We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Corfiot Treasure”
Review of Foros

Foros
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Peritheia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Corfiot Treasure”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Corfiot cooking and hospitality at its best. Thomas and his wife run this tiny taverna in the deserted village of Old Perithia. O Foros is on the edge of the tiny square in this amazing village, full of deserted houses and churches, settled in the folds of Pantocrator mountain.

It is a real treat to visit and to sample tsigari (wild greens in spicy tomato sauce), melt in the mouth onion pie in flaky phyllo pastry, the best home made chips in the world and wonderful walnut cake to follow.

Wish I was there just now.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    21
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing and rustic taverna”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here, the food was all freshly cooked and all ingrediends produced locally. Thomas who runs the taverna is a pleasant guy with lots of interesting stories to tell. The taverna and its furnishings are original and quaint, nothing has been changed for years and this helps make the experience more of a delight. Simple and with no fuss.
The food is amazing and extremely tasty, try the home made cheese pie, there are also some lovely and interesting salads on offer too. Thomas gave us some free walnut cake which was drizzled in honey and tasted divine. We will be visiting again in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't be put off”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Thomas (again) last week. As always, the food was superb and the service friendly.

Appearances here are very definately deceptive. There are now many much smarter looking establishments in Old Perithia, but I will wager that few, if any, can equal the quality of the home cooked (and grown) food.

We first visted Thomas in 2004 and a visit to Foros is a must during our many visits to Corfu

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartynGHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and a warm welcome at the Foros Taverna”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Right on the square in Old Perithia is the Foros Taverna - the ceiling heavy with vines and pretty flower pots dotted about. You might spot a couple of friendly cats who come to say hello and get a tickle- they were gorgeous! We were given a warm, relaxed welcome from Thomas and ate a sweet onion tart (which was perfect) and tender meat in a rich tomato and pepper sauce which was also cooked to perfection. The fruit juices were so refreshing on a hot day & everything was excellent value. A romantic, atmospheric spot I'd love to return to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Foros or O Foros - its lovely”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I found it a bit confusing looking at Tripadvisor because reviewers seem to alternate the name for this taverna but Thomas wrote it down as Foros so - Foros it is. A hot day walking ends superbly here with a cold glass of home made Raki and a delicious range of food. Everything was delicious and the service delightful and it was great value for money. Thomas gave us his hand-drawn business card that he drew whilst we ate - I asked him the Greek word for delicious - he and a Greek customer said they don't have an exact word but - 'nostima epharisto poly' to Thomas and his wife will hopefully do the trick even if my spelling is problematic...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foros also viewed

 
Corfu, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Foros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing