We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as expected”
Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi, Lombok
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“As good as expected”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the Oberoi in early January 2013.

We had read many positive reviews, so I must admit that expectations were high.
Already from the welcome at arrival it was clear that our expectations were met. The staff is very friendly and helpful and more than prepared to help you with your requests.
In our room there were several small little surprises waiting for us. We really felt welcome.

The only thing we missed was a mail from the hotel before arrival, asking us if we would need transport to get there. We had arranged with transport with the driver from our previous hotel, so this did not cause a problem for us, but it would have been nice with a mail, just asking if we would need transport.

We had room 205, which is a Pavillion room with ocean view.
The room is spacious and comfortable. The high ceiling with beams add to the feeling of "plenty of volume".
The King Size bed was really King size. The wooden floor has a nice warm brown colour. There could have been a bit more decorations on the walls, but it is also nice to enjoy a clutter free environment.
The TV set (32 inch flat screen) was in a cabinet and mounted on a slideable and reorientable shelf, so that one can watch the screen from the bed or from the sofa.

There is free wifi Internet everywhere, and the speed was quite satisfactory for general browsing, reading and sending email and so on. Uploading photos to Facebook also went well.
(For the geeks: ping = 41 ms, download speed = 1.5 Mbit/sec, upload speed = 1.5 Mbit/sec. )

The bathroom is very spacious with separate shower and bathtub. The shower is more than big enough for two persons. The tub is embedded (sunken) into the floor. There are two washbasins. There are two big mirrors, which add to the feeling of space. There is also plenty of wardrobe space. The safe is the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel room. I have never before had a hotel room where the safe is large enough to give space for my 17 inch laptop, but here in Oberoi this was no problem. I am really nervous about losing my laptop, so this gave a good feeling of security. That said, I think I have never felt more safe in any hotel than just here.

There were slippers for indoor use and sandals for the beach. There was also a practical beach bag.

There was also plenty of complimentary water bottles, which is really nice in a tropical climate.
They also add fresh fruit to the fruit bowl every day.

We were not so lucky with the weather, but if one travels to a tropical country during the rainy season one cannot complain about rain and clouds. The first day we went down to the beach, which looks ok, without being special. But there was a bad smell of sewer down there, so we did not really feel like going for a swim. The bad smell could be linked to the heavy rainfall the day before and that same day. Hopefully it is not always like that.

We had dinner in the Lumbung restaurant the first evening. The service was good and friendly, without being at the level you find in Michelin-starred restaurants. The food was good for a hotel restaurant, but not exceptional if you compare to serious restaurants.
Wines were a bit on the expensive side, typically 150 USD for a bottle, so we just had water. Allegedly the high prices are due to a heavy tax on alcohol in Indonesia. Sounds very familiar for a Norwegian. ;-)

The next morning we had breakfast, and we opted for the Royal one. We suspected it would be plentiful, and so it was. We ordered just one for two to share. More than enough food for both of us. The omelette, made with truffle scented walnut oil was delicious. The smoked salmon was ok, but as a Norwegian I am spoiled on this point, and I have had much better salmon than the Oberoi one both in Norway and elsewhere in Europe. I like it when the salmon is smooth and soft and mild. Here it was a bit strong in taste, which does not mean that something was wrong, just that it was not as good as smoked salmon can be.
The fruit platter that was part of the Royal breakfast was delicious.
On the menu it is mentioned that the scrambled egg and salmon come with Avruga caviar. So it does, but the quantity, or rather the lack thereof, was such that it would have been a challenge to verify if this really is Russian caviar of not.

Another positive point about Oberoi is that the prices include VAT (11%) and service (10%). The management lets you know that they don't encourage tipping of individual staff members. This is a relief, because you are surrounded by helpful and smiling staff a lot of the time, so one could easily be busy handing out gratuities.

One day we had problems with the air conditioning unit. We called the housekeeper and after a few minutes the technician was there and fixed the problem.

The hotel is settled in a big park with plenty of palm trees. The design and architecture of the gardens and the buildings is very nice and harmonious. It is a pleasure to walk around and just enjoy the scenery.

There are three pools that go stepwise from the reception down towards the sea. The upper and lower pools are shallow and are meant as reflection pools. The middle pool is the real swimming pool. It is a bit small for serious swimming, so it would have been nice with a real pool somewhere on the premises.

Next door to Oberoi is the Lombok Lodge, a very recent addition to the hotel "flora" of Lombok. The good thing about that is that one can go there and have dinner if one wants a change. But go there or call there and ask first, because if they are full they can't take outsiders. You can read my review of the Lombok Lodge dinner under that hotel.

All in all a very nice experience, but it comes at a certain price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geir-Ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Lombok.

Your detailed feed back is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with genuinely hospitality.

We are well noted for your constructive comments in some aspects and we will do our best to improve in purpose to keep deliver our excellent service in the future.

We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

The team joins me in thanking you for your patronage and support and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lombok and to The Oberoi, Lombok.


Thank you.
Yours sincerely,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Rudy.Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    84
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
142
443
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a glorious couple of days in the most amazing luxury pool villa. It was absolutely gorgeous with our own bale, fabulous bathroom with sunken bath and large private swimming pool. We opted for in villa dining which was superb. We just wished we stayed longer. Ask for villa 206.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahxxxAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at The Oberoi, Lombok

It is great to know that you have already experienced our In-Room Dining service in your villa. It is one of our highlight to give a truly villa experience. We deliver the same service as in our restaurant and yet you still could enjoy your villa ambience at the same time. It is our pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your stay and satisfied with the services rendered.
We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests. The appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

Myself and The Oberoi, Lombok’s team hope that The Oberoi remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits to Lombok.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Rudy. Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is superb, paradise on earth. The pontoon, the beach, the garden, the rooms...
We were staying in two connecting Pavilion and it was just perfect for our family.
We love it and we will be back. Four days and three nights was not enough,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayaPramono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor on your recent visit to The Oberoi, Lombok.

It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at The Oberoi Lombok recently. Your encouraging feedback is very much appreciated that overall hotel facilities and services entirely met your expectations. We are delighted and proud that we could enhance your experience at The Oberoi Lombok a fond farewell.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you and your family back to The Oberoi, Lombok in the near future.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Rudy.Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the oberoi for 7 days at the beginning of our 3 week break. It is a beautiful place, right on the ocean with amazing views. The service was impeccable and I could not have asked for anything better. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious & there was lots of choice available. I would highly reccomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for sparing time to provide a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. It is our utmost focus at The Oberoi to provide our guests with personalised services and facilities which meets high standards of hospitality.

I have conveyed your compliments to the culinary team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is feedback such as yours which motivates us to continue striving for excellence.

Thank you for your patronage and support and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lombok and to The Oberoi.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Rudy.Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We wanted something away from the crowds of Bali and settled on Lombok's Oberoi. It was 1.5 hours from the airport which was tedious but just about bearable...when we have so many places to choose from the destination needs to be really good to justify a 1.5 hr long drive! And I would say the Oberoi Lombok just about justified it.
The hotel rooms are spread over a large seafront and it was very picturesque too. The rooms and bathrooms were large and comfortable but we had a couple of small issues. The air-conditioining wasn't really cold enough despite being at the coolest setting and the safe did not work. Two requests that the safe be fixed were unsuccessful. The food was expensive at dinner (US$25 for fried noodles which were not v good!) Breakfast..stay clear of the terrible bacon and sausages....stick with nasi or mee goreng. The burgers were good though. We ended up eating dinner at the Lombok Lodge next door which was only a little cheaper but much better in quality and ambience.
What made the Lombok Oberoi good was its proximity to the Gili islands..a 20 min boat ride only to decent snorkelling where turtles and other marine life were easily seen. The snorkelling trips are good and v reasonably priced but choose days when you are not sharing the boat with divers....you have to drop divers off at different locations, wait for them to gear up and then go to another location to snorkel and then return to pick them up...wasted time. They should bring divers out separately from snorkellers.
It was also good that the house reef at the jetty was good too....on days when we didn;t go to the Gilis, we just snorkelled at the jetty and swam back to the hotel..seas stars, cowries, pipe fish etc..v nice indeed! The spa massages were good too.
Overall we had a good time at the Oberoi Lombok and would recommend it.

Room Tip: we were happy with 104, sea facing pavilion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Lombok

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback on the Air Conditioning, safety box, food prices are well noted and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed your expectations with genuinely hospitality.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Lombok and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Lombok in the near future.

Thank you.
Yours Sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Rudy.Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Dear Oberoi Team,

We would like to express our thanks for the wonderful first wedding anniversary during our stay at Oberoi (19-21 Nov 12).

Oberoi is the last hotel from our 6 nights trip in Lombok. What more can you say that has not been said of this hotel?

From the moment we arrived we were smiling and feel relax all the time. We loved this hotel. He reception staffs (Mr. Dika) gave us tour before taking us to our room. We stayed at room 133, which is a luxury garden pavilion. The room was spacious with very sweet small details.

The best part was the warm touch from all staffs, especially Mr. Saiyu(Pool Guy) and Mr. Nelly (Restaurant Guy) who were very chatty and kind

All other Staffs were also are brilliant. They all greeted you with an honest and welcoming smile, and on the most part all remembered our names. Very very impressed.

Treble the prices, and double the distance, we would still come back again and again!

Thank you to the Oberoi hotel and staffs!!!

Regars,
Louis & Kanya

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Lombok.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary visit and you found the whole experience was stunning.
Indeed it is a joy for me to work with such a wonderful team of people here in Lombok. I am happy to note that they looked after you well and left you with fond memories. Your encouraging feedback has been a tremendous source of inspiration for each of us and it has been shared with the entire team. I am sure your words of encouragement would definitely go a long way in inspiring and motivating the to excel in delivery of quality service each moment. We are delighted to have left such a positive impression on you of The Oberoi, Lombok.

Dika, Sayu, Nelly and the whole team would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Lombok in the near future.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Email: Rudy. Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at Oberoi few weeks ago. When I arrived was met at the reception for a greeting ceremony that was a surprise. The villa was lovely and huge with a nice swimming pool and Jacuzzi and a bale
I went to all of the restaurants, which were all fine and to were the staff to which I found all the staff friendly and chatty, we arrived in Lombok for what we wanted to be was our time for rest and luxury - we were not disappointed.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated so well by all the staff. The attention to detail is obvious with nice touches like sweets being left at turndown!

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone we spoke to really were committed to ensuring the guests enjoyed their stay. Nothing was too much for them at all.

The food at the Oberoi is of a very high quality. The chef will prepare whatever you like and we did this on several nights and the food again was very good. This overcomes the limited menu.

Absolutely me and my wife will return one day !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeAngkasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Lombok.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you found the whole experience was stunning 5* hotel and they team looked after you well and all met with your expectations of a holiday in Lombok.

I am pleased to know that the cuisine have met with your approval.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you and your wife to The Oberoi, Lombok in the near future.

Warm regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager.
Email: Rudy.Baihaqi@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung
0.2 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
812 reviews
9.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,491 reviews
10.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
9.3 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,216 reviews
39.2 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 11 in Kuta
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Property: The Oberoi, Lombok
Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing