We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi, Lombok
Nearby Hotels
Anema Resort Gili Lombok(Tanjung)(Great Value!)
$167
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lombok Lodge(Tanjung)
$366
$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rinjani Beach Eco Resort(Lombok)(Great Value!)
$27
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Medana Resort Lombok(Lombok)(Great Value!)
$67
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$23
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
$42
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Segar Villages(Gili Air)
$36
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$32
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gili Air Resort(Gili Air)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
674
86
22
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
86
22
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoongili islandsocean viewbeach clubevery member of staffgili airsorbetgarden pavilionamazing hotelinfinity poolmain restaurantturn down servicethe general managerlocal marketcoral reefspeed boatrainy season
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 795 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Oberoi on our honeymoon and enjoyed almost every aspect of it. The hotel room was fantastic, with amazing bathroom facilities and a very pleasant outside porch area to sit at. The views from the central pool area were stunning and the ambience of the hotel was first class. The various activities that can be experienced from the boat club were brilliant. We took the snorkelling trip around the Gili Islands and were expertly looked after by the staff. I had never snorkelled before and our guide never left my side. We were also able to borrow snorkelling equipment and snorkel off the jetty at no extra cost.
Our only grumble about the place was the cost of food at the main evening restaurant, which was very, very pricey for the quality of food. While the restaurant has a lovely ambience, the food doesn't match and the prices are very high. The cost of alcoholic drinks was very high also (about £6 for bottles of beer, £8 for local wine by the glass and £10 for cocktails). They also charged $35 for use of the hotel shuttle car. If you are prepared for these costs, you will very much enjoy this hotel. The spa treatments and service were excellent and we would very much recommend a treatment there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeanddani2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok.
Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you are praising our product and facilities particularly the spacious room, bathroom facilities, over all facilities and activities.

Hence we regret we fell short to create a good dining experience during your stay due to the concern of the pricing. We have taken your feedback to each respected department for our future improvement. However please be advised that the alcoholic beverages pricing has been an issue due to government regulation on imported taxes though we keep on struggling on making the price more reasonable for our guest.

Thank you for the constructive feedback that we are able to isolate the finer details of our guest expectation in order to focus on constantly striving to deliver a flawless experience to our guests.

Lastly, on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lombok to restore your faith to our resort and its team and create more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

While the hotel exterior, interior and staff is spectacular, there is something with this hotel which shows it didn’t quite keep up with the chique modern trends happening at the rest of the island. It could be it is the Oberoi itself, which caters to a somewhat dated perception of what five star luxury is, but in all fairness, a number of things failed to impress me here. I knew the food would be overpriced and not much value for money, but Asian cuisine at dinner was really dull in its taste and even a bread basket for continental breakfast comes with dry pastries and not even a single freshly baked roll. Mid range hotels elsewhere in South East Asia (Lombok, Bali, Thailand) surely deliver much better. Hotel ambiance is peaceful, yes, but rather dull in all fairness. Again, it might be the “Oberoi style” which caters to a different segment, but next time, and any time for that matter, it will be the more chique boutique hotels north of Sengigi, or basic hotels at Gilli Islands, which offers life, fun, and value for money, that will get my bookings

Room Tip: Paid extra for sea view from the pavilion, but it is located behind the bar, so even if you can see the sea from the room, it is mostly garden anyway!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok.
Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you are praising our hotel exterior, interior and our genuine staff.
Hence we regret that our overall product and service has not lived up to your expectation in few areas particularly the dining experience. We have taken your details feedback with our Food and Beverage team for further follow to improve our standard.

However through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details of our guest expectation in order to focus on constantly striving to deliver a flawless experience to our guests.

Lastly, on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lombok to restore your faith to our resort and its team and create more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I have taken my time to write this review as I really really wanted to give the Oberoi a 5* review.
We had taken our time in choosing our hotels on a two week+ trip to Indonesia to celebrate my 50th birthday.
Both other hotels surpassed our expectations ( please read my other reviews ) however sadly The Oberoi fell short.
We had 5 nights here in an ocean view pool villa. The room itself & pool were on the whole fabulous-but then you are paying top prices for a pool villa.
We spent most of our time in the villa choosing to eat by the pool etc. agree with some reviews food perhaps not that great & expensive. But having done our research beforehand we knew what to expect.
I want to give a mention to both Raditya & Ahmed who looked after us so well in our room.They were a delight. Always happy & helpful and took great care of what they did. As some reviewers have mentioned, not all the staff's English is great,but considering I can speak no Indonesian I thought all the staff I met did a splendid job.
So what were the Oberoi's let downs ? On a nutshell there are NO special touches. In the other hotels we stayed in The Legian (Seminyak ) & Uma (Ubud )really went out if there way to make you feel that you were special to them. We both really felt the hotel management to be somewhat invisible. In other hotels they made a point of having some contact with you. Whilst we did spend a lot of time by our own pool we did also spend time around the hotel enjoying the grounds and bar etc.
if you are staying here I really think it is worth splashing out for a pool villa. Had we not the review would probably have been lower.
Whilst staying here we did the half day Gilli Island boat trip. Which was brilliant but at $30pp very expensive and not that I am after "something for nothing" I felt that given the cost to stay at The Oberoi and the distance it is from anywhere else to give guests 1 complimentary boat trip would be a nice touch.
I feel I must also mention something that the hotel do not seem to advertise and that is their turtle conservation. On our 1st day a kind groundsman showed us where they were kept and told us to make sure that on our last day we arrange to release 2 baby turtles back into the sea. We remembered this and so happy we did. It was magical to see them swimming off into the ocean together.
If you are thinking of staying here make sure you go for a pool villa.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank places2seeplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your detail feed backs upon your recent visit with us on your 50th Anniversary.

First of all it is our pleasures to hear that you were satisfy with our team room product and our member service particularly Raditya and Ahmad for their attentive service. In addition thank you for praising the special experience on releasing the baby turtle on your last day.

Hence we regret to understand that our service fell short compare with other hotels that you’ve stayed during your trip. We value your comment on the lack of personalized service in which unfortunately you missed to experience during the stay. We have shared your comment to the Management team and we hope we could enhance the experience on your next visit. Only through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details of our guest expectation in order to focus on constantly striving to deliver a flawless experience to our guests.

Lastly, on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lombok to restore your faith to our resort and its team and create more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at The Oberoi with our 3 boys. The rooms were excellent, sea facing. Spacious and spotlessly clean. The service at The Oberoi was the best I have witnessed, very attentive and considerate. While the resort is more focused on adults, there were plenty of things for the children to do including tennis, board games, croquet, soccer and snorkelling. The 3 days passed like dream. Beach is reasonable but water nice. The resort itself is well managed.
The menu is limited and frankly the food quality is average. We tried various things like nasi goreng, steaks, Indian etc and cannot one anything was above average.
We were disappointed to learn that breakfast was not a buffet, one our highlights for a holiday but the American breakfast itself was very good.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank OD888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok.
Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you are praising our spacious ocean pool villa and our genuinely attentive and helpful staff. Your kind words of appreciation for the service team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.
We regret that our average food quality and our breakfast style (a la carte instead of buffet style) have disappointed you at one point, however we are glad you would still consider the a la carte breakfast was very good. Hence we have taken your details feedback for further follow to improve our food quality and through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details of our guest expectation in order to focus on constantly striving to deliver a flawless experience to our guests.

Lastly, on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lombok on your next visit.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had high expectations before arriving based on the TripAdvisor reviews and the Oberoi's reputation as a hotel chain. We were looking forward to relaxing during this point of our honeymoon. The flight from Bali was very easy, but the drive on the curvy road was tough. We arrived at the hotel a little late due to traffic. I was aware of the orientation that would take place once I got there and I was ok with that. The grounds were very impressive, even at night.

Upon having our first dinner, I felt that the food was worse than average and certainly not 5 star. Our waiter was very intrusive and interrupted our conversation far too often. The service was painfully slow as well. Finally, once our dinner ended we looked forward to our night of sleep. About a half hour before we went to sleep, we heard a strange high-pitch noise in our villa. We originally thought this from a low battery in the smoke alarm. When a staff member arrived, we found out that this was due to a nightbird nesting in the tree directly outside of our villa. We are not that light of sleepers (we live in NYC), but this sound was absolutely intolerable. Although the design of the villa roof looks great, it is not insulated at all or even close to being sound proof. The design could have easily been kept with a layer of wood or concrete in-between the palm thatch. After over an hour, we were given the option of staying in a standard room. While this was not ideal, we were able to live with it as a better option.

We spoke to the manager (Rudy) the next day about our expectations not being met, which we have never done at any other resort. He was very professional and worked with us to try to make our stay better. A common problem that we found during out stay was that the staff was very top-heavy. The management was often pretty good at dealing with guests, but the rest of the staff was very poor at it...although everyone was nice. The staffing issues were due to a poor understanding of English (often they would hear one word that they recognized and assume you wanted something that you didn't) and likely the rest was due to a lack of training. We did realize that we were far from home, but a large majority of the guests were English speaking and it's fair to expect a better understanding of the language because of this.

The next day started off pretty good, with the exception of the meals being average at best. The grounds at the resort are beautiful in the day as well and our villa pool was the perfect temperature (same with the main pool). We later experienced the nightbird issue again that night, but the other room had not been offered to us until after the front desk staff member said he would "send his colleague" by to investigate. However, his colleague never showed up and we grew frustrated after waiting an hour and a half. Finally, we were offered the other room for the night. Again, not ideal but we could live with changing rooms for the night. The delay of getting the other room was really the issue that we had.

Our following day is when things got really bad. There is a serious design issue with the bathtub. Sure, it look great and comfortable. But, it does not drain properly or effectively. My wife seriously injured her foot after slipping on the layer of water that does not drain. The hotel recommended seeing their doctor and we made an appointment for after our planned trip to the Gilis. The water sports staff (who are contracted with the hotel) were fantastic. They stayed with us throughout the day, watched our belongings at the beach, and took me snorkeling. I was able to see many tropical fish and even a sea turtle! Unfortunately, my wife's foot continued to pain and I had to cut the snorkeling short. The hotel doctor recommended going to the hospital for an x-ray. During this time, we had to wait close to two hours for transportation to the hospital. My wife was very frightened that her foot was fractured or broken at this point. There was one staff member that she met earlier in the day that helped her when she first injured her foot. She felt very comfortable with her and stayed with us until the car was available. I must point out that this staff member (although not in guest services) is an absolute gem. Her name is Novi (the housekeeping manager). She accompanied us to the hospital and really put my wife at ease. Novi went above and beyond by applying pain cream to my wife's foot and toughing out the drive on monkey forest road, which we later found out made her nauseous. She is one of the most dedicated hotel staff members we have ever encountered.

This is a really stunning property overall and we thought Lombok was beautiful. However, there were major issues that we encountered here and we felt that this was not close to other 5-star properties that we have stayed in. There are some serious design flaws in the villa roofs (no insulation to block sound) and the bath tubs do not drain properly. Additionally, the staff outside of management desperately needs proper training. Most guests don't mind explaining something in a different way if they don't understand something. It's much less frustrating than providing something different than what was asked. Overall, I'm really not sure whether these issues are specific to this property or if our needs don't match what the Oberoi as a hotel chain provides.

Room Tip: If you plan on sleeping, make sure to request a room where nightbirds are currently not nesting.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mdlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok and we thank you for praising our stunning property particularly our grounds and our nice staffs. Hence we regret that our overall product and service has not lived up to your expectation in most areas. Start with the room product, location, design, our team quality in handling guests queries and of the communication/ soft skill of our staff, in which we have taken your details feedback for further follow to improve our standard.

However through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details of our guest expectation in order to focus on constantly striving to deliver a flawless experience to our guests.

In addition, we appreciated you are praising our professional way in handling the problem and recognizing our team member Novi for her patient and personalized service.

Lastly, on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lombok to restore your faith to our resort and its team and create more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews