We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Service at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
whala!bavaro(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Now Garden Punta Cana(Bavaro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Punta Cana(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (13,537)
Filter reviews
13,537 results
Traveler rating
8,126
3,182
1,339
560
330
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,126
3,182
1,339
560
330
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubcarnival buffetentertainment teampreferred poolbluewater grillbig daddyantonio banderaspreferred statusmoments barpreferred areaspice restaurantpreferred roomchef manuelpunta canatropical viewscooby doobruno mars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7,508 - 7,513 of 13,537 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We travelled as a group of 14 celebrating a 40th birthday. We stayed in the Preferred Club. Davis, the butler was always around to make sure we were taken care of. Marcelo was also amazing...often the two of them went above and beyond. The loation was great. We would definitely return. It was our first all inclusive experience and we were very satisfied. It was also our first experience with Apple Vacations and we would use them again as well !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kymlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is a good standard AI resort on a beautiful beach in Punta Cana. We were there between the 7th and 21st October and flew out with BA via Antigua which proved very eventful after the crash of a light aircraft delayed the 10+ hour flight by a further 3+ hours.

The reception area at Now Larimar is relaxed and pleasant and the check in staff at the reception were welcoming and efficient. We had booked a double bed with a sea view for which we paid an extra £160. Being tired we were therefore hoping to freshen up and go straight down to dinner but the room had two three quarter beds and even in the night light we could tell that we were not going to have a view of the sea. We told reception and they said they would look into it and possibly change our room the following day but for now they would try to make the two beds into one. So we agreed that we would move the following day. We only slept in one bed in the end as the bedclothes on one of the beds smelt awful.

Nevertheless when we spoke to a very apologetic member of staff the following day, he assured us there would be a room with a sea view and a king-sized bed after lunch and we were more than happy with the new room. The rooms are all of a good size with plenty of cupboard/drawer space, a nice balcony to sit out on and take in the view over the sea, beautiful gardens, pools etc., They have a very nice bathroom with a good size shower cubicle, separate wc and a very large Jacuzzi bath for two! The room does have a glass panel between the bedroom and the bathroom but with a mural painting on the glass the privacy was more than adequate. We had a couple of maintenance problems during our two weeks (bulb out in the bathroom and towel rack coming away from the wall) but these were sorted out immediately we reported them. In fact, the maintenance teams in the hotel are constantly working to ensure the paint work throughout the hotel is constantly freshened..


The restaurants were all very good with the excellent and very professional waiter service at the buffet restaurant provided by Modesto under the watchful eye of the wonderful Wilfredo, who was in charge of that part of the restaurant. Thank you both for making our holiday extra special with your kind attention. The Blue Water Grill, where Wilfredo took charge most evenings was terrific with steaks to die for and the Fusion, Italian and French restaurants all had very good menus and great service. People complained about waiting, but if you went slightly later than the American guests, who like to dine early, you got in to most of the restaurants reasonably easily. Lunch at the beach restaurant was nothing special but the staff were good and there was also the alternative of the BBQ or the self-service restaurants, where there was always plenty of choice of both hot and cold buffet. So overall I think that you would be very hard pressed not to find something you really enjoyed to eat at all times of the day. Breakfasts on offer had something for everyone with an almost limitless choice. And being AI there was plenty of drink to be had in the large air conditioned bar or at the poolside. Plenty of choice of cocktails and nothing they did not seem to have available.

The entertainment after dinner in the evening was varied and really very professional with something for everyone. This was really very good compared to most AI hotels we have been to and added to the enjoyment of the holiday. The entertainment team at the hotel worked very hard to keep everyone happy throughout the day and evening and yes, there could be a lot of noise around the larger pool from the activities programme (there are three really good pools in the gardens) but if you did not want to join in you went to the lovely beach where there was an enormous supply of real shade and always plenty available. The sea was a little murky at times but this had an awful lot to do with the storms elsewhere and the sea was warm and clear on some days. The hotels try hard to deal with the seaweed brought up by the storms but they cannot change the weather!! There were staff offering trips on boats etc., on the beach but we did not find them a nuisance - just say no thanks - they have a job to do!

A word for snorkellers. We’ve snorkelled in the Caribbean, Maldives, Mediterranean and Red Sea. And the Maldives has really spoiled us. There is a reef 500 yards offshore from the beach but you cannot reach it because of the power boats running back and forth. My husband took a $30 one hour trip to the reef but was disappointed - very little coral and a small variety of fish. We also took a trip to Catalina Island - this was well organised but a long tiring day with a disappointing variety of fish and coral. Some divers we spoke to said there was more happening at 15 metres and deeper, but not amazing unless you think a couple of lion fish and a moray eel is a good result. Nicest fish we saw was an adult boxfish. More common fish included surgeon fish, sergeant majors, jacks, damselfish, butterfly fish, angel fish, flutefish, needlefish, small groupers, and wrasses. OK, that sounds good, but not if you’ve been to the Maldives. Sigh.

So overall we can recommend this hotel but we do have a few gripes.

1. We did not complain about our room maid and we should have. Our bed was never made until 5p.m. - 6p.m. in the evening (we could see the maid put the lights on from the pool) and then it was badly made with sheets that did not fit a king-size bed. She did not clean surfaces in the bathroom or the bedroom or clean the shower or floor in the whole time we were there!! We washed our own cups and glasses and replaced sugar and used our own tea bags from home which is just as well as there were none. We always make the most of the day and eat late, so unlike the Americans who like to eat early, we were not put out by the timekeeping as we were making the most of the beautiful sunsets, but you do expect a room to be cleaned. Supplying plenty of clean white towels in the bathroom does not make up for laziness. We did reflect this with a 1 dollar tip. Very sad. Other guests from England on the return journey said their maids had gone out of their way to make the rooms clean and comfortable and had high praise for them, so we were just unlucky and should have complained at the time.

2. Yes we had the best service in the restaurant by sitting in Wilfredo’s area but when on a couple of occasions we were escorted to other areas in the same restaurant, we could not wait to leave as the staff did not care about what they were doing and the service was almost non-existent. Service needs to be consistent across the board to get a good hotel rating so management need to look into this.

3, Sorry all those having a good time from the USA - most of us English and other nationalities were absolutely fed up with how loud you are and how inconsiderate of other guests. We know that not all Americans are like this, but - you stand around in large groups in the pools so no one can actually get to swim in them and your loudness when trying to make yourself heard is off the scale. And of course, this applies from 7a.m. in the morning until beyond midnight. We want to see folk having fun but not when it spoils the day for others. Please note - anyone British reading this that the majority of guests in this hotel in October do seem to be Americans and they are VERY loud, so this may put you off. The American men also complain greatly to the poor staff who try to apply the rule that men should dress in long pants and shoes for dinner. My husband forgot to take proper shoes so the only restaurant we were NOT admitted to was the French restaurant but, because he wore long trousers and we did not make a fuss, the French menu was very kindly presented to us in the Fusion restaurant where we ate it and were served by the very accommodating staff. This was only one of the many acts of kindness, friendliness and flexibility shown by the staff to make our holiday enjoyable.

So - many plus factors for this hotel which is inexpensive after all, for the location, rooms, facilities and service it provides. It would not take much training by management to bring the standards way up. But those Americans will still be there in large numbers, so if you are after a peaceful holiday, maybe go where they are not! We did not let it spoil our otherwise lovely holiday.

Room Tip: If you do not mind going without a sea view then the rooms overlooking the pools and gardens are just as good. Higher floors are possibly better than the ground for privacy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkeyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was there for 5 days and 4 nights and I will NEVER recommend anyone to stay there.

When I checked in, they sent me to a room completed away from my group, separate buildings. Then the room was a smoking room, with double beds, after i requested... a king preferred.

After going back to lobby to get it sorted, and even offering to pay the difference for the NEXt upgrade...they took 3 hours to determine that there wasn't anything available.

Not to mention, I spoke spanish, so when i went to the lobby to discuss the situation, they began to talk about me and my spouse amongst themselves. When I spoke up, and told them, i understood what they were saying....they were so embarrassed and a bit taken aback... that they asked me to wait at the bar area...(presuming, so they could speak freely among themselves) RUDE!!!

I was there for a wedding and the best food was at the reception. (which was sub-par)
the sauces were watered down. - Alfredo, Cesar, marinara.

everything was just simply appalling.

The view was nice.

Room Tip: stay in the preferred suits....DO not get the tropical view; its a parking lot. stay in building 2!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Traveling Girl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident Manage... A, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Now Larimar, Punta Cana. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at info.nolpc@nowresorts.com.

Best regards,
Now Larimar, Punta Cana Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the pleasure of attending a wedding at the Now Larimar in Punta Cuna. The resort is very large. The grounds are well kept and the staff is amazing. The food was good. I would not stay in the preferred for the extra money. The liquor however was stronger at the preferred bar by the pool but there was never any available chairs if you got up late. There is know way of telling if you are a preferred guest so I feel many people in that section were regular paying guests. The room service was excellent.
One note is that there are no open restaurants to eat dinner. There is one for lunch. They are all air-conditioned and are in one area of the resort. I personally enjoy eating out doors when I am down south. They did their best to keep the beach clean but there were surges from storms so seaweed is natural. The entertainment was ok but nothing spectacular. The magician show was entertaining.
We took the Catamaran and snorkeling tour and booked it online before we left with “mydominicanvaccation” and it was excellent and far cheaper than booking there.
Two staff member stand out. Yvelisse was outstanding at the regular poolside area. She never let us go without having refreshments and also Marcelino in the preferred Club lounge He took care of all our needs always pleasant and accommodating.
The rooms were nice however they are showing age. The bed was very comfortable. Our maid was excellent and always on top of things in our room. Unfortunately I lost her name. The resort was fine however I found it to be too crowded and it was low season. I prefer smaller resorts with less people or at least room to breath. This place was very crowded. So if you do not mind this I would recommend the Now Larimar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Mgr_Asst, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the Now Larimar Punta Cana and thank you very much for your comments whether they were good or bad and we will share them with our team.
We would like to clarify, that our a-la-carte restaurants are either all open or in a daily diversion.
Thank you again for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Your sincerely,

Now Larimar Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was my first time using Apple vacations to go to punta cana for the first time. On the ride down we had free tv and movies but 10 of the monitors on the plane didnt work right and the plane was over heated. When we got off the plane there were 25 natives running around grabbing your luggage off the belt trying to get a tip by just wheeling your luggage to the resort bus. The ride to the resort was great no problems but once we got to the resort no one was there to direct us to check in as vip guest. Once we checked in we waited another half hour for them to get all of our luggage together and show us our rooms. The rooms air conditioning wasnt working well enough to keep me cool. I felt every spring in mattress and our ocen view was not direct on looking ocean view. As for the bars it seemed like the first drink was strong while the rest were watered down. I tipped the whole trip trying to get better service for my friends and I but it did not happen and I do not recommend tipping. The food was good but alot of it was bland. Very difficult english to spanish communication with most of the staff. On the good part davis diae bent over backwords to make sure we were having a good time and got everything we needed. If you do go find davis and he will make sure your having a good time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Mgr_Asst, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
We are very disappointed to hear about your recent stay with us. While we can assure you it's not the norm, we have paid special attention to your comments and are working to make adjustments to the air conditioning system.

Again, we offer our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us and we are working to ensure these issues will be resolved.

On the other hand we will pass on the excellent comments about Davis, that your stay at least comfortable.

Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Now Larimar Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews