We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tasting food - but expensive for Batam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodies Restaurant

Goodies Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Batu Ampar
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Goodies Restaurant is winning a huge following among Batam’s Western expatriate community and Indonesian residents of Batam who enjoy good food in a magic setting at sensible prices.The Goodies chefs and kitchen facilities are capable of catering an 80-seat restaurant and large wedding parties or other functions. The Goodies bar is a popular meeting place for both Smiling Hill residents and visitors. The Goodies team has a very simple goal - to create the Number One restaurant in Batam for Western expatriate residents of the island, visitors from other countries and for local Indonesian residents who appreciate fine food and outstanding service.Goodies offers a choice of Western international dining, home-style favourites, Indonesian and Asian specialties, Italian pasta and pizzas, popular snacks, soups and salads, all-day breakfasts, and (unusually for Batam) a selection of classic desserts.The magic poolside setting and the ambiance created by the Bali-style treatment of the pool surrounds lends itself to further development as a public restaurant for people looking for somewhere special to dine.Goodies is becoming a popular venue for special corporate dinner parties, birthdays and other special occasions, as well as for regular dining. The restaurant is open from 7.30 am until 9.30 pm.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great tasting food - but expensive for Batam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Enjoyed the location not having to deal with busy street traffic and contemptuous parking guys. Pool looks glistening clean, overall atmosphere is nice and relaxing. I still struggle with the prices, drinks (non alcoholic) are expensive, these are more like Singapore prices. The food delicious, but once again way too expensive for Batam local's, maybe ok for those that earn $$.
Service from some of the local staff was somewhat poor and a couple of the staff were rather arrogant, but it always takes a couple of staff out of many good ones which they have, to spoil the visit.
I would go back myself for the a bite to eat, but my wife (a local) was unimpressed with the way she was treated. You win some you lose some, but overall an ok place to hang out, if your a foreigner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
OTTAWA
2 reviews
“Meat, potatoes and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I've spent many months in Batam over the years. I cannot claim to have dined in all of the better four star hotel restaurants in this city, but I do know that Goodies is the premier place serving very tasty, moderately priced western fare in Batam. These include stews, roasts, pizzas, hamburgers, sandwiches, and seafood. Beer is fairly priced, English is understood, and service is prompt. The atmosphere is informal. I like the breakfasts, and eating lunch by the pool. If you like to watch sports -which I don't, there is a large screen TV. Washrooms are clean. There is no air-conditionning; however, the restaurant receives a nice cool breeze due to the higher elevation above Nagoya.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dallol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam Centre
1 review
“Goodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

As a resident of Batam, it is refreshing to dine at a establishment that offers quality food and drink. For both Eastern and Western palettes, the menu is extremely diverse and the food is cooked to perfection. Goodies makes it their policy to offer great value and a menu that keeps the homesickness (expats) at bay. Highly recommended by this patron.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rkholloway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
“Goodies Restaurant and Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Goodies is an absolute gem on Batam Indonesia. Not only does it cater for all tastes in food, which are both inexpensive and delicious, but also offers fantastic sports and entertainment for all customers. The staff are family friendly and I particularly enjoyed the expat banter and community spirit. The pool is beautiful and maintained to a very high degree. Families are welcomed and live entertainment is often available at no extra charge. I would rate 'Goodies' as extremely high and an absolute must if you visit the island. Wonderful atmosphere, top food and entertainment and extremely friendly staff. Miss it, miss out. Carl

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD IN TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Goodies Restaurant is part of the Smiling Hill Complex. I have stayed at Smiling Hill on three occasions and whilst I have eaten at other places on the Island, I always came back to Goodies Restaurant for the majority of my meals. If you're someone who like tasty, high quality, wholesome food then Goodies is the place for you! There's a huge menu with styles from several continents and it's often difficult to decide what to have for your meal.
One warning, you need a good appetite when eating at Goodies as the portions are big! I'm a big guy and there were several occasions when I was lucky to get through half my meal. But whatever the size of it, there wasn't one occasion when I didn't enjoy what I'd ordered...lovely food!
The restaurant itself allows the customer to mix with the friendly crowd or eat by himself if he wants a bit of peace and quiet. There are also tables surrounding the lovely pool area and it's a very pleasant experience sitting there at a candlelit table having food and drink during a nice warm evening, the perfect place for a romantic meal for two.
Mr Douglas, (as he's known) is the owner and a very nice chap who takes care of his customers. During a recent visit he said his next aim was to introduce a higher Cordon Blue standard of food so that his place was the best of the best. He's a determined man so I'm sure he'll succeed but personally I don't think there's any need as his food is great.
Finally, the place is served by a group of young ladies who are the kindest and lovliest people you could meet. Part of the charm of the place was having quick chats with the staff (it made Goodies feel like a home from home) and I now count some of them as friends. So do yourself a favour, if you're in the area pop in and try it, you won't be disappointed, good food...and it's so cheap!
John Johnson
England

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodies Restaurant also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Goodies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing