We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote stunning friendly hotel”
Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi, Lombok
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remote stunning friendly hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May as part of our honeymoon. We had stayed 3 nights in Ubud Bali before coming here for 4 nights then went back to Bali to finish off our honeymoon at the Samaya in Seminyak,

The Oberoi, Lombok was an absolutely stunning hotel, set in beautiful grounds and the staff could not have been more helpful. (Sometimes perhaps overly attentive as my husband and I are more that happy enough to refill our own glass from our coke can at lunch!)
The rooms are absolutely stunning, we stayed in a terraced garden pavilion which was so spacious and had all the mod cons. The allowed us to keep our room for a late check out free of charge which was very good.

The staff and locals are very proud of their island and more than happy to tell you about the best places to go. We recommend getting a guide to take you to to the waterfalls.

The hotel is however very isolated and there are no villages, shops, restaurants etc nearby that you could walk to. The town of Sengiggi is about 40 minutes away in a taxi (take a bluebird taxi as it is far cheaper than the hotel car) where there are some restaurants and supermarkets should you need. If you are looking for a place to completely relax then this hotel is a very good option.

The pool and pool area at the hotel is stunning. They also have lots of loungers down at the waterfront so you can sunbathe by the beach. You do need shoes however to go into the sea at this beach thanks to the local wildlife.

The main issue that we had was there was absolutely no entertainment for guests in the evening, even some atmosphere in the pool bar would have been nice but we were often the only people there. We just felt that as there is no where else to go, something to do in the evening (and I don't mean dodgy karaoke or tribute acts) should have been provided.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, good food, friendly service, very very clean, however if you are not a sun worshiper I would perhaps look for somewhere that has a bit more to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Fleming_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and it was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok.

We are delighted to know that you have a memorable honeymoon stay with us and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. We greatly appreciated your compliments upon our teams and certainly we will share it with them as I believe they will feel cherished that their efforts are appreciated.

Thank you for your constructive feedback in regards to the Bar entertainment in the evening, which we are currently creating action plans to address your remarks.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and I would like again take the opportunity to apologize for unable to exceed your expectation in evening entertainment on your visit stay. Albeit, we look forward to welcome you back to the resort and create a more positive and memorable experience hopefully on your next visit.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,


Rudy Baihaqi
rudy.baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    83
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
141
442
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
195 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After a week of strenuous trekking in the mountains in Lombok, to arrive at this resort was breathtaking. From the welcoming and attentive staff, to the room facilities and the restaurants, The Oberoi more than fulfilled our expectations. We stayed for 5 nights and were very sad to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury pavilion which was beautiful. I suspect the more expensive options are even mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. Your kind words of appreciation for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

On behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,


Rudy Baihaqi
rudy.baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Initially I booked 7 nights at this resort and combined it with a further 7 at the Oberoi in Bali. After 2 days here I decided to extent my stay and cut short by 2 nights my stay at the Oberoi in Bali. Although I have stayed in Bali numerous times over a 30 year period I had never been to Lombok. What a hidden gem, what an oasis of calm,and friendly service combining to give the guest an exceptional and restful experience. For me, the icing on the cake as a wonderful introduction to all Lombok provided, started and finished at this outstanding property.

The staff are outstanding. They are aware of their limitations and there is no pretence whatsoever. They are guest focused,friendly and open ,and work hard. From room service to restaurants, from housekeeping to concierge to the wonderful gardeners that manicure the lawns,tend the flowers,keep the environment visually pleasing, the vibe went out that you were the only person that mattered to them.

I slept we'll. there were not enough hours in the day to do nothing other than relax.The stunning setting and comfort of this resort made this a holiday to remember. The only other hotel I have ever experienced such genuine warmth and care was the royal wing suites and spa in Pattaya.

The Oberoi inter island combined package made travelling between the islands seamless. I sincerely suggest if you have not yet been to Lombok,now is the time to go.as tourism seems ready to explode. I have discovered a new destination here in Lombok and this wonderful hotel meets all my needs. It certainly exceeded every expectation. I will be back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

It is important to note that you are captive to the resort and a little isolated. If you are looking for a Bali type experience it may not be the place. If you want the opposite of crowds and congestion combined with absolute luxury this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you can stretch the budget pool villa,s worth going the extra mile for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your great feed backs.

It is our pleasure to hear that you had an amazing Oberoi experience on your recent stay with us and we are glad to know that you highly recommend our resort.

Your positive feedbacks such an encouragement for the team and I to read how much you are touched by the attentions you received on your holidays that you have decided to stay longer with us. We are proud to have a team that genuinely friendly and committed to deliver their best.

Your favorable comment reflects how it is the staffs who have contributed to making your stay so special. Thank you for recognizing the team members, and for appreciating them.

On behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and certainly hope that your next stay will be as enjoyable as the last.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
Rudy.Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed @ this wonderful hotel for just 2 nights..July 7 to July 9....we should have planned a longer stay....check in was fast.......we got a early check in at 10 am...the property....location.....maintenance and above all the service of people at this hotel was fabulous!.
The staff were extremely courteous and very happy to satisfy your requests..a lot of thought has definitely gone into making this property........
The thought of having a vegetarian menu was great in this age of health consciousness...just a comment the Indian cuisine offered here was atrocious !!!!
Being a hotel owned by an Indian company we thought we would get some great India food!!!two examples.......Aloo Paratha was not made of wheat flour....looked like a pizza paratha...chicken malai...was dry and chewy like a chewing gum!!!no sign of any spice!
Overall Great hotel..will go there again in 2 years and will definitely recommend to all!!

Room Tip: Select a garden view room which is cheaper ...no need to pay more for a sea view room...as most of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shail99959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Lombok.

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor and for
your kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

We acknowledged your comments shared with us during your stay, as well as on this review in regard to Indian food quality. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the culinary team where action plans have been put in place to address your remarks to ensure the issue rectified.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Lombok and we do value your feedback. Meanwhile we look forward to your visit in the near future.

Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel from start to finish was amazing. We booked a private pool villa and were upgraded to a sea view villa.

The food was delicious. All meals are al la carte and everything we tried was cooked to perfection.

The little touches make this hotel very special, from the welcome drinks to the turn down service every night. Appreciated a british newspaper with breakfast every morning, free sorbets and afternoon tea. The library has a choice of books and DVDs to keep you entertained.

One thing to note is that the hotel is isolated and there is little to do outside of the resort. Perfect for those that just want to relax.

The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do more for you. Many thanks to Rudi and his team for proving a service with a personal touch and making our honeymoon truly special.


  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShehzadandAreeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you have a memorable honeymoon stay with us and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable.

It is such an encouragement for the team and I to read how much you are touched by the attentions you received on your holidays. We are proud to have a team that genuinely friendly and committed to deliver their best.

Your favorable comment reflects how it is the staffs who have contributed to making your stay so special. Thank you for recognizing the team members, and for appreciating them.

My team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok .

Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,067 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Oberoi in Bali last year and this year we booked a different hotel in Bali and decided to spend some time in Lombok and as we had a good time in the Oberoi in Bali thought we would try its sister hotel in Lombok.
We were not disappointed. We decided to take a 2 hour boat ride from Bali to Lombok, which proved to be a good move as the hotel is 20 minutes from the port where as the airport is nearly 2 hours from the hotel.
The hotel is quite isolated which is both good and bad. If you want to chill out, sunbathe, swim go to the spa and relax then this is the perfect hotel for you. If you want to explore the island or go to the nearest town, the hotel is far from everything.
The hotel was half full which we liked as it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. We took the boat ride to Gili Trawangen which was a lot of fun. Our room was fine, food at the hotel is good but pricey We stayed for 4 nights which was about the right length of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. Your kind words of appreciation for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok.

Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Undoubtedly this is a great hotel however, I would not return to this Oberoi. The facilities are great, the rooms fantastic with the best bathrooms I have ever seen, the food delicious, the massages devine, a lovely pool, a nice beach(too much rubbish though) and the sunsets spectacular but we found the service too OTT particularly when eating. At times there were too many staff with no communication between them. It was not the fault of the staff but the serving protocol they had to follow set by the hotel and so the hotel fell below our expectations and our first impressions were also spoilt.

On arrival we had hardly had time to sip our welcome drink and take in the view before we were hurriedly rushed to our room. No check in at reception but in the room but first the 10 minute room orientation. We just wanted to be left alone to find things out ourselves but no amount of subtle hints worked to get it finished quickly.

The staff at the dive centre, the beach/pool area were great. They all seemed more down to earth and genuine. The restaurant staff however would not leave you alone. I did not want my beer glass topped up yet at least 4 different people would come to the table to top it up and every time I would have to tell them not to. Specials would be re read out to every single person at the table even if a large table and everyone heard them the first time. No more than one person would be at your table at a time so you could see a queue of staff waiting to bring things to your table. It just became too overbearing which was a real shame. You were never left alone to enjoy your company and view. We decided to eat more often at the bar as it was more relaxed.

We took 2 excursions organised through the hotel, one to the Gilies and one to the spectacular waterfalls. Both were well worth doing and were organised well. The sunsets were unforgettable and we enjoyed our stay but it fell short of our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jw_woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detail and constructive feedback in regards to your recent experience with us.

It is delighted to know that you are satisfied with the excursion arranged by the hotel and the surrounding view particularly the sunset which I will celebrate with my team on your positive feed backs.

However, it is truly disappointed to read the impressions you had with us and that we failed to meet with your expectations on the over the top service you have mentioned especially lack communication during the dining and upon arrival.

Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the management and the team where action plans have been put in place to address your remarks to ensure our standards are being met and all our guests experience is flawless.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and I would like again take the opportunity to apologize for the service shortfalls. Albeit we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and allowing us to demonstrate the bespoke Oberoi service that our guests have become accustomed to.

Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung
0.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
809 reviews
9.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,470 reviews
10.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
9.3 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,202 reviews
39.2 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 11 in Kuta
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Property: The Oberoi, Lombok
Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing