong and gave a very good massage that undid knots that we didn't know existed.

Other services and facilities - the Oberoi has a 40m infinity pool that overlooks the ocean. Amazing for watching the sun set. At 1pm, staff will go round the pool handing out complimentary fruit sorbet, which is such a treat. Also, the hotel hosts a complimentary afternoon tea at the tea bale, serving local traditional cakes (freshly made on the spot) and beverages. Sea sports facilities like kayaks are also at the guests' disposal (complimentary too).

Departure - the hotel was very kind to extend late checkout to 4pm. Check-out was fuss free and we took the hotel's transport to the airport via the coastal route, where we saw a beautiful sunset enroute.

This was truly a remarkable vacation, made extra special by the excellent heartware and hardware of the Oberoi. Special thanks to Classic Travel too, for putting up with us when they didn't need to. Usually don't write long reviews, but this deserves one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedict_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Benedict_SG,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Lombok for your weekend getaway and taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your true Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted that we have surpassed your expectation and you a memorable experience from the reservation, arrival, during the stay until the end of your weekend with us. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guest, the appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. Your kind words and details review for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

Lastly on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create another impeccable service experience on your next visit in the near future.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung
0.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
9.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
10.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Hotel Tugu Lombok
#3 of 174 in Lombok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Property: The Oberoi, Lombok
Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing